We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money and Great Location”
Review of IFC Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IFC Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed on our most recent business trip to Shanghai, and surprisingly it did not turn out to be overly expensive considering its excellent location and spacious rooms.

We opted for the most basic studio room yet the room size still exceeded my expectations (roughly 70-80 sqm.?), or maybe I have lived in Hong Kong for too long? Then again, it's definitely larger than most hotel's standard room. ifc residence is in fact a serviced apartment, so the room actually comes with a full kitchen and all. Downstairs at the lobby and loung, it also felt more like a high-end apartment than hotel.

Location wise, it is almost perfect if you're in town for business and your major activities are in Pudong. It's literally at the heart of the business district. Downstairs (actually interconnected) is the ifc mall and office towers. The subway station (Lujiazui Station) is a walk away, and the river is about a block west. Oriental Pearl Tower is also within walking distance. Also, Ritz-Carlton and Shagri-la are next door and across the street, so that's how good the location is. However, if you are in Shanghai for sightseeing or most of your engagements will be on the Puxi side, than you might have some issues. Moreover, being in the heart of business district certainly has its down side; the surroundings are almost all office towers, so it does not feel as lively as some parts over in Puxi.

Staff service is not impeccable but definitely good and helpful.

A place I would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwarzerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBian, Manager at IFC Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on January 22, 2014.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedbacks motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We are looking forward to having you with our ifc residence in your next trip to Shanghai.

Yours sincerely

Eric Bian
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have stayed at the IFC Residence twice whilst on business trips to Shanghai (both times for a week). It is a lovely apartment hotel and the facilities are great. The rooms are much better than your usual hotel room with a lounge area and kitchen. Its always great to be able to make your own meals when on the road and this kitchen has everything you could want.

However it would be useful to provide washing up & dishwasher detergent as I am not going to buy it for a short stay.

The location is great and accessible to all parts of Shanghai with the No. 2 line subway under the IFC mall. CitySuper supermarket is also in the IFC mall so handy to get things for quick meals made in your room.

Breakfast is included and whilst simple it is fresh and more than met my needs.

One small improvement would be to have a selection of pillows (especially for those of us on longer stays) - I agree with previous comments about how hard they are. They look awesome on the bed but really heavy, high and hard to sleep on. I had to go and buy a soft pillow from the Japanese store Muji which is just outside the back exit of the IFC residence into the mall.

Other than that it was a great stay and I was very comfortable there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenY_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBian, Manager at IFC Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear JenY,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Dec 10, 2013.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Receiving such positive feedback from our gusts motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We feel sorry the pillow may not meet your expectation in your last visit, thus we will update our pillow menu to offer our residents more alternatives in this coming season.

Thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation in Shanghai. We look forward to serving you again in ifc residence.

Yours sincerely

Eric Bian
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

by far the best service apartment in term of design for luxury living, so much been putting in care for maximum creature comfort every each corner and attention to details are amazing from Kohler's signature shower system, Toto's smart wc to TV in shower etc.. a new high standard in hotel hardware.

We stay at two rooms apartment and the room size are large with spacious living room and two bath room.

Location are right above IFC mall with offer of money can buy luxury brand shopping, yum restaurants and well stocked supermarket, if you needed to impress someone this is the place

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoong w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBian, Manager at IFC Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Yoong,

Thank you for sharing your feedbacks on Nov.22.

We are delight to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedbacks inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation in Shanghai. We look forward to serving you and your family again in ifc residence.

Yours sincerely

Eric Bian
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Terrible experience of being told to evacuate from the 21st floor of the building without any alert on the test fire alarm up to claiming us on broken hangers, iron, missing chopsticks (which is costs nothing) and stolen charger. Without any excuse the front office lock you room key and send you up to the room to face the locked door....never ever come back to this unprofessional residence. Nothing being said about the breakfast of cheese + coffee... that is it. The management has to work on the staff they have in the residence.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBian, Manager at IFC Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Natalia,

Thanks for sharing your experience on Nov. 20.

As part of our continuous effort in ensuring our residents and staff member are familiar with the fire evacuation procedures, we conducted the fire drill on Nov.08. Our residents are encouraged to participate in the exercise should their time schedule permits. The notice of this exercise has been posted in both lobby and IFCR TV channel 7 days prior to this drill. All the new coming residents had been informed upon check-in during that week. We feel sorry if we could not get your attention and we will further improve the process to assure such incident does not occur in the future.

As committed to be the leading premium luxury Residence in China, our residence is offering 5-star service and fully equipped with the most modern facilities. Our residents’ satisfaction is one of our top concerns. Thus any accidentally damages to the facilities will be not charged. Your understanding will be great appreciated.

We look forward to serving you again with ifc residence in the near future.


Yours sincerely


Eric Bian
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed there for 2 months. The facility is new. The pool is very nice. The breakfast is simple but ok. The staff and services are great. They organise regular acitivties for residences. It is in a great location and it is connected to the up-market IFC mall. The pillows are like cushions and they don't have softer ones. There is also not enough shelf / cabins for storage for medium / long term stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBian, Manager at IFC Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Mr. Lau,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Nov. 11.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Receiving such positive feedback from you motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

With regards to the case of pillow and storage space, we feel sorry that our service team did not offer the proper assistance to you on time. Your requests is well known and we will try to meet your expectation in your next stay with us.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation in Shanghai. We look forward to serving you again with ifc residence in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Eric Bian
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

ifc Residence is, as another reviewer observed, a real retreat in the middle of Shanghai's bustling financial and shopping area. I was only there one night, so I did not take as much advantage of the features of the suite that would be beneficial for a long-term stay, but the entire facility has a very welcoming atmosphere and comfortable elegance. Wished I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PGRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBian, Manager at IFC Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience on Sep. 22.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Receiving such positive feedback from you motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation in Shanghai. We look forward to serving you again with ifc residence in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Eric Bian
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Everything was spick-and-span, quiet, private, and staff was friendly and professional. They have a very nice and spacious lounge area on the third floor where you can get coffee, tea, cookies and use a self serving business center. The building also has an amazing pool on top with floor to ceiling glass windows providing a stunning view of the river and the Bund. Nearby subway is just one stop from the other side of the river. This hotel is technically a members-only residence and offers a private and exclusive ambiance. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricBian, Manager at IFC Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Nic,

Thank you for sharing your feedbacks on Sep. 08.

We are delight to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedbacks inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation in Shanghai. We look forward to serving you again in ifc residence.

Yours sincerely

Eric Bian
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#40 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFC Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFC Residence

Address: 8 Century Avenue Pudong, Shanghai, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 394 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: £159 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IFC Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally housed in an iconic building in Lujiazui financial district, ifc residence is located in the heart of the pudong lujiazui business and financial district. Walking distance to Jinmao tower, Shanghai world financial center, Oriental pearl TV tower and the bund. Ifc residence a well-equipped gym for those wanting to maintain their work out routine. A garden, a terrace, children’s playground and business center are available. Located at the top of the residenceis the two-tiered leisure and fitness facilities. Residents are first greeted with a large outdoor terrace with sunken lounge banquettes – a place to admire the commanding views of shanghai’s every – changing cityscape. The next delight is the playful nature – inspired children’s area as well as a state-of-the-art fitness studio lined in solid planks of natural oak. Via a sculptural curved staircase, guests are taken to the lower level whereby a 25m skypool is found. With a soaring 9m glass ceiling, cascading waterfall and cabana seating, the infinity pool creates an aspirational moment within the residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your IFC Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing