We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, New, for now isolated, but maybe built for the future!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Ranked #19 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, New, for now isolated, but maybe built for the future!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is great, great staff, great restaurant, great rooms, but for now anyway located in a very strange area. Part of the Shanghai Free Trade zone, this hotel is somewhat isolated from the rest of Shanghai. Seems there are many plans for this area, and things are being bulit and constructed, but right now (Oct 2013) my first reaction was where are the people! So time will tell, in 4 or 5 years this may be a very busy area.

The hotel is about 40 minute taxi ride from Downtown, there is a subway line very close. But if your a tourist looking to see the sights of Shanghai this may not be the hotel for you.There do not seem to be any other restaurants (than the ones in the hotel) in the immediate area, but there are some a short taxi ride away, near another major band hotel. There is a Starbuck's right across the street.

But on the good side, the Hotel and its staff are excellent!

Room Tip: Quiet place right now, can get a lot of work done, In the Shanghai Free Trade Zone, not sure if any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadsUp737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
外高橋喜來登酒店, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Greetings from Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, thank you for choose us and share your experience. We would really appreciate your compliments which more than better to motivate us. Also, your identification of our hotel is really precise but not exact- “Built for the Future!” As preparation of China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone are entering the final stage ahead of its unveiling ceremony on 29 September 2013. The new zone could lead to the liberalization of more than a dozen industries and hoped to attract more foreign investment, banking services, insurance and more creative technologies.This ground-breaking project has been tempting number of business leaders and financial experts shape their future plans that target the Chinese market. And here we are, we just strategically situated in the Zone, as you already aware of, marks the Introduction of the iconic brand to the bustling Zone. We are more than happy to show our warm hospitality to nation widely. Thank you again for your compliments and we are looking forward to see you again in near future.

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    80
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
42
36
15
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
castagnito (cn)
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I've been in the hotel several time in the hotel for business purpose. The room is ok, well furnished and everything working. The check in/out: very long time to close the process, to be speeded up. Also the restaurant in the evening offer few international food solutions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
外高橋喜來登酒店, SheratonShanghai3781 at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear giulong,
Thanks for your comments of our hotel, we will improve our training to provide fast Checkin/out service. Our hotel is very convenient to connect to Lujiazui only five minutes’ walk to the No.6 metro station.
Currently our hotel Restaurants have promotion for Buffet dinner Buy One Free One.
We will always welcome you to stay at our Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Shanghai Waigaiqiao for the first time March 1-8. The hotel itself is very nice and ultra modern. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The entire staff are friendly and attentive. The food and service in the restaurants are very good, and the meeting rooms are well equipped and functional. The hotel's location is not ideal. While convenient to the Free Trade Zone for business, there is really very little within walking distance - and it is a long taxi ride in to Pudong for access to restaurants and shopping. All things considered - I will probably stay here again on a future visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photoguy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
外高橋喜來登酒店, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your comments with our new hotel in Waigaoqiao area, our hotel facility and services are warm to every guest stay at our Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, now we also have the Food & Beverage Lunch promotion starting from RMB108.00 per person (Bay Leaf/Miyabi/Yue) for your kind consideration, hope you will stay at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Although this hotel is as Waigaoqiao area but its very convenient to the Shanghai Pudong International airport just take 30 minutes drive and also with the No. six metro line station:Waigaoqiao Free Trade Zone (North) The hotel lobby's lights are so unique like the lotus. All day dining restaurant called Bay Leaf: set up use the Chinese classic style provide delicious foods taste good. Stay in at the hotell basic room level also have the TOTO bathtub setup with separate shower. Suddenly you will forget busy day and have the good rest. Convenient traffic to hotel with good service,relax yourself at the Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel.

Room Tip: High Floor room are have the nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
外高橋喜來登酒店, Online Marketing Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your comments with our new hotel in Waigaoqiao area, our hotel facility and services are warm to every guest stay at our Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, now we also have the Food & Beverage promotion only RMB108.00 per person at Bay Leaf for your kind consideration and we are going to do other valuable promotions coming up next will always welcome you stay at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2013

As a business guest, many thanks for Sheraton Waigaoqiao brings me the best service and best feeling. Even it was a new opening hotel, but all staffs are professional and enthusiastic. Especially their online service. Efficient rapid and timely. Looking forward to stay in here again.

Room Tip: Premier suite is value for money. It is a corner suite, large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanson1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
外高橋喜來登酒店, Caroline Wang at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your comments with our new hotel in Waigaoqiao area, our hotel facility and services are warm to every guest stay at our Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, now we also have the Food & Beverage promotion only RMB108.00 per person at Bay Leaf for your kind consideration and we are going to do other valuable promotions coming up next will always welcome you stay at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2013

the rooms is very clean, also the service of front desk is very good, also the price is very nice for the travel people. the food for the west restaurant is very fresh and nice.If possible I like to stay in that hotel again.

Room Tip: room to see the yangzhi river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
外高橋喜來登酒店, Caroline Wang at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your comments with our new hotel in Waigaoqiao area, our hotel facility and services are warm to every guest stay at our Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, now we also have the Food & Beverage promotion only RMB108.00 per person at Bay Leaf for your kind consideration and we are going to do other valuable promotions coming up next will always welcome you stay at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2012

It is the tallest building at the Gate No.2 of Waigaoqiao Free Trade Zone with walking distance. Hotel decoration set up a lot of antique not only at hotel public area but also at the rooms. These antique are made by rosewood carving as well as the blue and white porcelain and embroidery. Looking around from hotel lobby to the restaurant and then to the deluxe room it always give me the unique feelings! Next time will bring my friends come over here to share the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very new and clean with TOTO in bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
外高橋喜來登酒店, Caroline Wang at Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your comments with our new hotel in Waigaoqiao area, our hotel facility and services are warm to every guest stay at our Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel, now we also have the Food & Beverage promotion only RMB108.00 per person at Bay Leaf for your kind consideration and we are going to do other valuable promotions coming up next will always welcome you stay at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Shanghai South
#20 of 5,105 in Shanghai
278 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Hongkou
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
#79 of 5,105 in Shanghai
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel

Property: Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Address: 28 Jilong Road China (Shanghai) | Pilot Free Trade Zone, Shanghai 200131, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Waigaoqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel strategically situated in the China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone, offers sophisticatedly designed 451 guest rooms and suites with stunning harbor view, as well as a Sheraton Club lounge on top of the hotel building and Sheraton Club rooms with upgraded amenities. The heart of the lobby features the Link at SheratonSM experienced with Microsoft(R)- a social hub where connections seamlessly take place. Additional amenities include full service restaurants and lounge, and fully equipped fitness facilities featuring the brand's revolutionary new health and fitness program, Sheraton Fitness programmed by Core Performance™. With a burst of freshness, color and variety, three food& beverage venues ranging from Chinese, Japanese and international fare provides an irresistible dining extravagant and culinary spread. Over 2600sqm meeting space include a 1000 sqm ballroom which will make us the ideal choice for every occasion from gala dinners and weddings to intimate meetings and international conferences. The hotel is conveniently connected to Lujiazui Financial District, Shanghai Pudong International Airport and major attractions by several express highways and metro lines. The Disneyland Shanghai currently under construction is only 15 minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing