We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strong effort from MO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A strong effort from MO”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I am Shanghai based, and stayed with wife for a night away last night. We are long term MO customers, having used most of the hotels globally over the past 20 years. The Pudong version does not disappoint. There are plenty of luxury hotels in Shanghai, and these are early days for MO, but currently the accommodation, the Grill restaurant and especially the service are the best on offer in hotels in the city. The pool and gym are also spectacular. The location is a short journey from the financial centre core, but all is easily accessible via a short taxi ride. The riverside views are great and the overall effect is very relaxing. Highly recommended and I wish the team success in maintaining this excellent service level.

Room Tip: Worth going for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Chris d

Thank you very much for your review and for your loyalty to Mandarin Oriental hotel brnad! We are very pleased to hear that you and your family have had such a wonderful stay with us and you enjoyed our service, pools and restaurants. We shall continue to upkeep our high standard of products and services and do share with us more comments after your next stay with us. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Selina Chan
Director of Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    126
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
207
305
79
493
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

So pleased we stayed here on our first visit to Shanghai. Wonderful river and city skyline views from our room; dined one evening at Yong Yi Ting (regional Chinese) which was exceptional; and also enjoyed access to the 2nd floor Club Lounge (for breakfasts, evening drinks). The service was excellent, friendly and yet extremely professional - just what you'd expect of a Mandarin Oriental really! Do hope we get the chance to visit again soon. Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel is amazing but a little hard to find straight out to the river from my room you see a amazing sene it's boats with light and buildings flashing like a 80s disco in the evening but with Class
The hotel has all the amenities you want and expect from a 5 star Modern setting hotel restaurants club lounge spa all day dinning
The room has all the amenities that you will expect nothing more nothing less service still a little unpolished but just recently opened I was told but the staff was always helpful in so many areas
Taxi to and a from the airport abut 50min a little traffic
It's located good away from all the hustle 20min in taxi to the down town area the area is getting very develop and upcoming but nice
But overall I will stay there on my next business trip to shanghai agin

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view it's nice to watch the river in the evening and day time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hans m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our sojourn at the newly opened Mandarin Oriental Pudong Shanghai was an absolute delight.

First & foremost, we were most impressed with the level of attention and professionalism of the team, this especially given that the hotel is still in its soft opening phase.

We were initially doubtful of the location (north of Pudong's waterfront) only to find it most pleasant - quiet & relaxing, yet within very close proximity to Pudong's commercial & financial centre.

Great options in terms of F&B, and value for money. We must enjoyed lunching at Fifty 8* Grill, as well as at Yong Yi Ting (the dim sum selection is fine).

The rooms are a treat, as is the spa and fitness area.

We strongly recommend it!
Thank you to the Team for making our stay wonderful.

Jonathan at Luxury Concierge China, Shanghai

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Jonathan h

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location, attention to detail and the restaurants. We are most grateful about your recommendation. We hope to welcome you back to “Paris of the Orient” and our hotel again in the near future!

Best regards,
Selina Chan
Director of Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in the hotel on business and were looked after incredibly well from the moment we arrived to the second we departed. The rooms were spacious, luxurious and everything had been considered so carefully. The pool and spa facilities were excellent and we dined in the excellent French restaurant which catered perfectly for our group. The experience was only surpassed by the wonderful views over Shanghai!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Brand new. The staff could not be more helpful and attentive. The swimming pool, which we had for ourselves for two days, is magnificent. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with everything you might need provided. We arrived much earlier than check in time, but were immediately accommodated in an upgraded room. On the day of our departure, we were able to store our luggage and spend the day in Shanghai before our evening flight. This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in and, though not cheap, whilst offering a two nights for the price of one introductory offer, represents excellent value.
The only negative was that there was a charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in Shanghai. We stayed at mandarin oriental for two nights for my husbands birthday. We had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely attentive and really went out of their way to make our stay special. The facilities are fantastic and we particularly enjoyed the spa and fitness area. It is one of the best we have seen. We were extremely relaxed at the end of our stay and can only say good things about our stay. It was really wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AusInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#2 of 5,105 in Shanghai
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,974 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Property: Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Address: 111 Pudong Road Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivaled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing