We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give 7 stars if it was an option!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I was incredibly impressed by the service, room and especially the food at this hotel. Every need was taken care of before I could ask. The room was an absolute palace, fit for a king. The buffet was better than any fine restaurant I've ever been to. I cannot more highly recommend this hotel - you will be doing yourself a favour by staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Director of Communications at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Chris C

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. I am pleased to know you have had a fantastic experience and enjoyed our legendary service. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful and exquisite stay.

Sincerely yours,

Selina Chan
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Typical Mandarin Oriental, luxury, best located, welcoming and a perfect 24hour opening gym and swimming pool - yes, its 24hours and the best part, there is a professional coach! Its probably the hotel which is closest to the river in shanghai and for the guest room, its logically designed. However, the house cleaning should be improved since i saw weird hairs in my room and the windows are not so so so luxury-cleaned. but as a new opening hotel, they already did the best. btw, try to jog along the river (not after 11pm), its amazing. and the grill restaurant is a must try.

Room Tip: Better get the room face to west/south. there is no smoking area except the lobby bar, so for smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is everything you'd expect from the Mandarin, a flawless experience. It's no surprise it is voted #1 on Tripadvisor.

I'm a sucker for a good concierge service and Clark, Ken, William and their entire team were just amazing. From organizing the hotel limo, excursions and train schedules to arranging sunflowers, carrot cake, birthday candles and so on, they didn't skip a beat. We were in Hangzhou on the day we needed to fly out and running very late so I called them and asked for our luggage to be delivered to the airport. When we finally arrived at the airport in a taxi, William (a MO concierge) was there waiting for us with a bell hop and our luggage, he paid for our taxi and even assisted us through check-in. These guys are just fantastic, they know their city, they understand that 'no' is not an answer and I think they love a good challenge. Ten points to the MO concierge service!

As for the hotel, it's brand new and it's in perfect condition. The gym is equipped with the latest and best Technogym gear, the Spa is completely lovely and the Zest restaurant is outstanding. Zest is a mix of buffet foods from around Asia and it is brilliantly done. Exec Chef, Marco clearly knows what he is doing and it shows. The Qi bar is beautiful and the service is exceptional. You deserve to stay at the MO and it deserves to have you.

I can find almost no fault with this hotel so I am going to be extremely critical here. I can't believe I'm about to say this and I know it sounds ridiculous but I found the service almost too attentive or perhaps a bit invasive (I'm excluding the concierge service because that's their primary job). This is both a testament and a compliment to their extreme level of service but it felt like every time I left the room there was an entourage of staff waiting to greet me, push the elevator button, accompany me somewhere, offer me drinks, order a taxi, or just do something for me. There is a very fine balance between perfect service and too much attention.

The staff have obviously been extremely well trained to look after my every need and some (my girlfriend included) may love this level of royal service, I find it just a little bit exhausting at times.

I love that everyone is so well trained and managed and that all they want to do is look after you, so many hotels are the opposite so this is really a compliment. I love the Mandarin Oriental, the hotel is flawless as can be expected and a wonderful new addition to the Mandarin family. We will certainly return on our next visit to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEK649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

High expectation for our first time in the new hotel was more than fulfilled. Superb service we have known always with Mandarin Oriental in Singapore, Sanya, and Hong Kong was, no surprise, found yet again now in Shanghai, to our great pleasure. What we had not imagined, however, and had to experience to fully grasp and appreciate, was the extraordinary location on the river. The views are amazing, day and night, and out-the-door to serene river-edge walking and jogging is probably unique for the city. For dining, we enjoyed all three restaurants, which are sure to rank in stars whenever Michelin ratings will come to Shanghai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbowronlajneuilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is truly a fantastic hotel. In Pudong which is dominated by many new 5* high rise hotels this stands alone as an oasis of calm and not only that I think it also has the best facilities i have seen in any of the Cities Hotels.

The conference facilities are perfectly designed and high ceilings allow you to forget that you are underground.

The Spa and fitness centre has the best new equipment and so much space to relax.

The bedrooms are perfect - check out the round baths!

The restaurants are incredible - especially Yong Yi Ting.

And finally the serviced apartments are luxurious and such good value for money that if you have the opportunity to try them you will not be disappointed.

CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spectacular end to an exotic trip in China. The location is excellent. Very easy to get to the Bund and other tourist areas. Its located within the financial zone so obviously a good match there.

******* I strongly recommend you eat at the Chinese restaurant there Yong Yi Ting. It is local-stype Chinese food and an incredibly diverse menu. The restaurant manager served as our meal concierge to help us pick a representative selection. We ate there three times! We also ate at the Zest restaurant at the Sunday Brunch.

Service everywhere was superlative.

A Tip: make sure to bing your bathing suit: the 25 meter pool is spectacular !

Room Tip: Go for the Concierge level. The "snacks" are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlindudeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear TravlindudeMiami

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. We’re delighted to learn about your great culinary experiences in our Chinese restaurant, and your appreciation of the hospitality extended by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Selina Chan
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a weekend in Shanghai and thought we'd try the newly opened MO in Pudong. Only just opening its doors in April, I was expecting the usual problems that come with new hotels but not so with the MO. Attentive service but not intrusive, top notch facilities - the Technogym spec'ed gym and pool with its cabana rest areas are a class above the rest. Rooms need a little running-in as is expected with a few tiny problems but nothing to detract one from the MO experience. The hotel is located in a fairly new area of the Pudong financial district and may be hard to find for first timers but it is in a good location and close to the IFC. First rate and definitely one to return to or recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbrhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,413 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Address: 111 Pudong Road Pudong, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £195 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivaled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing