We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The most enjoyable stay in my life!!! The hotel is very beautiful. The staff received us as if we were used to stay there every day! They provide us an athmosfere of discret luxury, excelent food, beautiful room, beautiful view. I wil "lock" the memories of the days I spent there, in my heart, for ever!

Enilda Guido

Room Tip: Choose one with a view to the river and that gives access to "Le Club", in the 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enildaguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Mangaer at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Enildaguido,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to hear that you have had an excellent stay and you especially enjoyed the service here. We look forward to welcoming you back again before long.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    111
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
182
277
72
436
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just came back home after staying for 4 nights in MO. We've booked river view suite 2 bedrooms on a club level. Everything was perfect - well appointed rooms with fantastic views, club level restaurant with its broad choice of hot and cold snacks at every meal, state-of-the-art gym and beautiful swimming pool with the feeling of tropical resort to it. All public areas were kept spotless clean. But what makes the hotel truly amazing is its staff - professional, discreet, helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. As a new year gift our children were given small paintings of the horse, made by the club level team. We had a great time and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view and higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtrottersvasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Pudong is now the Center of Luxury Hotels in Shanghai with the Park Hyatt, the Ritz carlton, the Four Seasons and now with the latest one the Mandarin Oriental.
The Mandarin Oriental is located on the Bank of the Huang Pu River in a peaceful surrounding within walking distance of Lujiazui Business district.
The room are Spacious (60Sqm) well appointed and ask for the one overlooking the river.
The Chinese restaurant "Yong Yi Ting"( Jiang Nan Style),the grill and the all day Dining room "Zest" are all excellent with an outstanding service.
In the Oriental club the staff will do their upmost to meet your expectation. Michael give an excellent and very professional service.
Overall the service is excellent and friendly.
We spend a long Week end their to get away from our Xintiandi Home and thank to their excellent Fitness club and pool we had a very relaxing and enjoyable time.
Great Hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room over looking the river and part of the Oriental Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 760pieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Love Mandarin since the very moment stepping into the legendary mo hongkong.
I think they brought most part of their fantasy to shanghai where the Jardines started their family almost two hundred years ago. Unlike the Peninsula to rebuild its own building on the bund, mandarin chose place quiet and more like special. The problem is that the area where is still in construction and development, so probably people would feel quiet isolated. But considering only 5mins drive to ifc, I quiet like such exclusivity. Unlike the central station of Pudong-the ritz pudong? mandarin actually provide me a sense of special, a feeling of quiet and the true meaning of luxury.
I stayed twice in this mandarin before, which are Harbour city suite and Riverview suite. This time the hotel recommended Club mandarin riverview room, which is better than most of the rooms and can even compared to Riverview suite. With a direct view to the oriental pearl and the whole bund, this room are really beneficial. What's more it has a bigger bathtub than the that of Riverview suite! If with washlet in the toilet, that would be perfect!
The facilities of the hotel are enough with a very high standard, but just too underground.The 58 Grill has a very creative chef, who actually made a difference from other those of luxury hotels. The spa is very nice with a swimming pool of 25m length! I think no more than five luxury hotels has that big pool!
The last place, which is the best in my mind, is the chinese restaurant! I don't remember the exact name, but ,compared to my recent 3 visits to the lung king heen of fshk, I think the taste of this mandarin pudong restaurant is more palatable, or as same as palatable as that of fshk. What's more important, you don't need reserve your table one month prior!
The staff actually can fulfill almost all the requests you put up. Even some of mine are not that kind reasonable! I think the management team paid a lot effort to grow a team like that in mainland china!
All in all,
Love this hotel! Will come back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Snowyenperor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Snowyenperor,

Many thanks for this flowing review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to heard that you had an excellent stay and that you especially enjoyed the food here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous visit!

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

ok - I'm a MO fan and have been for some time - they just seem to get the idea of what satisfying a guest is all about. Whenever an issue arises, no matter how small, it is sorted without fuss and usually above and beyond expectation. Statyed 2 nights in MO Shanghai over Christmas 2013, club access - didn't leave hotel for 2 days. Service natural and personal - thanks to Micker for looking after us all. (stayed with 2 children). Food standard is way above other 5 star hotels. facilities as expected - top notch. Location I would say average at this point in time until the phase 2 pudong development is complete. However I understand there is a complimentary car service - so this not such a big deal. For New Year we stayed in new Jing An Shangra La, the club food and service there was a joke compared to MO standard...will return to the MO.

Room Tip: If you want river facing ask for full river frontal vs side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Truly, from the moment I arrived (wait, before, when the driver was waiting for me in the airport), I felt like the most special guest the hotel ever encountered even though I was just me! The staff was amazing… they remembered my name - even in the fitness center and the concierge created magic, getting me an app't at the Apple store - and offering to take my computer if I was too busy!. My room faced the Pearl Tower and it was truly magical. Everything about this visit was delightful - and I wish I could say it was like being at home - but it was better than that ! ;-)

Room Tip: Ask to fact The Pearl Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeakerSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear SpeakerSue,

Many thanks for this flowing review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to heard that you had an excellent stay and that you especially enjoyed the service here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous visit!

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
195 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The Mandarin Oriental in Pudong sets in my opinion a standard of perfection against which any other luxury hotel must find it hard to measure up. From the marvelous courtesy and professionalism of all the staff, to the fantastic bedrooms and suites (we were very generously upgraded to a river view suite), to the amazing fitness center, to the club room, everything was faultless. A special thanks to Mr. Massimiliano Binda, the Hotel Manager, for making us feel just like at home, and to Mr. Charles Tong, the Head Concierge for faultlessly organizing our visit to this amazing metropolis. We will definitely return. Thanks for making our visit so memorable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Property: Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Address: 111 Pudong Road (S) Pudong, Shanghai 200120 , China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivaled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing