We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deservedly Number One......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Deservedly Number One......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Rated number one on multiple review sites and for a very good reason. The best experience to date since I have been in China which is almost one year now.

The attention to detail is impressive, the interior is stunning, the Presidential Suite astounding!

What makes the difference and separates the Mandarin Oriental from other so called Five Star Hotels? The staff and the obviously very high level of training the staff have received. Top marks all round, congratulations to the management team on a magnificent achievement, an experience I will remember for a longtime to come and the new benchmark for how I view other hotels and restaurants.

When the Porter refers to you by name and you have only passed on your cloakroom ticket, that is special, thank you for caring......

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Errazuriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    111
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
182
277
72
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Room:
Facilities of highest standards, well-allocated rooms, great bathtub (Club room)
Staff:
truly anticipating, discreet and always at service
Club:
Shanghais biggest and best club lounge (truly deserved), spacious, yet intimate, great selection of reading (coffee-table books library on Shanghai, Art, Fashion etc. "Taschen heaven"), Restaurant-quality selection of meals
Qi Bar:
Subtle ambiance, excellent drinks (loved the "French Concession")

I used to stay neighboring 5star hotels in Lujiazui, but all I appreciated in them (anticipative service, excellent facilities, flawless Lounge and business center services...) I find at the Mandarin Oriental combined on a new level. The best choice for Shanghai!

Room Tip: Club rooms are spacious and boast stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handershang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My fiancé and I checked in at the Mandarin Oriental on our return from the Philippines and had an amazing experience from start to finish. The staff were attentive, polite and catered to our every need and the facilities were superb. We had a river view room with some lovely extra touches! The spa, pool and gym were spotlessly clean and offered more than we could have asked for. I would highly recommend an early check in and late check out to make the most of your stay here! I will be returning with my mother and sister in April and I am very much looking forward to it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmWong87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear EmWong87,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to hear that you have had an excellent stay and you especially enjoyed the facility here. We look forward to welcoming you back again before long.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Extremely helpful and excellently trained staff attentive to your every need. Charming hotel, stylishly designed and good facilities. Food was good and the rooms were incredible. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCPickhaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear TCPickhaver,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are most grateful about your appreciation of our facilities and high level of service. Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Mandarin Oriental truly is a wonderful place to stay. The attention to detail in all areas is without doubt in a class of it's own. Staff were friendly, helpful and extremely well trained in customer service and the personal touches provided by the sales team really made our holiday a relaxing and luxurious event.

Room Tip: It's worth spending a little extra on the River View rooms as the lights are spectacular at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunarcalipso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear lunarcalipso,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are most grateful about your appreciation of our facilities and high level of service. Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for one night in a river view suite and it was absolutely magnificent. The Mandarin Oriental is tucked safely away from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai, but still close enough to go into the city and enjoy the sights. Location by the riverside makes for great walks at sunset, and the private driver service to bring us to and from the hotel was extremely convenient.

The spa amenities that are included in the stay were a godsend. We spent an entire afternoon swimming in the pool and trying out the different showers and sauanas that the hotel as to offer. There are two saunas, hot beds, a rainforest mist shower, and an exquisite changing room.

The best part of the hotel is the kind and attentive staff that went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I felt like royalty staying at the Mandarin Oriental, and I honestly think there is nowhere in Shanghai more cozy, relaxing, and tranquil as the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mary H,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service, hotel facilities and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

It's good to see a hotel in China finally getting the service right up there with its international brand name. In the Chinese new year holidays I had a brunch at another recently opened luxury hotel chain in Pudong and was really let down by how much the staff really didn't notice that we were there - not really there problem - they might want to sort out the hotel's training. So when we arrived at the MO it really was a pleasant surprise. Loads of smiling, bending over backwards to help, even offering free snacks to take away with us once we left the hotel.

The rooms are what you expect from an MO - big baths, quality finishing. Could have done with a little help on the heating side to combat the February cold - but plenty warm enough in the bed. Breakfast was excellent with a good spread and, wait for it, REAL sausages in Shanghai. Boom!

Used the fancy gym and the pool with great facilities as you'd expect from the brand. But again, the best thing was the service - never so much in Shanghai had the staff actually cared about us! Hotels's in Shanghai at the top end don't come cheap, so its refreshing to see the service match the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MightyHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Property: Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Address: 111 Pudong Road (S) Pudong, Shanghai 200120 , China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivalled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing