We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further - My Shanghai Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Look no further - My Shanghai Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I’ve stayed in many hotels across Shanghai but the Mandarin Oriental Pudong reset my benchmark for a 5 star experience. From the moment you arrive, the attention to detail and the quality of service provided by the staff is second to none. The rooms are very spacious and offer all the required and unexpected amenities including an incredible assortment of adaptors and cables for all of your electronic gadgets and gizmos.

The Club lounge is a must if you plan to spend a significant amount of time in the hotel or if you’re travelling with your spouse. It’s a fantastic relaxing space to unwind, read a book, have a glass of wine or just distress after a long day. The staff members are all attentive and very welcoming.

If you are looking for a gym and pool this is the best I’ve seen in an urban hotel. Typically hotels take a careful photo across the gym in to a mirror so that the space looks twice as big. That’s not the case here - they have plenty of cardio machines; exercise stations; free weights; jump ropes, there is a separate studio (with classes) that even has boxing gloves and sparring pads... And let’s not forget the pool. A proper pool – 25meters and heated and the changing area has steam and sauna rooms. It's open 24 hours a day so jetlag or sù zuì recovery has never been so easy.

I could go on and on but having stayed at more than a dozen different 5 star hotels across Shanghai there is really no need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I recommend upgrading to Club access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    111
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
181
276
72
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, Bahamas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been to various Mandarin Oriental Hotel and are unwed to the excellent service proved by them. The Mandarin Oriental confirmed our experience. We booked a Club Room and the room was spacious with a lovely view of the river. The lounge is excellent and the staff ready to satisfy all your wished. We would like to express our thanks to all the staff for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahamas333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear bahamas333,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are most grateful about your appreciation of our facilities and high level of service. Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a great weekend at the hotel. Rooms are gorgeously appointed (all of the rooms have the latest technology installed), the staff are excellent and I particularly enjoyed the spa. We had an amazing time, would highly recommend it to others. I loved this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPanda212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear MrPanda212,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The first seven nights:
Elegant, sophisticated, high level of professionalism in hotel business - all what I expected and received at this hotel.
Airport arrival - Hotel car pickup and luggage handling by hotel personal, relaxing drive.
Smooth & personalized check-in process from the moment stepping out from the car - greeted by guest assistance and immediatelly escorted to my room. Personalized passport and room amenities information - very nice after twenty hours travel!
Large sized room, comfortable bed, elegant bathroom amenities, excellent cleaning service.
Breakfast at the LG level restaurant - a perfect start for long days. Huge selection of oriental and continental cuisine, non-stop service by weiters, breakfast made by order quickly.
From the second day on I was greeted by my name everywhere - at the lobby, in the restaurant - nice feeling!
Exchanged currency at the lobby desk several times - swift and correct service. The desk manager Viki was my favorite - she organized all my requests on the highest quality level on the shortest possible time - excellent job!
Concierge service is top of the line - ordered tickets, cabs - immediate response and result. Very effective.
The Second single night:
After I returned to Mandarin Oriental Hotel - from a two city trip in two other hotels - I were geeated as I'm returning home - and it was really felt on that way!
And on my surprise, I was upgraded to Club Member level with privilages - that was very nice gesture by hotel management - perfect closure for a long trip.
Summary:
I will returning about a few months again - to my new home in Shanghai - Mandarin Oriental Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Bela M,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service. My colleagues and I look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel for a business trip. The service of course was top of the line, as all staff managers and most others could speak English quite well. The room itself was quite well decorated and the bed, very comfy. I ordered room service from their very extensive in-room menu. The 2 items I ordered could have been more reasonably priced, considering the of the plates. But other than that, the one night stay pretty seamless, enjoyable and hassle free.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Michael W,

Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are most grateful about your appreciation of our high level of service. Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The bed is hard compare to W hotel, but very comfortable. When I asked for hot oatmeal at breakfast, they asked for the type of milk I prefer and immediately made it. Best slippers from any hotel. Service is professional and excellent. The gym is huge and clean. I only stayed one night but would definitely return in the future. Location is not central, but a good choice if you are heading to PVG airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellexu_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed two nights at the MO Pudong in a Club River View room. It is a very nice hotel. The bath products and linens are fantastic. The safe is at eye-level (a minor detail but one I have come to appreciate) and there's a tv over the bathtub. The pool and spa facilities are really great although I had a bit of a language problem. I kept asking for the hot tub or jacuzzi (I used both words) and was repeatedly told they had neither, but then I was eventually shown the pool area and there was the hot tub! I had an excellent massage and facial at the spa and would recommend it.

I would like to particularly mention Emma and Miker in the Club Lounge as being particularly helpful and friendly and just totally lovely during my stay, helping me with transport, printing things, tours, etc.

So...I hate to make a list of cons because really, this is a gorgeous hotel with excellent service, but I feel like some of the reviews are vague and I want to be specific with you:

The hotel is in Pudong. If you are familiar with London, this is like coming to London to see Buckingham Palace, but staying in Canary Wharf. If you are a tourist, staying in Pudong means that you will need to either
1. HOPE the hotel car can take you to the metro and take the metro into town
2. Walk to the metro (about 15 minutes across busy intersections), and remember Shanghai pollution is intense.
3. Take a taxi into town, which means taking the tunnel which is two lanes and painfully slow during rush hour. (Although taxis are cheap.) I took a taxi home from dinner in Xintiandi one night after dinner and it was cheap and fast, but I would not try that during rush hour.

I had a couple of issues with the hotel car. Once, the hotel told me (similar to a previous reviewer) that the car would be available in 5 minutes. 20 minutes later and still no car. Another time, they told me to forget about the hotel car and just take a taxi to the metro. For a hotel of this caliber, I would expect more...like maybe they could use technology to geo-locate the cars and message with them or something.

Other thoughts...
One of the reasons why I like club floors is that you usually end up talking to someone interesting at breakfast or cocktails. However...the lounge was oddly empty during my stay. I saw max four other people at one time while I was in there. The staff told me that they were very busy with requests from people staying on club floors, but I honestly never saw these guests.

I had the same problem as a previous reviewer with the cash machine in the lower lever. Firstly, even when you select English, the machine is mostly in Chinese. Then, I finally made it through all the screens with help from someone from the business center and no money. I knew enough to go up to reception and ask for a cash advance rather than have my taxi drive me around on my way to the airport, looking for an ATM.

Ah, the food in the club floor...I felt that it could be better. I was very spoiled by the delicious food in the club lounge at the Intercontinental Saigon, where I had stayed just prior to my trip to Shanghai. While I appreciated that the MO wanted me to have a salad, I wanted lots and lots of dumplings and noodles instead. Maybe a lot of tourists like Western food, but I wanted more Shanghai! The mushroom bisque was nice though.

Hotel room fittings...a previous reviewer mentions that the hotel fittings seem a little sloppy, and I would agree. I was surprised by the imperfections in a hotel of this quality. The tilework, the woodwork...everything was high quality, but not 100%. Maybe I have spent too much time in Germany.

So...I want to really emphasize that this is a great "staycation" type of hotel. A great place to go if you just want to spa and relax forever. My four star rating is based mainly on the location, which being outside of town, makes for challenges in touring.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear KristaInLondon,

Thank you for your detailed review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. It is obvious that you are a well-traveled individual with a very discerning eye for quality. I sincerely appreciate your kind feedback about our service in particular on Club which I look forward to share with our colleagues as I am certain this will further motivate them to delight and satisfy our guests.

On a different note, I am disappointed to learn about the difficulties you encountered with our house car and ATM machine and please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused and negative impression.

Apart from the above, I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. My colleagues and I look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai should your travel brings you back in the near future on either business or leisure purpose.


Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Property: Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Address: 111 Pudong Road (S) Pudong, Shanghai 200120 , China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivalled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing