We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Feeling right at home at a wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling right at home at a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My first day and I was immensely impressed with their professionalism, the level of service provided and the lovely room. By the second day, I actually looked forward to returning to the hotel after a full day of meetings. Now sitting at the table waiting for dinner to be served, I am truly overwhelmed with the attentiveness and friendliness from every single staff I meet. Agree the menu at the Zest is limited, but I will not complain. The floor manager (presumably) noticed I could not decide what to have, had a chat to find out my preference and offered to arrange dumpling noodle which is not on the menu. He went on to arrange salad on the house as it would take a little longer to prepare; and the noodle was served well before I'm done with the salad. Everyone makes me feel right at home. Even the chef who prepared the noodle is so friendly and wonderful! And did I mention I love the gym?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear awwl,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write us a great review regarding your stay at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. We are delighted to learn that you have had such a wonderful time with us, and that you were delighted by the attentiveness and friendliness of our staff. I believe your positive feedback will certainly motivate our staff to further satisfy our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another wonderful stay very soon.

Yours sincerely

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    105
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
170
260
67
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The position of the hotel is great.If the club lounge and restaurants were on a higher floor it would be the perfect position as the view would be the best of the Hotels on the river.Our bedroom was river facing and was beautiful. Bathroom excellent, room/suite comfortable.The spa, gym and pool the best I have experienced.Club level good but food was fair.We used all the facilities in club lounge like the conference room etc. All very well organized and wonderful service.Avoid week-end as the club lounge is packed with families and screaming kids.There should be a min. age for kids to be allowed in a club lounge.The only down side of the hotel was that language was a problem on more than one occasion.


Room Tip: Room 1920. River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ihicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ihicks,

It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location, our guestroom features and Wellness Center. Thank you very much for your kind praises on our professional staff which will certainly motivate our colleagues in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

I have duly noted your feedback regarding our staff’s English skills and not allowing children to use the Club below a certain age. We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback and kindly rest assured it will be certainly reviewed by our related department heads as a source of opportunity and improvement.

Apart from the above, I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. My colleagues and I look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is by far the best Shanghai spot so far. Location is right on the water, excellent top notch service, called by name EVERY time i saw a front desk staff member or butler. Rooms are gorgeous, I had a corner room with multiple viewpoints. The bathroom is tremendous and extremely well laid out. Beautiful finishes throughout. I literally did not leave the hotel from the time I checked in until two days later when I had to leave. The lounge is a great spot to have a drink or have meetings, and the buffet restaurant staff were extremely accommodating and well trained. The airport transfer service was prompt and comfortable, clean car, uniformed driver, easy to spot from when you leave the customs area at Pudong.
All in all, you can't ask for more in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Bobbyz51,

Thank you for your kind review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. We are delighted to hear that you have had such a wonderful time with us, and that you appreciate the hospitality offered by our professional team. I have shared your comments with our colleagues and they are very motivated by your positive feedback. Hope we can welcome you back before long.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here back in 2013 on a business trip when it just opened. Just fantastic. You can expect the MO signature service and attention to detail.. My deluxe room faced the Bund and was a good size, cosy for the 2 of us. The room was well appointed and room service excellent.

My wife had nothing but praise for the staff and how they looked after her and helped with her inquiries whilst I was at meetings. Shes super hard to please so they must have been good!

The only drawback is at the time the hotel was still quite new and many of the taxi drivers didn't know where it was, even with the hotel namecard. Shanghai taxi drivers are pretty rubbish anyway but that did cause a couple of hiccups. Its probably not an issue now.

I would come back and stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezzydez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Dezzydez,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked an executive apartment through Agoda. After I arrived at MO pudong, there was some confusion about what's included in the reservation (for the most part it's an Agoda issue). After I talked to sorted things out, MO pudong graciously honored what was advertised on Agoda's website.

The employees at this hotel are fairly young and not the most experienced, however, they do try to meet your every need. Especially wanted to thank Daniel at the business center who fixed the Xbox connection problem for us, and Joseph at the front desk who even wrote me a personal email to apologize for a minor issue. Even the cleaning lady was a delight to talk to.

The apartment we stayed at was modern and spotless. Bed and pillow were pure heaven. The bathtub/shower area has a great view of the river, and it was so spacious that my visitors' kids used it as their lounge area!

The high tech wiring could use some improvement. The air condition in the bedroom couldn't be turned off for some reason, I had to ask the hotel to just unplug the whole thing. The lights in the room would suddenly turn on/off with no apparent reason.

Overall an excellent stay thanks to the great service provided by everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveAthens2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear LoveAthens2014,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was treated as a valued customer in each area in the hotel, no matter in front desk, swining pool, concierge......During my last stay in Mandarin Oriental Pudong, my flight was cancelled. So I made a late check out request in order to wait for the arragement from travel agency. I was offered a late check out up to 4pm which I belived it was the longest times I received during peak hour on Friday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edgar_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Edgar_Ma,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 6 nights. It was an excellent experience. The staff provided excellent service, the club lounge was excellent, the hotel taxi service was awesome, and the room was clean & spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Conpoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Pudong, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Conpoy,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Binda
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#5 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Property: Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Address: 111 Pudong Road (S) Pudong, Shanghai 200120 , China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivalled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing