We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Ranked #10 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is lovely, well planned, foyer stunning. The rooms are large with huge view windows, clean, everything worked. The Cafe Liang was the best in China.

Jean-Oliver de Sauvage (Duty Manager) was wonderful in looking after us as well.

Room Tip: facing east you might get a view of the Bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLJinSyd2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    126
    44
    13
    4
See reviews for
41
103
30
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The location is good. I like this hotel because it's new. The interior design is very nice. I like the wave wall outside the fitness centre. I like the colorful flower carpet of the corridor between rooms. A lot of details to see. The staff is helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I got room 4312 facing the Puli hotel. And I can see the elevated road and the Jing'an temple. Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Everything from the greeting to leaving was impeccable. We had a trade show and also stayed in the hotel. It is always pleasing when you find a hotel or restaurant that meets your expectations and exceeds them. It means you have one less decision to make on your next trip!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gregght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First time staying at this Shangri-la in Jing An. The room was very comfortable and modern. Very comfortable bed. I was on the 54th floor and had an amazing view. Loved the bathroom. Bright and good lighting and loved the tv on the mirror. Hotel is a 10 minutes stroll away from Nanjing Shi Road for some window shopping (things are expensive in Shanghai).Throughout my 3 days stay, I find that it can be hard getting a taxi. Not sure if its the location or because of the weather. Anyways, I enjoyed my stay and would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jipkipdipmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a great hotel to stay at for work - I stayed for three nights, but could quite easily have stayed for a week. Location is good in terms of accessibility.

As the hotel is less than 12 months old, it is very modern in design and lay-out.

Guest rooms are ample in size and very well set-out - which really makes them feel a lot bigger than they are. Bed is massive and extremely comfortable. Bathroom is modern - with a great set up. WiFi in the rooms was easy to use and had good connectivity at all times.

Business facilities and meeting rooms are well-equipped and modern. The gym and pool are first rate - well above my expectations for a hotel.

The breakfast is high quality with lots of variety (with choice of coffees offered - which is a nice touch). Restaurants have good variety, but on the expensive side.

The only gripe I had was that I requested a non-smoking room and was placed in a smoking room - this was quickly resolved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is one of the latest in the Jing An or West Shanghai area. The location is great with the subway located in the same building, easy access to restaurants n the area, and a skip away from the French Concession area and a 10-15min cab ride to The Bund (depending on traffic). The hotel is well appointed in terms of location, average size of room, gym and other services and ease of access to other areas of interest in Shanghai.
The staff are generally friendly and helpful, however not as generous as one would expect with late checkout request when in China. My late checkout request had to be approved by Duty Manager - a definite overkill considering I had a >10 night stay and second stay within a month.
The general feel of the hotel is slightly below par compared to other Shangri La Hotels such as the one in Beijing opposite the CCTV HQ. Enjoy the hotel while it is new, location and access to restaurants etc is a plus.

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking floor. All rooms are well appointed, upgrade to conrner rooms if you are after mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWW138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We traveled to China on a Viking cruise. Part of the trip was on land, and we extended our stay after the tour ended. The Shangri La is a 5 star hotel with every conceivable amenity. It is also quite expensive, but no more so than the other 5 star hotels in China. We stayed on the 50th floor, in a room with floor to ceiling windows that looked out over the city. Really really nice. They have an eclectic breakfast, and we ate dinner there one night as well. The desert bar was to die for. The hotel sits atop an underground mall and Metro stop, which really comes in handy when touring . We took the Metro to the Museum of Science and technology stop, and shopped for huge bargains - tons of vendors are located at that stop. We also walked across the street while at Shangri La and strolled through a lovely park located within a block of the hotel. spoke with several very friendly people there, who were practicing English! There is a teahouse in the park, but we didn't try it due to time constraints.

Room Tip: don't know if there is a bad room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringMarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,082 in Shanghai
1,450 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai

Property: Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Address: 1218 Middle Yan'an Road, Jing An Kerry Centre on West Nanjing Road, Shanghai, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jing An Shangri-la, West Shanghai is located in the Jing An Business District, one of Shanghai’s most prestigious and fashionable business and commercial districts. The hotel sits on a network of public transportation, including Metro Lines 2 and 7. It is about 45-minute drive from Pudong International Airport and only 20 minutes from Hongqiao Airport via the adjacent elevated Yan’an Middle Ring Road.Jing An Shangri-La is also the prime focus of the Jing An Kerry Centre, a new city landmark that encapsulates a lifestyle of affluence and vibrancy. Integrating 450,000 square metres of hotel, retail, office and residential space, the Centre is bounded by four major roads – West Nanjing Road, Changde Road, Yan’an Middle Ring Road and Tongren Road. It is adjacent to the Shanghai Exhibition Centre and only steps away from the Jing An Temple and the famous Nanjing Road shopping street.The hotel will overlook the Centre’s 3,000-square-metre piazza featuring pathways, gardens, water features and al fresco dining and the home where Chairman Mao Zedong lived for several months in 1920. Shangri-La and Kerry Properties will work with the Jing An District Government on the restoration of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing