We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding a little bit of Italy in downtown Shanghai”
Review of Goodfellas

Goodfellas
Ranked #4 of 17,008 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: The Bund
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Finding a little bit of Italy in downtown Shanghai”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Four of us had a lovely evening at Goodfellows.
The staff were friendly and helpful - great service.
The food was excellent.
Marco the owner visited each table to introduce himself and make sure everything was okay, a nice touch.
Well done, keep up the good work, we loved it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEC306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    254
    57
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good italian food!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

i highly recommend this if you like to have a good decent italian meal. Went there for a group dinner and the food main courses are all so good!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristie-wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food in Shanghai”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had lunch and dinner here on May 11 and 12 and could not get enough of the excellent food and great atmosphere at Goodfellas. Upon returning to the States we told everyone the best meal we had in Shanghai was here. Jio, our excellent server, took great care of us and made it a wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not sure it is worth the hype...... But still quite good”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Made a reservation to eat here during the May holiday. Restaurant is is a nice Bund location. Perpetually busy and a bit tight inside with cool black and white photos. Service is absolutely top notch. Probably the best restaurant service I have experienced in Shanghai. This alone makes it worth the trip. We started with a cold cut platter. All selections of meat were very good. The pickles were just OK. My guest ordered a Pizza. To me this was just another $30 USD Shanghai Italian restaurant Pizza. I am a bit partial to Chicago style Pizza so the Shanghai Pizzas although decent are not quite my favorite style and are pricey for what they are. I ordered the Prosciutto Ravioli. The Prosciutto seemed more like Ground Beef but along with the sauce were very good. With outstanding service and overall good food I would certainly return here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Toddb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thanks Gio...”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Visited as a party of 11 on Friday evening.
The restaraunt was busy with a pleasant buzz about the place.
All the food was great particularly liked the ravioli and the cod. Pizza are tasty and the appetizers, of which we had many were tasty and generous.
Service was excellent and the timing of the meals was excellent and arrived together.
The manager Gio was excellent and resolved an order delivery error (caused in part by my wife Julie) without a fuss. She is very friendly, helpful and very Italian.
This was our second visit and really enjoyed the night.

The location just off the Bund helps to set up the evening.

Well worth a night out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas63zjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcobettio, Proprietario at Goodfellas, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very happy that we managed to make happy everybody in your group.
Glad that the timing was good too , sometimes is not easy.
we hope to see you soon again.
Marco and team
p.s. we are proud to have Gio leading out team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodfellas also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Goodfellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing