We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Ranked #132 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Business trip to Shanghai”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It is a business class hotel where all the facility like iron, coat hanger are essential for working attire, WIFI is available at the hotel. I have no choice on this as it is a business trip and the hotel look good after all.

Here is my review on Purple Mountain: -
Hotel Environment: The hotel is located in front of a shopping center with lots of restaurant to choose from. It is also within walking distance to metro line 2 century avenue station which is quite convenient at Shanghai.

Hotel Service & Staff: There is no early check in when we reach at 8am as it will charge 50%. Check in available only after 10am. The staff able to speak English and the process is quite smooth.

Room Comfort: Staying at 41st floor which is almost highest floor where there are nice scenery from the room while enjoying the bathtub. There are pillow customization and the room are very cozy. The only complaint is the bathtub having some problem with leakage. There are good complimentary WIFI at the room as well with no additional charges.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Prefer room at 40th floor and above for better scenery view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    212
    55
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
23
16
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

it is China and it is 5 star hotel, even you can see, when it was build some years ago, but still! lobby is huge and spacious! please, note that you will be send up to 26th floor in a case, if you will have booked executive rooms. there is seperate check-in/reception for executive room' guests. rooms are spacious and clean. guests staying at executive rooms haveing some extra services, like breakfast on executive lounge, however, I would recommend to take breakfast on 2nd floor, while there are much more to try and selection of food is wider. there are also included some extra services for executive room guests, like daily loundry, happy hours, afternoon tea & coffee etc. but the best was free of charge departure transfer from hotel to the airport!

please, note that hotel is allocated a little bit out of Pudong business district, but location is good and within 30 min walking distance from Shnaghai Pearl TV Tower (and it is just 5 min drive with cab, if no trafic jams)

Room Tip: upper floor rooms with the views and take executive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Actually I have good things to say about this hotel. Its very centrally located among the banks and other financial institutions in the Pudong area. The Metro is but a short 5 minute walk away. Situated right opposite a very nice shopping centre literally called 9 6 in Mandarin (jiu liu).

I stayed 5 nights in an executive suite. Its not particularly luxurious as the pictures will have you believe but it is more than adequate for my needs. Strange thing is that the latch on my door is broken but its saved by the second lock beneath the door handle so no worries on intrusion there. Desk was great and of course free unlimited wi fi was a nice little bonus. I guess if you are on the executive floor this must be a minimum. The laundry limit of RMB80 was also a nice little bonus for the little things like T shirts and pants.

The breakfast was available over 2 floors. One was the general one on the 2nd floor and the quieter executive breakfast on the 26nd floor. If you wanted peace and quiet but a not so generous spread of food you went to the 26nd floor. The 2nd floor restaurant called The Collection was a pretty decent and above average place for breakfast albeit a little noisy and crowded. That was kind of expected anyhow.

The toilet was rather small but it still had a tub and a shower (separate). The tub was small and it was surely one way to encourage one to use the shower instead. No real complaints there.

Free bottled water was almost limitless so long as you asked the chambermaids for the extra bottles.

Pillows were great and I slept well despite the intermittent but muffled horns of the traffic below.

Overall, I had a great stay but I still don't know why its called the Purple Mountain Hotel. There was flat land and buildings for miles and the view had everything but a purple mountain. Its got a decent rank and it must have been because the owners went through some pains to make it look nice. Don't expect great bell boy service and lifts with dedicated room passes. Anyone can come in and out with almost zero security.

Room Tip: I paid RMB1400 per night. And because I stayed 5 nights I get a heavily discounted limo to the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiviCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Purple Mountain is all what you may expect from a hotel of its class.
Rooms spacious and clean. Good quality of beds and only 20 rmb by taxi away from the Bund.
Breakfast has everything to offer for Asian, European and American travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AL273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Hotel is located across a shopping mall, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was a little over average but not what you would expect in a 5 start hotel. The rooms are equipped with ironing boards but in general they need an upgrade to match the expectations for a 5 star. Having said this there is nothing majorly wrong with the hotel itself. If you are travelling for business it will be more than sufficient and it is also price-worthy (in case you have company budget limitations).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosferatu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was attending a 4 day Music Show at the SNIEC in Shanghai. This hotel was great! The staff were helpful and spoke English quite well. There were no problems communicating with them.

This is the first hotel I've stayed at in China where the finishing details were what I'm used to at home in Canada. The suites were clean, and the tradeswork was done very well (ie: tiling in washroom, carpentry and cabinetry finished well and so forth. Had three English movie channels too which seems to be less common as well.

The pool was closed I think it said due to the season (?) so can't comment about that.

I did visit the "Showcase Professional Hair Salon" for a men's cut and boy, did they ever do a great job. On of the best haircuts I've ever received. If you need these services, go and talk to Will and tell him the piano guy from Canada recommended him! He and his staff are great.

It's an easier subway commute to the main Shanghai attractions. Don't be scared by the many subway lines - they are quite straight forward to navigate. At the automated machine, press English at the top right. Choose the subway line that has your destination at the bottom of the screen (find this out from the hotel staff first), then just choose your particular stop. It tells you the cost and you insert your money. It provides your ticket and off you go to the turnstiles. All lines and stops are in both Chinese and English so they are easy to navigate.

I'm looking forward to my next trip to Shanghai to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Normally stay at the Intercon in Pudong but it was booked out for this trip. I knew the Purple Mountain as it is very near the office but never tried it before. It's a big hotel, good gym and nice outdoor pool. No complaints from me other than the rooms were quite small. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#41 of 5,105 in Shanghai
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Shanghai Pudong
0.4 mi away
The Hongta Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Soluxe Zhongyou Hotel Shanghai
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#115 of 5,105 in Shanghai
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Supreme Tower Hotel
Supreme Tower Hotel
#402 of 5,105 in Shanghai
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel

Property: Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel
Address: No.778 Dongfang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200122, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Trustel Purple Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Mountain Shanghai
Hotel Purple Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing