We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, Reseanable Price and Underexpected Service”
Review of Shanghai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shanghai Hotel
Ranked #524 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Location, Reseanable Price and Underexpected Service”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked this hotel as it is in the walk distance away from a hospital we need to pay a visit to. It claims to be a 4-star hotel and I am sure its location in the old Shanghai city, the park and villa view and the cleanness of the room are living up to the standards. However the hotel manager may have set up some wierd rule -- eg. one room key for one ID card, which means, if I want to check in and ask for two keys, I need to either take my wife's ID with me or have to go to get my wife's ID.

The doormen are well dressed, which is good, but they don't mind speaking very loudly. I asked once for a taxi but the doorman "gently" pointed me to the road nearby and said there are plenty of taxis on the road. I was expecting he woud go out and bring in a taxi for us. Ningbo food on the first floor was another disappointment.

This hotel is exactly the typical state-owned hotel. If you can be tolerant of the above, it is a very good choice for a) the location; b) the price, US$160 for executive room; c) the cleanness of room and floor.

Lastly, don't forget to try Sophia's Private Kitchen around the corner. And travel with the assistance from AmyExpress private chauffeurs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilecat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    137
    111
    32
    6
See reviews for
18
38
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Very old and shabby hotel, especially the lobby. The staff and the concierge don't speak any english and are very timid with foreigners to say the least. Or perhaps the communist spirit is alive and well in this ancient hotel. The area has nothing of entertainment value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erdene
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,080 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed three days in 2005, my wife became addicted to the noodles for breakfast, personally I found the buffet amazing and put on weight.
Dine in the restraunt below for a great evening with the local Chinese who treated us as honoured guests.

Room Tip: Again ask to see the room prior to accepting, the first we saw had many mal functions in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Nice entrance to the hotel, and you can walk to a small park only 5mins, turn left out of hotel. If you walk further, as we did then you can walk all the way down Nanjing street and onto the bund, you can always get the metro or a taxi back.

Room was nice, clean, although the smoke smell was still there, as with all hotels in china it would seem. The disappointment was the breakfast, the food was cold, the room was freezing the air con was like a gale force wind. The fruit, cereal and yogurt was good and that it about all I ate. If you don't like spiders and cobwebs do not check out the floor or corners of the room, not too big on cleaning here. Other then that it did the job for a couple of nights towards the end of the trip, if I was to return I would not stay here, but try to stay a litle closer to the bund. Although you can walk to the acrobats show, and there is a buddist temple within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seatte
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice. Both times, my rooms were nonsmoking. The second room was quite shabby compared to the first with a frayed and dirty carpet. The beds were quite hard. My even number room was quiet, but my odd numbered room had a lot of traffic noise. The included breakfast was fairly diverse, and palatable if not great. The location was nice, adjacent to the French quarter, where there are lovely bakeries and good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMMSeatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our first hotel in China. The public areas are very comfortable as were these areas in all the hotels we stayed in. The rooms were comfortable but a bit tired, and the all-pervading smell of smoke added to that impression. Beds were comfortable if a little on the hard side, Only real complaint was that as we discovered in all parts of China, the 'tap' water is not potable. However it only takes a few minutes to use (the free) bottled water to brush teeth. In the rooms the carpets were especially dirty and I did not notice throughout my stay of a few days, any carpet vacuuming or anything but superficial cleaning taking place. The restaurant was pretty good, but for some reason fresh fruit, apart from melon, was not available for breakfast.
Overall - adequate but definitely not luxurious.

Room Tip: Avoid lower noisy floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The smell of tobacco smoke permeates the lobby but this is not unusual in this country where non-smoking facilities are a myth. The same smell haunted our room but other members of our party denied detecting the odor in their rooms.

The rooms were competent and the sleeping was quiet on the higher floors, at least. Internet available at a price.

The food in the restaurant was novel and presented in a lovely fashion.

Mosquitoes present in the room and in the bathroom off the lobby. That seems to be true of many tropical and subtropical hotels wherever we go.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
#575 of 5,105 in Shanghai
171 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#53 of 5,105 in Shanghai
596 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#58 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jinqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Pudong East
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#222 of 5,105 in Shanghai
287 reviews
Former French Concession
Yan'an Hotel
Yan'an Hotel
#727 of 5,105 in Shanghai
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel

Property: Shanghai Hotel
Address: No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanghai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing