We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shanghai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanghai Hotel
Ranked #501 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel proved to be less basic than we had imagined and was more than adequate in bedroom and bathroom size although like all the hotels we stayed in China it was not sparklingly clean!! The beds were very, very hard and some of our group found this difficult and slept on top of the duvet!! The food was adequate and a reasonable choice at the breakfast menu but certainly not up to the standard of the other hotels we stayed in around China.

Room Tip: You can ask for a softer mattress!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deppagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    137
    109
    31
    6
See reviews for
18
38
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Shanghai was the final stop of our Gate1 Tour of China. Location is exceptional near the French Concession area, 5 mins walk to the nearest metro station and decent driving distances from all of the major attractions (30 mins taxi ride max). The hotel was decent: got used to the stiff bed, clean decent-sized room but slightly outdated. Breakfast is usually busy around 7-8 AM and the food was alright. Was in the room to sleep and stayed early morning or late at night because I was too busy checking out the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cisqo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
291 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Shanghai Hotel and were quite satisfied----even though the room was smaller than the other places we stayed. The breakfast buffet was nothing to brag about, as far as buffets go. But we would rate it as "good." The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, so we felt very comfortable there. The location is very safe and full of nearby stores, restaurants, and bars.
We would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cisco289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Bridges, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Summary of my trip:
I started in Beijing which I have provided a previous hotel review
#1 Beijing: Please do not miss the visit to the Great Wall of China, Summer Palace, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. Don't miss the Peking Dinner because it is very delicious!
#2 Xi'an: Visit Xingqing Park, this park is filled with culture, this local park is a hub of activity in the morning and we LOVED it so much, there you will interact with beautiful locals and they will make you feel welcomed and you can dance or practice any of the activities they do (dance, yoga, games, massages) beautiful!!!
China's first emperor, Qin Shi Huang and the Terracota Warriors, Xi an is an amazing pretty city with many students and the Embassador Hotel (previously reviewed) was very nice and classy!!!
#3 Shan Hai: What a gorgeous city, it is the mix of Europe and New York, I recommend you to take a cruise boat ride on the Wusong river at night to see the beautiful Shang Hai illuminated at night. If you are interested to learn about the culture and the dynasties, visit the Yuyuan Garden and please visit the Jade Buddha temple it is gorgeous (no pictures are allowed in the actual Jade statue) but in the whole place is really nice. For shopping visit the Bazaar where you can buy ANYTHING related to China and souvenirs, I wish I did not buy much in the previous cities I visited because basically there all is nicer and cheaper...PLEASE bargain because you can up to 70% (no joke) although some stores have a sign " please do not bargain" I would say to try because you might see a disappointment if you find something cheaper. The Bazaar is really nice with plenty of shops and a whole variety of things to buy and also you can eat there..I was going crazy there that had to go back.
If you can visit Suzhou, it is a small town 2 hours away from Shanghai where you can experience tranquility, I highly recommend this town also built in water (the old town) and if you go take a tour in the Gondola where they will sing for you...amazing!!

Things to keep in mind:
Food in China is different and it was not for me, family restaurants with a Lazy Susan on the table to share the meals served.
Public bathrooms are a whole in the ground (toilet) which was horrible to me, they squat for their necessities
Bring Clean (crispy if possible) and non pencil/pen marked bills, everyone uses local money (Yuan) and you need to exchange at each hotel you stay
Tipping is up to you and they will always appreciate it.
Chinese people speak little English..pretty impressive but be patient you might see it often even at the hotels.
Dont be surprised if Chinese people come to you and ask you to take a picture with you, they are so pleased to have you in their country.
NO FACEBOOK or YOUTUBE in China, the Chinese government restricted the access to those sites.
Hope this review is helpful to you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifemyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of China. Good large rooms comfortably furnished with nice bathrooms. Helpful staff on reception who would go the extra mile. All areas were very clean and well kept. The buffet breakfast was plentiful but cold. The beds as is common in China were very hard, firm mattress doesn't come close. All in all a good hotel but the cold food let's it down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlddearEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights through a Gate1 Travel tour. The location was okay. There was a convenience store right down the street. If you walked a few blocks, you could get to the Jian Temple Metro Station. One early morning, we took the subway 4 stops and made it to the Pearl Oriental TV tower. There is a really nice landscaped park near the hotel with rock caves, a small waterway and grassy areas for the kids.The actual hotel was fine. There is only wifi in the lobby and not a lot of places to sit. The front desk was very slow. We left to explore on our own the morning of our departure, and when we got back around 11:30, we were all locked out of our rooms. Then we had to wait in line for almost 15 minutes just to get our key cards reactivated. The buffet breakfasts were the worst we had in China during our trip. The food was mostly cold. I stuck with toast. My room was fine and generally pretty clean. The view wasn't anything spectacular, but fine for me. I thought it was interesting that they had gas masks and emergency flashlights in the closets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shyla M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

As the other reviews state, the location is ideal. That is where the advantages stop. Prostitutes great you at the lift, there is no wireless in rooms and the cable connection doesn't work (at least in my room), and press the wrong switch and you'll blow the circuit board leaving you in darkness.

Breakfast is very ordinary, with cold grissle masquerading as bacon, stale breads and overly ripe fruit. You pay an additional 113 RMB for the privilege, if it's not included in the room rate.

Overall, stay here for a few days to experience the beautiful French Concession, but choose another hotel if you are here any longer.

Room Tip: Face south for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
#526 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#228 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#55 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Former French Concession
Yan'an Hotel
Yan'an Hotel
#533 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#156 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel

Property: Shanghai Hotel
Address: No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanghai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing