We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East China Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #1,389 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and Fine”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, with lovely rooms and en-suites. We were quite high up which gave a fantastic view of Shanghai, but had the added advantage of being quite a way from the road with the relentless honking and beeping of horns, so we slept very well. There was a wide selection of both Chinese and Western food for breakfast, and we found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful. The internet was available in our room with a wired-in screen and keyboard, which we didn't find anywhere else, on our budget. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snooks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    39
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
10
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Good ,clean large sized hotel.....almost 150 rooms.Rooms are good size and very comfortable.with clean bathrooms......... Staff is very cordial and used to foreign visitors........i.e they can communicate in English......Internet available.
Located close to Shanghai north station but i had to catch a train from SHANGHAI SOUTH AND IT WAS QUITE FAR......otherwise located in a busy area..

For the price good enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirajkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
312 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I liked this place, and stayed there 5 times. Good staff, money exchange available at any time, nice restaurant ( dollar shop) on the 20th floor. They are close to the railway station and I always use it when leaving Shanghai by train. I could compare this hotel with other in the neighborhood and this one is much better

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed in this hotel with my friends (6 persons). We booked quite
expensive rooms. After spending a couple of hours in a room we began
to freeze. We tried to switch on air-conditioning for heating. Nothing
happened. We contacted the front desk and asked for heaters. They
didn't have heaters and told us that the air conditioner will not work
for several days. We asked what other variants they can offer us?
Receptionist said that there were other rooms with air conditioning
for heating, but they were simpler. The room was quite simple, but
completly normal. Reception was able to solve problems and propose
alternatives. The hotel did not have a gym, massage and spa center
despite the information from the Internet and brochures at the
reception. This - I think - is the drawback, people should not be misleading!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This is the filthiest, stinkiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I was forced to stay two nights because of the group I was with. They were the most miserable nights I have ever had in a hotel. The place is incredibly dirty, disgusting, and it reeks of urine and smoke. Please don't waste your money and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcbcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We were booked into this hotel by our travel / tour company out of Canada. We had requested a triple room as it was my husband, adult daughter and I that were travelling on a budget. We had also stipulated nothing more expensive than a three star hotel.
When we were shown our room, it contained two single beds but the manager assured us a cot would be provided. When it arrived, it didn't fit into the very small room and in fact while they tried forcing the cot into the corner, they tore some of their bedding and the two side chairs and small table had to be moved into the hall. They ended up pushing the one single bed over to try and make room only to discover the last vacuuming in the room had not taken place. In fact, it perhaps had never seen the vacuum.
Clumps of hair, dust bunnies, a bottle cap, several seeds (pumpkin?) and other small items of dirt and debris were present under the bed. At this point the manager called Housekeeping who showed up with a vacuum but that wasn't going to help the shower curtain black with mould or the heavily rusted tub. We insisted on another larger cleaner room.
The manager was adamant if we wanted a larger room we would have to pay for it and as for the dirt and run down appearance of the hotel, we had "booked a three star and that's what we were getting". Then the comedy started. He offered us a room with a queen bed saying there would be room for the cot except when we tried to leave this room, the door stuck and would not lock. He showed us to a third room, also with a queen bed but explained there was a wedding party booked into the rooms along this hall and it likely wouldn't be very quiet. We refused this room also. A fourth room also turned out to be next to another wedding party.
At this point, the three of us were yelling at this manager and his total ineptitude. The lady from housekeeping has been following us from floor to floor and room to room with her vacuum. The manager is on the phone again looking for another room when his foot shot out and stomped a cockroach. I was taking pictures of peeling wallpaper in the halls, cigarette butts on the carpet and missing light bulbs.
At last, he showed us to what he claimed was an upgraded room with a queen bed. The cot was on it's way. It appeared to be no bigger than any of the others we had seen and in fact, when questioned, he informed us it was the same size but there was wood paneling on the wall. The upgrade! The small table and one chair were piled under the desk and the second chair was removed from the room. Our six bags were literally stacked on top of each other and we lived like this for three nights.
When asked for a business card, he claimed he didn't have one but we did get one for the hotel. My husband is Chinese and in fact, has several family members living just outside Shanghai. Our return trips will not be booked into this hotel. We have also notified our tour company of our issues with this hotel. Hopefully, they won’t be booking any other travellers into this hotel either.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vkv01
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This is one of the fine Hotels in Shanghai. Nice location and near to Railway station.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,540 of 5,031 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#439 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Shanghai Railway Mansion Hotel
Shanghai Railway Mansion Hotel
#418 of 5,031 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changfeng Park
Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel
Jin Jiang Jin Sha Hotel
#1,993 of 5,031 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Huana Hotel (Style)
Huana Hotel (Style)
#208 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East China Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East China Hotel Shanghai

Property: East China Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.111 Tianmu West Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,389 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — East China Hotel Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your East China Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East China Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing