We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, not far from the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Century Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #1,231 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Oulunsalo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Affordable, not far from the city centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Best Western New Century is a business hotel not-so-far from the Shanghai city centre. By metro it's convenient to travel and even by foot it's only few miles from the centre. Hotel itself is not very new and you can see that from the room and overall amenities. Service is what you expect in China, some english and no willigness to serve if you don't act like chinese and show you're the boss. Unfortunately this is not very familiar for many westeners. Breakfast is quite Asian but also western visitors will find something for them too. Toilet in the room got blocked, but this is more as rule than exception in China from my experience.

Price could be lower for this hotel considering it needs really renovation. Internet in the room is through cable and is for a fee, 1 CNY/minute/max 100CNY/day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
14
10
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I recently concluded a 6-night stay at the New Century Hotel (Best Western), where myself and approximately 8 other people had a group booking as part of a study abroad course. The hotel is rated 4 star, but the accommodations I had in a private room at a hostel just the night before checking in here were far superior. I think that speaks volumes alone, but I'll add a few more highlights.

First of all, I shared a room with my husband, and our booking included breakfast... but apparently it was just for one person. For the price they were charging, I ended up eating McDonald's for breakfast, while my husband had the buffet. Another major complaint is that there is no WiFi (paid or otherwise) in the rooms, and the WiFi in the lobby is temperamental at best. Our booking was supposed to include 50% off of the wired internet in the room, but I had to fight to get this up until checking out. Other nitpicks about the hotel are that the beds were very uncomfortable and we ran out of toilet paper twice since they do not leave a spare (and do not change the rolls), the carpets and windows were flithy, the room was hot, and the room smelled.

On another note, one of my classmates had $500 USD taken from his room. The hotel used video cameras located outside his room to narrow it down to two staff members that entered the room, but both of them denied it. The only way to proceed was by filing a police report, but we have since left the hotel and I do not belive the matter was resolved.

The only real benefit to this hotel was its location nearby to the subway. Given the choice if staying in Shanghai again, I would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanieandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Book the hotel in the last seconds. It's now under the Bestwestern brand, which is supposed to be a high-end luxury 4 star hotel in Shanghai (BW also have a couple of 5 star hotels in China). The price is not bad but through a friend's company. Walk in price would be twice as much. The location is pretty good. It's located not right at the city center but 2-3 subway stops away. Itself is about 5 minutes walk to the Hailun Lu station for Line 4 & 10, a great advantage. Line 10 directly goes to the HongQiao airport.

The lobby is grand, like many other 4+ star hotels in China. The elevators are fast and higher floors have dedicated ones. The rooms are of good size including a regular sized bathroom. The room is pretty quite and the curtains keep the room dark even in the afternoon. The room is relatively clean except for the carpet, which is typical for Chinese hotels.

The breakfast is amazing. Definitely a 4+ star level buffet.

The good part ends here, unfortunately.

First, the internet is wired and cost 100 yuan/day, that's more than most US 5-star hotels rates.

Secondly, the beds and bedding are the worse than any 3+ star hotel in US, at least those I stayed.

Third: the gym opens at 10am and there's no pool.

The service is okay and its staff speaks good English. It also have shuttles goes to the subway station and a few other places nearby (I didn't use it).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We call before book the hotel online, ask room reservation if the price include the breakfast, they told us yes, when we checking in, the front desk also confirmed its included, tell us just show the key before breakfast.
When we go for breakfast next day, they told us that breakfast is not included, we ask the front desk, they said our room do not included breakfast, we have to pay for that. they do not care what the customer say, money seems is the most important. they have plenty of reasons.
Very poor service. Liar hotel.
Is that the BEST WESTERN HOTEL management?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAN_VIC729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocomoke City, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

The New Century Hotel was centrally located in the nothestern part of the city. Very easily reached from Metro Line #4 Hailun Rd. After getting off the subway use exit #7, hotel will be almost directly across the street on the left. Entrance to hotel is down Li Yang road. The hot buffet breakfast was great with eastern and western style food. There was an ATM in the lobby that exchanged virtually any type of currency into Chinese, with a fair exchange rate and no fee. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with everything a regular traveller would need. We had some difficulty paying with a Best Western Gift Card, but it all worked out. Some language barriers at front desk if you do not know Chinese, but they were most accommodating. Metro stop across the street made it easy to get anywhere in the city....cheaply, kiosks are in English.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lumbearjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Arrived at hotel in the evening and walked into the lobby through a cloud of smoke. The people at the counter could speak little to no English. I asked where breakfast was and was directed with a point of a figure. We went up to our room and two lightbulbs were out and the shower was super tiny. The bed was like a rock and the floors were dirty. The room has an overall mildwe smell. I attempted to log on to the internet, but had no success so I called downstairs and was told they could not help. Needless to say, I checked out within 30 minutes of check in. I have stayed in numerous 4 star hotels in China and this was by far not a 4 or 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

This hotel is not as cheap and the service is not good. They charge you to use their internet wifi and then they tell you it is 1 yuen per minute and when you want to stop using it they don't know how to deactivate it so they charge you as if you had used it the whole day.

Their English sucks and they are not able to help you.

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in CHINA!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfonsogmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Qipu Road
Puxi New Century Hotel Shanghai
Puxi New Century Hotel Shanghai
#2,374 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Hongkou
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
#74 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Hongkou
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Helen Road
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Helen Road
#402 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel Shanghai

Property: New Century Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.1111 Liyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#282 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Century Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Century Shanghai
Best Western Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing