We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is okay......Avoid the spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quanji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban
Ranked #1,353 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 5 May 2008

CHECK-IN: The whole process took quite fast. My company secretary booked this hotel for RMB488 per night.

ROOM: Above average for a 3-star hotel. Have all the amenities you needed. Disposable slipper, shoe shine, tooth brush, cotton bud, etc. Towels are clean. No complimentary bottled water but there is a water dispenser in the room. Overall, 4 out 5 for the room cleanliness.

INTERNET: No complimentary internet. They charge RMB50/24 hours. However, you can walk to the nearest internet cafe next door for RMB4 an hour. They allow you to use your own laptop.

LOCATION: Not too central. Located in Pudong, convenient for those who wants access to New Shanghai International Expo Center which is why I was there for anyway. There are MacDonalds, Pizza Hut, Noshinoya, etc 100meters away from the hotel. Intercontinental Pudong is right opposite the hotel.

BREAKFAST: Not included with the room and cost RMB38/person which I think it is a rip-off.

CONS:
1) There are construction works going on nearby, right in front of the hotel. The first night was a nightmare. Need earplugs to sleep. I check out and switched to Pudong Shangri-La on the third day (although I am supposed to stay here for 5 days).

2) SPA: Avoid it. It is a [--] brothel. I walked in and asked about the massage and prices. Instead of getting a response, I was directed to the shower area. Took shower, put on robe supplied by the spa and was directed to a room with a few foot-reflexology-looking chairs and a big plasma TV with no massage bed. I told the waiter who brought me drinks that I want body massage not foot reflexology. He do not seems to understand much English and a minute later the manager appeared and asked if it is my first time there. I said yes and he explained that the spa offers no massage service only SEX. I was ready to storm the hell out of that place and he keep insisting that I try their service. After attempting a few times, the manager finally gave up. I put back my own clothes and was all ready to leave that place. I was asked to pay RMB100 for the bloody shower which no one tells me that it cost RMB100. I put on a good show of arguement in the spa entrance which might have scared other guests away. So I finally throw a RMB50 bill and walk out of that place.

The hotel room is okay. The so called 'spa' makes me feel so disgusted that I have decided not to return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank biz_traveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2006

I stayed at the Changhang Merrylin Hotel from Jun 22 - Jun 31 2006 for a business trip accompanied by my wife. This is my second stay in this hotel. The first was in Nov 2005 for 3 nights. I was staying in the business room with attached free broadband. The room is rather spacious except for the air-conditioning which is emitting air instead of cool air. Some guests complained and it was fixed momentarily for a day and the situation was back to (ab)normal. The location is excellent for both business and leisure as it was in the middle of downtown Pudong where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. Access to Puxi by taxi is about RMB20 to Nanjing East Rd and about 20 mins (off-peak). The trip to Puding Int'e Airport is about 45 mins to 1 hr (depending on traffic) and costs RMB 130-140.

The waiters at the 22nd floor (breakfast buffet) is not customer-friendly and the spread is similar everyday. Be prepared to jostle with the local Chinese for food as this seems to be a popular hotel for them. There are also foreigners as well. This primarily is a business hotel. For exchange of currency, there is a Bank of China next to the hotel. Be prepared to queue for at least 45 mins and bring your passport. The hotel provides this facility (without the queue) and the rates are compariable with the bank. The nearest metro is about 10 mins walking distance (Dongchang Station). There will be a nearer station, Dongfang Station which is under construction and is expected to be ready by Oct 2006.

Inter-Continental is just opposite this hotel and there is a large well-organized mall selling computers and its accessories. There will be street vendors outside the hotel on the pedestrain pavement usually at about 5pm onwards. They sell intersting items. This trip, both my wide and I bought quite a number of artifacts from Tibeatans selling their ware - beads, combs made of goats' horns, etc. The rule of thumb is 30% of their asking price.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nicholastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank iypsuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 29 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Bodi Boutique Hotel
Bodi Boutique Hotel
#2,462 of 5,138 in Shanghai
81 reviews
Supreme Tower Hotel
#563 of 5,138 in Shanghai
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tong Mao Hotel
#396 of 5,138 in Shanghai
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quanji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quanji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban

Address: No.818 Zhangyang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200052, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,353 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quanji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Quanji Hotel Shanghai Lujiazui Babaiban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Changhang Merrylin Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing