We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hotel but a good one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Ranked #201 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
RTP, NC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Old hotel but a good one”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Historic old hotel location is close to the tourist areas but it's about a 20 min walk to the subway. Taxis are easy to get in front of the hotel. Restaurant in the hotel is not that great. Food places around the hotel range from fine dining to little local food stalls. A few blocks from the hotel is the Bund. Nanjing shopping area is about 20 min walk. Be careful of of your belongings when you r walking around. There r a lot of pushy people selling watches, bags, and massages very aggressive best is just not to acknowledge them. Also if students are overly friendly to you on the street and if they ask you to go to a tea ceremony beware! It's a scam! Overall an ok location and hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJB27540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    69
    48
    16
    11
See reviews for
19
20
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hotel was in a great location. Very convenient to ammenities and tourist locations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Hotel is Great. We stayed for 3 nights whilst in Shanghai for the F1, and it was very comfortable.

We arrived late (11pm) and the reception is open 24/7. The lady on reception was in the middle of an argument with a chinese customer. But this is what chinese people do so we didn't think twice about this. We were however concerned about waiting 15 mins to check-in, whilst they finished arguing. They had a Porter who took our luggage to our room for us which was delightful. He was professional and we could tell he had a lot of banter. However, we did have to wait whilst they erected the extra bed that we booked.

The Hotel and rooms are very clean, and the carpets looked less than a year old. The lifts worked perfectly. The bathroom was fine. The shower was great and had a great range of temperatures. The room included a flat-screen TV with chinese channels on.

I will run through the list of services mentioned on their website (http://www.metropolehotel-shanghai.com/facilties.html) and comment on them.

- Business Center, meeting facilties, Disabled facilties, faxing facilities, Health Center, Lobby (?!), Car Parking, Elevator (?!), Restaurant, Salon.

- Did not see a business center. Does have meeting rooms. Disabled access apart from the bar. You can fax. Their Health Center is a room where you can have a massage. Minimal parking at in front of hotel which was very busy. Salon is the same as massage room.

- The Restaurant is excellent. It is a very smart spacious room. We only used this for breakfast, which costs ~50 RMB extra. However the breakfast are awesome. They have everything. They have a guy just to make eggs in front of you.


The location is supreme. A couple of blocks away from The Bund which is the main attraction in Shanghai city center. The nearest station for the "World's largest" Shanghai Metro is about 10 mins away by foot.

A problem we encountered was one night the guests in the room next door were talking/shouting and playing loud music until about 1am.

Looking back another major problem was the fact that Wi-Fi was only gained at reception. They supposedly had high-speed bandwidth in the rooms at a price, but this was through cable and NOT wireless.

Overall we had a great comfortable time in the Shanghai metropole. I recommend it to others but bear in mind the restrictions (i.e. cannot attain bandwidth in rooms for iPads etc.).

There are two cheaper options nearby but they're not as nice.

Room Tip: Room 321 was great. Apparently the top floor room has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivelavinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was very worried about staying in this hotel after booking it and then reading the terrible Trip Advisor reviews (should read first/book after). Happily we found this hotel totally acceptable. The room was large and clean. We asked for a non-smoking room but the ashtray in the room clearly signified that we were given a smoking room, but it did not smell like smoke one bit. The carpeting throughout the hotel is new and smells fresh. The room's bathroom was large (with a bathtub/shower) with all the "free" stuff. The breakfast is a bit expensive, but you can eat enough to stay full for hours. We ate breakfast one day in a local coffee shop, and it was not that much cheaper and we were not stuffed.The location of the hotel is excellent- you can walk to most of the major Shanghai attractions. The front desk staff was bored and fairly useless, but we found that to be true in the 3 hotels we stayed in in China. The only nice and helpful front desk staff were the ones in the very fancy (5 star) hotels where we stopped to ask for directions a few times. Make sure you have the name of the Metropole Hotel written in Chinese because we found the taxi drivers had no clue where it was. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: our basic room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sufei10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The reason why you should book this hotel, is because it really is an old Shanghai Hotel!
Don't mind the new wannebees (like Waldor Astoria and so on) which will set you back about 3000-6000RMB per night and are really not worth it,,,but book the penthouse suite at the Metrpole! I think it was about 1000 RMB ( I know website may say more, but just ask for discount), and the room is just spectactular!!! Nice bed, very nice bathroom, super clean! And the terrace is just amazing!!!! I really think this is one of the best value hotels on the bund!
I've already stayed here for a few times,,and I still really like it! It's also a great location, next to great restaurants, shops and of course minutes away from the Bund! I would truly recommend this hotel! But spend a bit more to get a room on the top floors!

Breakfast in China is always a difficult thing! Sure you can spend money on e breakfast buffet,,but I would just recommend to go to Starbucks or Wagas for a quick bite.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Confortable hotel situated near the Bund, in a beautiful Art Deco building.
However the breakfast was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OpheliaAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and our blues band stayed at the Metropole Hotel in Shanghai for two nights in January 2011. The location is fantastic, placing you walking distance to The Bund, People's Square, Yuyuan Garden, and some of the best restaurants and nightclubs in Shanghai. In the same neighborhood as The Westin but at a lower cost.

It's a beautiful building preserved from the Art Deco period right by the police station. Granted, we found Shanghai to be a very safe city, but if you're overly concerned, know that help is right around the corner. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms with hot showers, tvs in the room, and room service.

Most of the Front Desk Staff spoke enough basic English to assist us with our questions, since our broken Mandarin just wasn't up to snuff yet. The daily free breakfast buffett was a great way to start our Shanghai stay and included both Western and Eastern staples.

On the same block is the House of Blues and Jazz (fantastic live music 7 days a week), Grandmother (one of our favorite low cost Chinese restaurants with a huge menu that's in English and Mandarin), and the Captain Hostel (nice coffee bar, Western brunch on the weekends, and late night bar).

If you're looking very 5 star spas and multiple hotel restaurant options, this isn't the spot for you. But if you're looking for an affordable, nice spot in a great neighborhood that is accessible to many tourist spots and shopping, Metropole is a great option.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackbettyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#381 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#617 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#42 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle

Property: JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Address: No.180 Jiangxi Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Formerly 新城饭店)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#198 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN again! This beautiful art deco hotel opened in 1934 designed by the famous Palmer & Turner and developed by Victor Sassoon as sister to the Cathay (Peace): we are so excited to announce its rebirth, reborn and reopen again after the massive renovation by Hirsch Bedner Associates. This iconic & historic Metropole hotel opens as the flag ship of the new Jinjiang MetroPolo mid-scale Hotel brand (already 40+ in China). This hotel is in our "Classiq" series meaning both boutique & historic along with 7 others open in the Shanghai chain. Location: almost perfect for shopping, culture, site seeing and entertainment. 14 floors, 126 chic modern art deco rooms: 8 elegant suites: 2 terrace suites with Pudong skyline views. Do I hear you say party? The brands signature plush bedding features fresh white duvets & crisp linens. Sleep deep-work smart. Shanghai Garden Restaurant serving local cuisine. EVES lobby bar with international nibbles and a full bar of adult beverages to relax. A couple of small meeting rooms; a fitness center inside the iconic & infamous American Bar of old to recharge. Eats-meats-west-buffet-breakfast to revive; FREE Evening Social at the back of ground floor restaurant daily to rekindle Afternoon Tea, lunch & dinner to refresh. Attentive staff-distinctive decor-delight your senses-inspire your imagination. Artists for life-your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing