We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired historic hotel by the Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Ranked #133 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We chose the J.J. Metropole Hotel mostly because of its location and stayed there for 8 nights (check-in: July, 6 2013). This historic hotel (1930s architecture) is located at the junction of Fuzhou and Jiangxi Roads and is a 5-minute walk from The Bund and the shopping belt of Nanjing Road. People's Square is a 20-minute walk away, East Nanjing Road metro station is a 10-minute walk away.

The hotel is a piece of history and part of heritage trail in modern Shanghai. It was built in 1930 by Mr Saxon, the chairman of the Jewish Federation, as a birthday present for his favorite daughter. The Art Deco Lobby exudes old-world charm with gilded spiral stairs; original, intricately carved pillars; and a revolving lobby door. A few original lamps from the 1930s and several ornately carved pillars are from the original architecture.

No doubt the Hotel “first-impression” areas, Lobby and Lobby Bar, are really “impressive”. But don't be fooled by first impression it goes downhill when you get out of the lifts on allocated floor! Hotel’s website and poster advertisements say that “guestrooms come in a variety of styles including some with Victorian décor (!) and others with teak furnishings”. Our Standard Twin Room # 414 on the fourth floor, with view over the next building wall, was very dated and a bit crappy: carpeting old and stained; furniture almost threadbare; the beds rather hard. It looks like nobody pay attention to customer’s requests: we asked for the standard double room (with “no smoking” option) and somehow got standard twin room (with ashtray on the table). I am aware that hotel advertising is a highly competitive area, as every hotel wants to capture the attention (and the money) of leisure travelers but it must be at least truthful and non-deceptive.

Honestly the J.J. Metropole Hotel reminded me the hotel service in my own country in post-Soviet period. The staff is not smiling at all… and problem is not because they barely speak English. Whenever you talk to them and ask them it makes you feel like you interrupt them from doing some “extremely important” task. It’s obvious… smiling, happy staff is one of management's most important assets in the hospitality industry. Excellent communication is a vital issue…, because customers are paying not only for the product – the food, the room or the facilities – they are also paying for the service. And service is just as much about communication as it is about skill…

To be fair house-keeping is good and rooms are featuring all necessary amenities like air-conditioning, TVs, freezer mini-bar. There are tea/coffee facilities. Complimentary Internet is evaluable in the ground floor, and additional surcharge applies for high-speed Internet access for use in the room.

A credit card is required to secure your reservation and during check in full deposit will be charged (!). This is standard operation procedure for majority hotels in China.

One thing is true for this hotel; it represents value for money and one of the cheapest in Huangpu District. We paid 2,569.60 Chinese Yuan ( = US$420.00) for 8 nights including service charge (10%). So, “if you are just looking for a bed to sleep in so you can maximise your shopping and sight-seeing it will do the job”…

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel/hostel was clean and had a frig in the room the bathroom was neat and clean I think they provided toothbrushes and paste for us there was also coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast was available down stairs in the lobby for fee we did not like it. It had eggs,bacon, toast,breads,few other items. We found this hotel close to everything metro and the river. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank mbg-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After having a few problems with our hotel in Beijing we had very sceptic thoughts about cheap Chinese hotels. But we found this hotel to be very good standard for the price we have paid. Good size room with fantastic air-con and a fridge. Smooth and efficient check in and check out. Staff at the reception responded promptly to all requests and questions. To my surprise they spoke good English, contrary to some other reviews on here. Hotel located close to metro line and you can see the Bund from the window. Can't comment on food and drinks as we didn't have time to have breakfast, diner or drink at the bar.
The only complaints are: carpet in the room a little bit worn and the internet facility not available 24h (only 8am-8pm) and they charge 10 rmb for 30 minutes of internet (or something lie that).
Overall great stay and hotel recommended for short cheap stay! Enjoy Shanghai!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What can I say about the Metropole. Well it's a very expensive bog standard 3 star hotel for which they charge £68.00 (roughly) per night in a standard room. Rooms are clean enough and hallways etc are well kept, however, definitely not worth the amount charged on the door. The service isn't brilliant and there aren't too many staff that speak basic English so if you need help your probably better going to a brand hotel ( I did and help was at hand very easily). Overall pleasant enough stay based on the £20 I paid but if I was to pay anymore I would have been extremely disappointed. The saving grace for the hotel is its location everything you need for Shanghai is within 1 km. hope this review helps :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The location close to the Bund is the biggest plus. The superior twin room was spacious but a bit dated. Despite of the central location there was no problem with noise. Check-in and check-out were quick but not really friendly. I can recommend the hotel and would also stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_on_2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is not a luxury hotel but it is excellently located and priced at about 1/3 the cost of similarly located, more up-market hotels. We stayed 3 nights at a room on the 9th floor. The package included breakfast, hard wired internet and a fruitjuice/soft drink complimentary minibar. The room was clean and well appointed with excellent lighting and a small but adequate bathroom with good hot water, nice new, clean linen and plenty of good quality toiletries. Breakfast was average, but if you stuck to cereal/eggs/bacon/toast ypu could start your day very nicely. Staff were friendly, tho the usual shy, nervous attitude of local staff had to be overcome with some friendly greetings and conversation. We arranged a taxi to the A/P and got a very nice , clean taxi with an excellent driver. For the budget traveller, with reasonable expectations, the Metropole is the genuine article, I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher quality rooms on the upper floors appear to offer good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Been there for a week. The hotel have 2 advantages: nice look from outside and central location.
Rooms are big, but very dated and not clean. Beds are rock hard as every place in China.
Cleaning is limited. No wi-wi in rooms. Service is not friendly.
Bund is close by as well as a shopping street Nanjing don lu

Will not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#389 of 5,146 in Shanghai
47 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,146 in Shanghai
847 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle

Address: No.180 Jiangxi Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Formerly 新城饭店)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#130 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £80 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN again! This beautiful art deco hotel opened in 1934 designed by the famous Palmer & Turner and developed by Victor Sassoon as sister to the Cathay (Peace): we are so excited to announce its rebirth, reborn and reopen again after the massive renovation by Hirsch Bedner Associates. This iconic & historic Metropole hotel opens as the flag ship of the new Jinjiang MetroPolo mid-scale Hotel brand (already 40+ in China). This hotel is in our "Classiq" series meaning both boutique & historic along with 7 others open in the Shanghai chain. Location: almost perfect for shopping, culture, site seeing and entertainment. 14 floors, 126 chic modern art deco rooms: 8 elegant suites: 2 terrace suites with Pudong skyline views. Do I hear you say party? The brands signature plush bedding features fresh white duvets & crisp linens. Sleep deep-work smart. Shanghai Garden Restaurant serving local cuisine. EVES lobby bar with international nibbles and a full bar of adult beverages to relax. A couple of small meeting rooms; a fitness center inside the iconic & infamous American Bar of old to recharge. Eats-meats-west-buffet-breakfast to revive; FREE Evening Social at the back of ground floor restaurant daily to rekindle Afternoon Tea, lunch & dinner to refresh. Attentive staff-distinctive decor-delight your senses-inspire your imagination. Artists for life-your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing