We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is; a serviced apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a good place to spend a weekend in Shanghai, close to most sights and in walk distance (15-20 min) to the Bund in terms of value for money.
The rooms are basic, clean. Airconditioning made a lot of sound and kept us awake some parts of the night. Language barrier is present and one day we were called early in the morning (5AM) by the reception about some alarm, but really there was nothing. Very spacious, because it's an apartment and not just a room.

If you just sleep in your hotel, need a cheap bed and clean shower but want to be close to everything this is your bet!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Chubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friends and I stayed here for two weeks and highly recommend the apartments . As other reviews have stated, excellent location and easy to get to many of the interesting areas of Shanghai. Our two bedroom apartment was roomy, cleaned adequately every day suited us well. We did not eat at the hotel as we found many great inexpensive places to eat near by. There is an ATM as well as a Currency Converter in the lobby which was great. Not necessary to go to a bank at all. Staff at reception were always very helpful with good English. Kitchen did have bare minimum utensils but we made do. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you a better view. Ask for a room on the side of the building that gives you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NaiNai38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Air conditions are not turn on at hallway when temp is very hot. Steam/Sauna room are not turn on when you need it. Windows are very dirty.
Employees are pleasant and helpful. Wifi is good, location is fine

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Phdai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had four rooms at New Harbour last week. All was well until one of the rooms just about knocked you out from the smell of smoke. We left the door open while one of us went down to the desk for a new room. The smell then proceeded to fill the entire hall and area near the elevators. They were promptly given a new room that was not cleaned either, but they did get it ready quickly. We all had 3 one bdrm one two bdrm and each one was different. Set up different with furniture and layout. I had the only room with a tv in the bdrm which suited me perfectly. There were ash trays at each elevator and there were usually butts in them.

We had dinner at the hotel all but one night and were satisfied with the food. Except one night though there was smoke entering from somewhere, thank goodness we were just about finished.
We also had breakfast each morning, which was good. They will prepare eggs for you anyway you want them. And there is a nice assortment of western and chinese dishes. One thing that was strange was only one breakfast was included with the room. So, if you were a couple only one had a paid breakfast. Never have seen a set up like that before. There is a cute very tiny bar in the hotel as well. My room was quite clean and good quiet location.
Beds were comfortable with a good wifi connection. But don't expect to get access to all the normal sites. Your not allowed to get on fb, and I had trouble on and off with yahoo. I was able to use my Skype however.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hi y'all! What a great place to stay in Shanghai - top location within a few minutes walking time to the Bund, perfect access to the tube. A walk to people square and Nanjing Lu (Road) is a short affair and there are plenty of eateries in your neighborhood. Specifically I recommend the apartments for their cleanliness and proper equipment: TV 's, washing machine, good beds. What else do you need at prices that are really not high end hotel prices. Try for an apartment above the 20th floor and enjoy the views!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SoulmanJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

With any serviced apartment, we weren't expecting much. We had booked this place on our first visit to China. My husband and I were travelling with my mum, so we booked the 2 bedroom apartment.

We stayed for 9 days, 8 nights.


Location:
We had a fantastic view of the Bund, and on clear days and nights, we could see the "I Love Shanghai" lights from across the harbour.
Hotel was found by taxi drivers easily. We caught a cab to the hotel from the main station from Airport.
We then used the Shanghai metro to go everywhere for the rest of the stay. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Da Shi Jie station. It is 5 mins walk from ShineSun plaza, which is where you go for all your electronic devices. It is also 10-15 mins walk to Bi Fen Tang restaurant, which was great value food.
From Da Shi Jie, you can catch the metro anywhere - People's Square, Airport, Bund (east Nanjing Road) or French Quarter (Xin Tian Di). Get the 3 day pass, download the Shanghai metro app on your smartphone and go.
We found the Serviced Apartments was in the non-touristy part....with older 1930s courtyard compound houses, and way from the Bund, so we got to see some local markets in the mornings and evenings. We wandered to explore the area, and were not disappointed in the location. Close enough to the Bund without having to pay silly prices and still get to see what's left of OLD Shanghai....I strongly suggest taking the time to explore this area. Don't know if it's all going to change in the next few years.


Service:
Staff weren't "professionally trained" - no forced smiles, but they were helpful, prompt and did do their best to help. Rooms were very very clean.

Amenities:
Better than I expected - the pool and gym are fantastically maintained, very clean, and felt more like a country club than a typical Western idea of serviced apartment. The ladies change rooms were more luxurious than I expected - with spa baths, steam room, separate showers, lockers. It was similar to a 5 star day spa I've visited in the Hunter Valley (Australian wine region) rather than a serviced apartment.

Food:
Had breakfast everyday - wasn't bored once. They don't have barista coffee, but filtered coffee. Still, quality of food was great. Didn't expect this of a serviced apartment - I had thought we'd only get milk, cereal and toast, but they offered cooked eggs, congee, fruit platter, salad, meat, cheese, cakes/ pastries, variety of noodle/ rice/ bacon/ sausages and rotated the menu - was a really nice surprise.

Book this place to get some hotel amenities, service, food, and still get to wander to take in local Shanghai.

Room Tip: The higher the better - you will get great views and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sydneypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with family. I couldn’t fault the room, it was very comfortable and we could have stayed longer. 2 bedroom with lounge, small kitchen, HBO channel to watch some movies, very clean and a great view from the 26th (2603) floor looking towards the museum and Peoples Square. AC units were the best we found during our visits to China and the wi-fi was faultless. Laundry on the 3rd floor was most convenient. Serviced daily without a hassle and checkin and checkout were also hassle free as they did speak a little english. Close proximity to Shanghais attractions and if you ventured further afield Taxis were very cheap, just don’t get ripped off by rogue taxi drivers (they are a minority). We paid $150 AU per night through Wotif and I was more than happy with what we received.
The only negative was that if you wanted western utensils, you had to hire them and the breakfasts were ridiculously overpriced at 88RMB pp. We ate at the many places along the streets. Had 1 nights dinner in the restaurant which was ok, not the best chinese cuisine but very convenient. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again or recommend to others

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for some great views of Shanghai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#62 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 348 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range: £66 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing