We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Harbour spacious and good value for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“New Harbour spacious and good value for families”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the New Harbour serviced apartment for 4 nights. It was initially difficult to find but was very centrally located and we walked everywhere from there. The apartment was basic but perfect for a family, spacious and clean. It was very well priced. We didn't pay for the included breakfast which didn't seem to be good value. There was an ATM in the foyer which is handy. the pool area was not glamorous but fine for a quick swim. I would most certainly stay here if I was to return to Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comosapian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    354
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
275
74
37
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Had been to shanghai for a business expo in june and was staying in a 3 bed apartment at new harbour for 4 nights.

First views is that the hotel is centrally located. Walking distance to nanjing street and very close to the bund and other attractions.
The reception area is not all that welcoming but the presence of a auto money changer in the lobby is a boon for international travellers.

The room in itself is superb ,welcoming, simple ,cozy and having all modern amenities needed for a traveller. A nice pantry with gas ,huge refrigirator,microwave and others.

The hotel gives free wifi connections but it does break signals giving to a time consuming use of the same.

The breakfast table is set with medium to basic requirement food in the continental and chinese dishes which is a let down. But the quality of whatever is served is good.

There are 2 department stores bang opposite both the gates of the hotel which is a added benefit.

The housekeeping is terrific and the apartment is really taken care of very well.

The only grouse is that the people who manage the reception area are dull ,slow and seem not interested in helping any one. Also getting them to find or call a taxi can be a long affair,so it is better to walk a minute to the intersection and find one yourself.

All this being said the apartment rooms are worth staying in if you have a family or friends and dont want to stay in different rooms of a hotel. And who want to enjoy the comfort of their homes at a foreign city.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank akshaye a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

True value for money , close to Nanjing Lu , The Bund n walking distance to many attractions .
I had booked 3 bedroom apartment but was given 2 separate apartments . I stayed there for 5 nights but the rude lady manager bluntly told me that 3 bedroom apartment was not avaiable for the entire stay.
The staff at the reception has no clue about any sightseeing of Shanghai . They are really lazy n they won't help you in arranging any kind of trip for you.
House keeping staff is good .
No utensils in kitchen , if you need them you have to pay extra .
Overall apartments are really clean n modern with all facilities like swimming pool , steam ,sauna etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vs_1498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice. The start & end of our time in China. The first time we were "upgraded" to the 28th floor in a two bedroom apartment with a roll away bed, not a three bedroom apartment like we booked. The apartment was spacious, clean, had great views & had a washing machine. The kitchen had very little in the way of utensils, however we never cooked, just used the fridge. The only real issue was that one of the showers was slow to drain. The breakfast is OK, not amazing but has both Western & Chinese food which are good to start the day with. On our return to the hotel at the end of the trip we were again unable to get a three bedroom apartment. We were on floor six in two separate apartments. Near each other. This rooms were vastly different. Clean, but very basic & no where near as nice as the upper level apartments. There was no washing machine. It was just a room, luckily only for one night. The pool area is disappointing. You have to have caps to swim & walk through a pool of milky white water to clean your feet before you swim. Once that is done you can swim. Our children found the pool water very cold, I don't think it was heated at all. The location of the hotel is great. Not to far from the Bund if you like to walk. Cabs did find it difficult to find. For the price you pay it is pretty much as expected.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment that are on higher levels, these apartments are far more modern & better eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaquic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel well located, spacious and clean apartment. It has indoor pool on the 2nd floor. Free Wifi

For 4-star apartment falls short on several levels: the rooms decor is very basic; have a sauna and Turkish bath, but for some reason only works from 15h, the room service did not have good quality, on arrival we made check in with an employee, name "Linc" he received us in an unsympathetic way, but it was 2 am and we thought it was the late hour; on the last day, when we check-out, and we went to pay, we asked the employee who attend us, "William" if we could each pay our share, he responded affirmatively. Divided by 7 the value and took a number ending in 60. I paid my part and when I was paying for one of my friends appeared "Linc" and began yelling at "William" and point to the paper where were the values, then started yelling and telling us that we could not pay the amount in cents, a strange thing ... he was very rude, has lack of education and respect for customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just back from six nights here. We decided to book on Trip Advisor reviews.
This apartment is very easy to get to from Pudong airport...line 2 to People Square( or a ride on the Maglev to speed up the process) then change to line 8 and go one stop to Dashijie and take exit 2
Go left and cross one street, at the second go left again and you will see the apartments well lit sign just a few metres down on left. We took a taxi from Pudong...about 170 rmb.

My only complaint was the huge amount that was taken as a security deposit, as stated in previous reviews. The check in person seemed to be new or a little unsure...in the end he debited 8,000 rmb...the whole six night of our stay was under 7,000.
Also they are non negotiable with late check out unless you pay half a day. We asked for just three extra hours but were not able to sweet talk them in to it. I have not had this trouble in other shanghai accom.

The room was very comfy, complimentary water was replenished each day, as were towels etc.
We had a great view looking down to Bund and city lights.

I wouls stay here again for the location.

Room Tip: We didn't do breakfast, lots of coffee and bakery shops close by and we got hooked on almond cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pomperlaryjig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice serviced apartments, we stayed 3 nights in a 3 bedroom suite and had nothing to complain about. Staff was nice, the people from the front office speak English.
Basic stuff in the kitchen (plates, bowls, chopsticks, cups) If you need anything else, you have to rent it (2 RMB for items like spoons or knives) which seems a bit strange in a serviced property.
The apartment was clean and comfortable. The location is very convenient : close to a subway station, the Museum, the Bund ... and there are several shops around.
Very good stay.

Room Tip: We asked for an apartment on a high floor and enjoyed great views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-S Beijing Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#60 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Property: New Harbour Service Apartments
Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 318 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing