We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Harbour Service Apartments
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We are an extended family of 5, ages 18-58. We stayed here 6 nights and were very pleased. This is a great value in the Puxi district of Shanghai. It's a short walk to the Dashijie subway Station. We had a 3-bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms. One bedroom had a king bed, one had a double bed and the 3rd had a twin bed. This is not luxurious but is very clean and spacious. The employees are friendly and helpful. If the person helping us could not speak English, he/she got someone else. There is a small grocery store across the street which was great for buying bottled water and snacks. Three breakfast passes were part of the deal but we bought two others for each morning. We enjoyed the breakfast and thought it was very handy. Breakfast is a buffet with both western and Chinese breakfast items. As to other meals at the restaurant, I would not bother. We had a dinner here that was very mediocre. There are many restaurants in the surrounding neighborhood. There is a business center in the hotel that has an Internet computer which costs 20 yuan for 1/2 hour. There is also an internet cafe a couple of blocks away but we didn't try it. Be sure to get some business cards at the front desk with the name printed in Chinese so that your taxi can get you back. This location is close to the People's Square. As a group, we enjoyed having the living room rather than just the typical hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyChampaignIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    342
    72
    22
    13
See reviews for
260
72
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

I live in Nanjing and get into Shanghai often for business and sometimes with family. I originally found this when looking for a hotel that could fit a family of four which is hard in China. The apartments with multiple bedrooms are great. Children and parents can get some good rest. Since then I have been using it for business travel. It's a solid value in a great location other then being hard to find. Highly recommend it for business and family travel. If you log onto their site you can get a member's discount too and an easy way to track reservations.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

we were two adults and an 11 year old boy and this hotel / serviced apartments were great. They had the usual "no utensils / no cooking stuff" in apartments but the space and the layout of the apartments were good.
service: on a number of occassions the staff really excelled and helped us in not just booking rail tickets but in returning lost tickets, getting refunds, holding travel bags, phoning us when deliveries were made etc.
the place is in the 'thick of it' but remains quite quiet so you can get a good nights sleep and retreat.

I chose this place because i noticed an absence of bad reviews - now i know why.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mareew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

We wanted to stay 1 week in Shanghai and were looking for good accomodation on a good location (near Bund/Nanjing Road or close to subway). And we found it all in New Harbour Service Appartments, also because of the good comments on this site.
We had an appartment on the 15th floor with nice views on Renmin square and the streets of the neighbourhood.

The rooms were spacious and very convenient. The kitchen indeed hasn't got any utensils, but you can rent them or you can buy them at the store across the street. There were also 2 TV's, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The bathroom was a little bit old, but worked perferctly and was clean.
We didn't include breakfast in our booking, but there are several good bakeries in the surrounding area, so you can have fresh croissants for breakfast if you want!

It takes you about 15min to walk towards the Bund, although a taxi is very cheap 11 RMB. In 5-10 min you are at Nanjing Road and or Renminsquare. Also French Concession is on walking distance and for further destinations you walk to the metro. Also very cheap to get around!

Internet (if you don't bring your own laptop etc) on the 2nd floor is very expensive (20 RMB per 30 min) and it is also slow. You can find a good internet cafe at the corner with 2 RMB per hour (don't forget to bring your passport for registration).

After our week long stay in Shanghai we travelled to other spots but returned to this hotel for our last night. We booked a smaller room, there was no kitchen and the living room was significant smaller. But for a last day it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

The hotel was very clean and spacious. We had a suite all to ourselves and the price was great. 2 bedrooms, kitchen, large living room and washrooms. The caf was not the best but then again it was more of a hotel to relax at while we saw the sights inn Shanghai. A great place to come back home to rest. The general area is a bit crummy but most of Shanghai is like that to be honest. Hotel staff were very helpful with hailing cabs and giving them instructions on where we wanted to get to.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank expat247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
606 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

With Shanghai booming, accommodation can be expensive in this city; the New Harbour Serviced Apartments offer a sensible alternative. I had been just a little concerned by previous comments about the surrounding area and what looked like confirmation of that from traveller's photographs. However, it just goes to show that appearances can be deceptive!

From check-in through waiting staff, cleaners and concierges, all employees are friendly and approachable. The standard of English from the waiting staff was particularly good. On the downside, it must be more than one mile to The Bund - but what a disappoinment that venue was! The Pearl TV Tower across the river - and many other buildings - were wreathed in industrial smog!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at the New Harbour for one month with our 4 year old son. The rooms were spotlessly clean - don't let the people who say don't tip in China fool you - I gave about 20RMB (USD 2.50)each week and always had my dishes washed (there's a full kitchen) clean towels, irons etc.

There is a full laundry room onsite, you can do it yourself or the hotel will do it very cheaply.

There is a clean good sized pool and they let the kids play with frowning at them.

The staff was kind and attentive. Room service food was average but inexpensive and when you are dealing with time change it is a big bonus.

The neighborhood is awesome. Everything is within an easy walk, Yuyuan Gardens, People's Park, Starbucks and a grocery nearby with every item you loved from home - we got Golden Grahams, Aunt Jemima, organic fruits & veggies- you name it (in Times Square) as well as a market with live frogs, chickens and snakes. As far as old neighorhood and falling down housing, it's China not NY, there is a huge mix of older housing and brand new skyscrapers. Street vendors and upscale restaurants both flourish. It's eclectic not scary.

The people are kind and wonderful and interested in you.

Go before the whole city is torn down and redeveloped.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Going_with_Teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Property: New Harbour Service Apartments
Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 293 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing