We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel...”
Review of Baoan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baoan Hotel
Ranked #361 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at the Baoan hotel last week for business. The rooms were large and comfortable with very good views of the surrounding area. The bathroom was good size and there was a safe. For English speakers, there were several movie stations on the tv, plus CNN to keep up with the news. Unfortunately, I didn't get out much to see the neighborhood, but from what little I saw, it was very nice with a small park nearby. I did use the train station which is VERY convenient as four different train lines converge at this location, with trains taking you everywhere, including the airport. There is a Burger King across the street for a quick meal if needed. We had breakfast there one morning and they serve the same menu for breakfast and dinner.

As everyone else has said, the price is what brings people to the hotel but it was a nice place, near good transportation so I will stay again.

The only issue I had was during checkout. After I checked out, someone came up to me and said some wine had been drunk from a bottle in the mini bar. I told them honestly I hadn't been in the mini bar and really don't like wine anyway. I suggested that the person in the room before me had taken the drink. I was told this was impossible as the room is checked after every guest. I told him I was sorry about that, but it wasn't me who took the wine. That ended the discussion but I got the impression I was not believed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel has a very good location - if you are not turist but business man. The new exhibition center, Maglev station, Metro, shopping mall - all are nearby.
The hotel is not brand new, the furnitures, all the equipments are old, but good quality. The staff just OK, not very kind, anyway, acceptable.
The internet works only with wire (no wifi), i think in 2013 this is not respectable.
The breakfast is Chinese, no any international foods.
What can be the reason to choose this hotel? Location, and resonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get promotional price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterKulimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is average but the price is reasonable for Shanghai and most importantly the location is ideal if you need to be in Pudong area. Don't expect a particularly good service or room, select this hotel based on your budget and the area you need to visit in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Good location - a 5 minute walk from the Metro line that services Pudong airport and Nanjing Road. Lots of eateries around in the shopping centre across the street. Room was fine - not overly fancy - but we didn't pay fancy prices either. Could have used free internet though.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mlarsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Good & clean hotel nearby a shopping center with several restaurants. 10 mins taxi away fm Pudog - Lujiazui. Quality/Price excellent.On average staff gentle & kind. Spent there 10 days . i was on a biz trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SciarraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, nice lication, close to Pudong Airport (about 40km), not very efficient staff so chech-out takes time. I recommend for bussiness travel. Also price is not very high for center ofShanghai.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NViorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have stayed for 4 nights in this 4 star hotel at a very good rate. It was my first time in China so I can't compare it to other hotels in Shanghai. However, for my standards, it is a very decent hotel, clean at a very good location. Room had a medium size, with a basic mini bar a good selection of tv channels. Wifi was not available in the room, but you could connect via an ethernet connection. So not so bad anyway. At the loby area you could have wifi for devices like mobiles and tablets. The personel was very polite and with good english skills.

The breakfast was also quite basic. Not a big variety, however the fact that you could had scrumbled egges station was good.The hotel has a small gym, a sauna facility and a Karaoke bar. You can reach the "Bund" by walking but make sure it is not a very hot and humid day because it is about 45 minutes away.

Across the street there is a big mall with many restaurants and that is very convenient. You can find local cuisine, korean, japanese, western even burger king and Costa Cofee.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baoan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoan Hotel

Address: No.800 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#105 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#123 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#217 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#248 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £44 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baoan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baoan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoan Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing