We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Excellent location in Pudong”
Review of Baoan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baoan Hotel
Ranked #238 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have been staying in this Hotel since 8 years now almost every month and the only thing good about this Hotel is Big & Clean rooms and its excellent location in Pudong. Usually if you stay anywhere else in Pudong, it gets dark after office hours and eating out becomes a problem. The best restaurants are around this Hotel at a minutes walk ranging from Sushi to Sichuan, Guangzhou, Hunan and Ningbo food. A Mall is just across the street offering variety of restaurants and I have tried all of them offering great food. However, don't expect In-room dining in this Hotel as they hardly offer anything. The staff were quite rude in the beginning but over the years I have seen them improve with their attitude. Overall, the Hotel has a very good location in Pudong with minutes walking access to all Malls & some of Best Restaurants in Shanghai including the famous 24 hour open `Hai Di Lao' Hotpot.

Room Tip: Get a Feature Business room at a little higher cost with bigger rooms and if you are a Non-smoker, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SS0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Located near the maim business area of Pudong, Shanghai, this hotel is the ideal stop for the official traveler. It was a nice experience even though the language was a problem like in the rest of the city.
There was some renovation going on, so the hotel had tied up with a restaurant in the same building for breakfast, which was included in the package.
For those who do not speak Chinese, interacting with the locals is a big issue, but I managed in the hotel easily thanks to the translator app on my Windows Phone, and the free Wi-Fi provided by the hotel! The internet in the rooms was on a paid basis, so I spent most of my after business hours in the hotel lobby with my laptop.
The staff are friendly, and try to help, as much as is possible with such severe language restrictions.
Getting around in Shanghai is the best part. There are two international airports in the city, both well connected by all modes of transport. The best was the MAGLEV which zoomed into the airport at 430 kilometers per hour, taking only 10 minutes to cover the 35 kilometer distance.
The Maglev station is in the same complex as the metro station, and the nearest metro station from the hotel was a short walk away on line 2. The Maglev tickets are subsidized, and if you are arriving or leaving from Pudong International Airport on the same day as the date of travel on the Maglev, then there is a further discount. Most locals are not even aware of this extra discount which is available when you produce your boarding card of that day!
The restaurant with which the hotel had tied up was nice, with regular changes in the breakfast menu. The only pain was that we had to get ready first and then go there for breakfast on the way to work.
The hotel accepts all cards, though they ask for a full advance to be deposited with them upfront. Their machine had the option of making the payment in USD or in INR (the currency of your country), which is an added benefit. They also have a cash dispenser in their lobby, for those who require to withdraw cash, or need to covert their currency.
The rooms are neat and functional, with a spacious bathroom. There is no view out of the windows, though, since it is surrounded on three sides by taller buildings.

Room Tip: Roooms facing the front side of the hotel have a better view than the other rooms. Higher floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarnieChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at the Baoan hotel last week for business. The rooms were large and comfortable with very good views of the surrounding area. The bathroom was good size and there was a safe. For English speakers, there were several movie stations on the tv, plus CNN to keep up with the news. Unfortunately, I didn't get out much to see the neighborhood, but from what little I saw, it was very nice with a small park nearby. I did use the train station which is VERY convenient as four different train lines converge at this location, with trains taking you everywhere, including the airport. There is a Burger King across the street for a quick meal if needed. We had breakfast there one morning and they serve the same menu for breakfast and dinner.

As everyone else has said, the price is what brings people to the hotel but it was a nice place, near good transportation so I will stay again.

The only issue I had was during checkout. After I checked out, someone came up to me and said some wine had been drunk from a bottle in the mini bar. I told them honestly I hadn't been in the mini bar and really don't like wine anyway. I suggested that the person in the room before me had taken the drink. I was told this was impossible as the room is checked after every guest. I told him I was sorry about that, but it wasn't me who took the wine. That ended the discussion but I got the impression I was not believed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel has a very good location - if you are not turist but business man. The new exhibition center, Maglev station, Metro, shopping mall - all are nearby.
The hotel is not brand new, the furnitures, all the equipments are old, but good quality. The staff just OK, not very kind, anyway, acceptable.
The internet works only with wire (no wifi), i think in 2013 this is not respectable.
The breakfast is Chinese, no any international foods.
What can be the reason to choose this hotel? Location, and resonable price.

Room Tip: Try to get promotional price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterKulimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is average but the price is reasonable for Shanghai and most importantly the location is ideal if you need to be in Pudong area. Don't expect a particularly good service or room, select this hotel based on your budget and the area you need to visit in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Good location - a 5 minute walk from the Metro line that services Pudong airport and Nanjing Road. Lots of eateries around in the shopping centre across the street. Room was fine - not overly fancy - but we didn't pay fancy prices either. Could have used free internet though.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mlarsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Good & clean hotel nearby a shopping center with several restaurants. 10 mins taxi away fm Pudog - Lujiazui. Quality/Price excellent.On average staff gentle & kind. Spent there 10 days . i was on a biz trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SciarraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#42 of 5,206 in Shanghai
647 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baoan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoan Hotel

Address: No.800 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#96 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#123 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#198 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#232 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £51 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baoan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baoan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoan Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing