We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pravo Shanghai
Ranked #548 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here 2 years ago and it has gone downhill since. Service poor and it took a long time to check in. Staff unfriendly. Wifi access an issue. Bedroom oddly shaped with 'pod' area and TV located where it cannot be viewed from the bed. Will not return - a pity given my first experience of this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room without the internal pod area and where you can see the TV from your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivienne W, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Pravo Shanghai, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Pravo.
I am really sorry and disappointed to hear of your experience here at our hotel.

I have taken your complaint to all relevant departments.
On behalf of the hotel and all the staff, I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We will strongly persue to better serve our customers.

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Please let me know if there's anything I can do for you in the future.

Yours sincerely

Vivienne Wan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
16
3
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I am just back from my weekend trip to Shanghai and have to say that I was a little bit disappointed about the stay in this hotel after reading so many positive comments. Why?

I did not like the style of the amusing suite at all, but that is a personal taste. It was too futuristic for me. The room is really big, but I found it was almost too huge to create a cosy atmosphere. It takes you a while to find all buttons and to walk from the wardrobe to the bed and usually I really love spacious rooms. There was always a smell in the room, I guess from the air condition or from the carpet, like when there was no fresh air since days.

As written by others, the room is quite dark and it's really hard to put make-up on since the badroom light is not strong enough. In general, I think the room rather addresses men than women if you check the colors, the missing tissues in the badroom, the shampoos smelling like a man's perfume etc.

The breakfast is ok, big enough so that everybody will find something, but no special experience. Some staff was friendly, others did not even recognize that they did not offer me some coffee. Whenever you go, there are nice style elements in each room and restaurant, but the atmosphere is not really friendly, warm, and light as I thought from the pictures.

I was surprised that the reception is always occupied by 4 employees, quite a lot compared to the amount of guests. In this case and due to the fact that it's a boutique hotel and not a big mass hotel, I would have expected a friendlier service, a smile, more help.

what I really liked were the comfy beds and the location is quite good. Not directly on the Bund, but you can reach it within 10min and you pay much lesse than for the hotels which are placed on the Bund.

So in general, everything was ok, but no special experience in my eyes compared to all hotels, especially boutique hotels I have already seen in Asia. I will definitely not go back since I like other hotels, for better prices, much more in Shanghai.

Room Tip: I would invest into the most expensive suites since they seem to have much more light and I prefer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkHibiskus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Pros:

Spacious room with trendy deco. Reception team is very helpful. There is a 24 convenience store and many restaurants just around the corner. Price is a bargain for the standard (I guess it is because that they don't have a gym or swimming pool)

Cons:

Bathroom is really dark and I found it hard to put make-up on.

Not much selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nighttrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

When you travel regularly you start to find special places in each city that are just a cut above the rest. I have been to Shanghai a few times but this is my new "special place" It doesn't get much better than this, value for money it must be the best I have ever experienced. Its real 5 star hotel and service for the cost of much less. It's spotless from the lobby to the rooms. Room service was top notch and the staff were incredible, special mention to Gary (evening manager). The location is about 15min walk from North Bund but don't let that sway you. It's 5 min taxi at 15 RMB away. This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed at in China or even HK. Every little detail has been carefully planned. The rooms are large, seating areas comfortable and well planned, Nespresso machine, large flat screen in bedroom, comfy huge bed with all bells and whistles you would expect from a very expensive hotel. The bathroom is excellent from heated mirrors to the free standing bath and fully functional remote controlled toilet (gotta get one of these for home). The restaurants were excellent and the feel was very upmarket and distinguished. I will without doubt stay here again and I confidently recommend this to any traveller, you will be very impressed. There is a 24hr 7/11 type store as you exit hotel, turn,left and left. The breakfast is exceptionally good with western and eastern offerings, try the little pumpkin pastries and the dim sum is awesome if you're into that. The service at breakfast was flawless. I can't say enough about Pravo, it's the best.

Room Tip: Any floor is good, don't miss breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Pravo for a short period, but it was enogh to understand that it a wonderful place to stay in Shanghai. Big comfortable suite, warm colors, great bed, fantastic view!
We will defenetly come back.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mazmanyan_FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent 8 nights here and loved our room. It had 2 bay windows and from these you could see the Pearl Tower and the other tall buildings which provided great night-time viewing. The staff were always very friendly and dealt with our problems over heating in the room well, although they could not get the English speaking channels back on our TV! It is about a 15 minute walk from the Bund and on the way there you pass a train booking offfice which is useful for planning excursions. Going left out of the hotel and taking the first left you come to a very typical chinese street with a mini supermarket, fruit shop and the Apple Garden bakery which has lovely cakes and things you can have for breakfast. The hotel room is very spacious and had everything we needed. The remote controlled toilet/bidet with heated seat (you can decide on the temperature!) is amazing. The hotel is very clean and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyMasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Very spacious room/suite, modern but cosy design.
Helpful and friendly staff although except for one of them who spoke decent English, communication was barely adequate...
Lighting in the bathroom was dim. Too dark but otherwise nice.
Still, excellent value overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
Sunrise On The Bund Hotel
#73 of 5,059 in Shanghai
243 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#183 of 5,059 in Shanghai
299 reviews
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#161 of 5,059 in Shanghai
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongkou
Astor House Hotel
Astor House Hotel
#81 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,103 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
Shanghai Bund South China Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pravo Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pravo Shanghai

Property: Hotel Pravo Shanghai
Address: No.299 Wusong Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , Qipu Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#266 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Pravo Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pravo Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Luck Shanghai
Hotel Pacific Luck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing