We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping
Ranked #185 of 5,140 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I selected Shanghai Eastern Airline Hotel mainly because it was easy to book and location seemed acceptable. The choice turned out to be a good one.

The hotel is literally steps from two metro stations (lines 3,4 and 7) which connect you to every part of the city. Room is comfortable, reasonably large and fairly clean (though I do have some reservations about a few things, like a cover on bathroom scale that has never been changed). Room service is good, new towels appear daily. When I needed help from front desk - they were responsive (though their English is limited). I asked for an electric plug converter, and in about 10 minutes housekeeping was at my door with one.

Breakfast is good if you like Chinese food (I like pretty much everything, so it's just fine with me). If you are after US-style waffles and bagels, you are out of luck (but do try that rice cereal thing, add some sugar and it hits the spot). Eggs, fried rice and dumplings are always available. Breakfast dining room isn't particularly clean though (but no worse than in most US chain hotels).

Word of caution - winter in Shanghai is *cold*. That means most public areas of hotel are cold too, including breakfast hall, all corridors etc. While heating works nicely in a room - it only heats the actual sleeping area, which is warm and toasty. Areas adjacent to door, as well as bathroom are still quite chilly. Dress accordingly.

Bed mattress is quite firm, as is the case in most places in Asia. I love it, it's great for the back, but your mileage may vary.

Room Tip: Higher floor is probably better, if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

Needed a place near the airport for an early flight, this place fits the bill. The location was good with free shuttle to the terminals and the rate was reasonable as I booked it off a Chinese hotel booking site. I had a room on the first floor and it smelt like the entire floor was recently flooded. I had the A/C turned on all night but still had a hard time getting any sleep. I would not recommend this place to anyone until they remove the awful stench.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a room on the first floor as my friend's room on the upper floor wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigFishDiveClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Despite the assurance from the night duty hotel front desk staff that we can leave our luggage upon checkout, we found out otherwise on the next day. The hotel front desk staff in the morning claims that it is a policy of the hotel not to store luggage for guests who have checked out. This is nothing we have come accross in other hotel in the world . After much questioning, Hotel Front Desk Manager Richard Wang informed they are in discussion on the matter and later advised they could help to store our luggage else where with a fees.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnes3284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2007

I stayed at the Golden Tulip Shanghai Riverside for four days in November 2007. The hotel looked good on Expedia.ca, was near a metro station, and was acquired at a decent rate ($70 CDN/night). Having never been to China before, I didn't know what to expect. It is above-average in terms of hotel standards there, but would be no more than 2 star accomodation in North America. The rate, while low for Western standards, was quite high for China and didn't really come with any added perks (like a breakfast for instance, which seemed standard at every other hotel I stayed at during my trip).

Location: outside of the touristy spots, but the metro stop is directly behind the hotel. I actually preferred to stay out of the way, as there was no hassle with "art students"/tea ceremony people or Rolex salespeople. You can walk the streets freely with no distraction or bother. There is some Western-influence as well, as evidenced by the Tesco Supermarket, McDonalds and Papa Johns pizza a block away. However, if it's a truly Eastern experience you are after, you will get it near this hotel as well. Just walk and explore.

Room: Clean and comfortable. The beds are hard, but they are like that everywhere here. Unless you have a large budget, don't mistake the water in the fridge for the complimentary bottled water found in the bathroom...it turned into a costly mistake for us ($8 CDN per 250mL bottle). Ouch! Elevators are REALLY slow.

Staff: There are English-speaking staff. Could have been friendlier though. Comparing it to other hotels I stayed at during my month-long excursion, I'd have to say it was one of the worst. A smile goes a long way. There aren't many to be had here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ladyoblada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

In May, I stayed at the Golden Tulip Shanghai Riverside, a hotel situated in Putuo district in Shanghai.

Before going there, I was a bit afraid of the location of the hotel as I didn’t knew where was Putuo area, but it turn out to be a very good experience as this hotel is in a walking distance from the tube station, only few stops from people square and taxi to go down town in very cheep.

This was a very good value for money stay compare to the other hotels
situated down town shanghai that were much more expensive. Rooms are nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank parabsence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

Nice hotel that has changed a lot since the new management took over. Friendly people and you can see that international management is doing them well.
A little far from the centre, but metro is 50 mtrs from the hotel and you can reach down town in 10-15 mins paying only RMB 4 (about € .040!). If you look at this, than staying here is far better value for money than staying down town.
Good and clean rooms, strongly improved breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HoofddorpBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Все номера начинаются с 9 этажа и выше. Вокруг сплошные высотки - так что неважно какой номер.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andsota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ji A, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shanghai
Holiday Inn Express Putuo Shangh...
#1,131 of 5,140 in Shanghai
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Shanghai South Railway Station
L'otel
L'otel
#175 of 5,140 in Shanghai
116 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wujiaochang
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Wuj...
#1,232 of 5,140 in Shanghai
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping

Address: No.2088 Zhongshan North Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200063, China (Formerly Shanghai Eastern Airline Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Zhenping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing