We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, needs some updating”
Review of Wu Gong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wu Gong Hotel
Ranked #1,139 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, needs some updating”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Great location, and although there were some expected communication issues the service at the hotel is pretty good. The only real downfall of this hotel, and it's a a big downfall, is the need to refresh the rooms. The carpet in the room I was in had me fearing to remove my shoes, besides the large holes burnt into the carpet from cigarettes (although I had requested a non-smoking room) the carpet was old stained and dingy.

Overall you get what you pay for with this place. Great location, bed to sleep in, but like a lot of hotels in China they could do a bit better with the upkeep of the place. If I ever go back to Shanghai, I'll likely try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor to get away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwgourley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    49
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
4
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Old building but recently renovated rooms. Breakfast included and it is the same food everyday. It is located in the educational supplies and bookstore district of Shanghai. 3 blocks from the Nanjing Pedestrian Street. There are 2 convenient stores in the area, 1 across the hotel, and another one just around the corner. Internet is slow, but it is free and the room is equipped with a laptop. Not much english channels in the small LCD tv. See thru bathroom with curtain is in the smaller side. The usual China hard bed.
With the price, not much to complain about.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Canboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

The room rate is reasonable. The location of the hotel is good, room condition is reasonably good in relation to the room rate. Breakfast is nice and provide sufficient choices if one is not too choosy. The only thing i found is the staffs at the reception counter are generally lack friendly and helpful, not very responsive to my questions pertaining to booking taxi and wifi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed in the Wu Gong on two occasions in October. THe hotel is really well situated - close to the Bund, shopping precinct and Shanghai museum. I chose the hoel after reading about it on trip adviser and asked for rooms on the 7th floor , however rooms on the fifth floor also looked good. Didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast (included) which was pretty good for a busiess hotel in Shanghai. the rates were reasonable as well.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The location of this hotel is excellent: next to Shanghai Book city, 2 blocks south of Nanjing Donglu (the main shopping street) and easy transport access. For the price we paid at 398 RMB for a double, it was really good value for money.

Get a room facing away Fuzhou Lu so that you don't get the traffic noise from Fuzhou Lu, and if you get a room on the 7th floor, all the rooms are newly renovated compared to the ones on the 8th floor. In our 7th floor room, it included a laptop with free Internet access as well. We did not get that when we stayed at a room on the 8th floor.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astrolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We found this hotel to be very comfortable. We had a high up room (8th floor) in the back, looking out over traditional low, tiled roofs which was interesting. The room and bathroom very clean. nice large picture window. special filtered water in the bathroom for drinking as well as the ubiquitous kettle, cups and free tea. There was also a small fridge that we used for fruit and yogurt that we bought nearby. Though breakfast was repetitive there was always plenty of it. we were perhaps there at a less busy time than the other, negative reviewer? The beds were hard but that seems to be the case in most Chinese hotels that we experienced. Staff was efficient, pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontrealsuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

i was there for a biz trip last oct... the place smelt moldy and have strands of hair on the bed... all i get to see out of my window is a mop they hang out to dry. the bathroom is pretty clean amazingly. the breakfast is horrible, food runs out all the time. i settled for mac donalds everyday.

The location is great! walking distance to people's square train station... and Raffles Place to visit when i miss home so badly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LegolasZzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#125 of 5,105 in Shanghai
546 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#159 of 5,105 in Shanghai
341 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#436 of 5,105 in Shanghai
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#201 of 5,105 in Shanghai
448 reviews
People’s Square
24K International Hotel Shanghai Nanjing East Road Pedestrian
24K International Hotel Shanghai...
#2,443 of 5,105 in Shanghai
161 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#188 of 5,105 in Shanghai
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wu Gong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wu Gong Hotel

Property: Wu Gong Hotel
Address: No.431 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,139 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wu Gong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wu Gong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing