We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Charms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charms Hotel
Ranked #699 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel had an excellent location, only a couple of blocks from peoples square, and right near east nanjing road. Walking distance to the bund. It had a nice firm bed, staff spoke English, breakfast was ok- pretty good Chinese breakfast with a couple of western dishes (eggs, sausages, cereal, toast). We thought it was good value for money considering the location. Room was clean and did not smell. Make sure you ask for a non smoking room. Only negatives- lifts were a bit slow, and you could hear people in the hallways, although we never heard anyone in the rooms next door to us. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Never book through clear trip as they are not directly handling & will advise all the human beings to never go this un civilised hotel, except the location priority, very old hotel & ridiculous staff & maintenance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Srinivas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

hotel is good with small rooms but good & clean rooms. one of the best location in the shanghai. staff is friendly. but in breakfast there no big range of variety but good enough for Indians. it is located in the Bund Area which is most happening place of shanghai. very close to 'Nanjing Road' walking street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vishalchannawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not your option.
*** Hotel comfortable rooms to sleep, kindly people, cheap rates, breakfast acceptable, and very good location. is only mts to Pedestrian st, Nanjing Rd.
Good enough

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LACE685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Compared to other hotels of similar price in Shanghai I would say this one is definitely not worth the money. The room was very dark (the window faced onto a high-rising concrete hole letting in no natural light) and the lights were insufficient, making it seem like it was night all the time.
The room also felt damp, it was quite old, the bathroom just wasn't quite as nice and modern as I would have expected.
I was also rather annoyed that the cleaning staff insisted on coming in even when we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. One time we were in the room sleeping and were woken by someone trying to come into the room. I would have been very scared if I were alone. Other times we left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door, and were angry to see that while we had been out someone had been in the room, having clearly ignored the sign again.

On the up side, it is very central, being one minute (if that) away from the main shopping street, but thats about the only good thing about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Both my self and a colleague found cockroaches in our rooms, my room smelt like a sewage leek to the point that I had to hold my breath when entering. Carpets completely stained, and they had condoms for sale as part of the mini bar. Breakfast was awful. I had to wake the receptionist up when checking out early one morning. Don't stay here!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Least enjoyable stay while in Shanghai. The rooms are minute and I got one with a window into a shaft - quite claustrophobic. The bed might also be too hard for most people's like, but at least it was clean and tidy. Just hate these in-bath showers, especially when they at chest hight. Breakfast was OK but had fairly limited choices. Only choose this hotel if you're planning to spend every waking hour exploring the city.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the "shaft" rooms! Get one with a real window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TsamayaSentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#151 of 5,160 in Shanghai
361 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#196 of 5,160 in Shanghai
143 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,160 in Shanghai
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#205 of 5,160 in Shanghai
351 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#416 of 5,160 in Shanghai
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charms Hotel

Address: No.619 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 20001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #699 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £32 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charms Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing