We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Hotel”
Review of Charms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charms Hotel
Ranked #1,266 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I came on a weekend visit to Shanghai during a three week study trip. The hotel is in a perfect location near the East Nanjing Road metro, so not far to walk with cases and good if you want to get to all the shops on Nanjing Road early. 3 of us shared a suite room and the other two in our group shared a standard room (no window). I was very impressed by the suite, we were given some free gifts (bookmark, fruit, fruit peeler) as we had used booking.com to book the room. The living room was spacious and whole suite was clean and nicely presented. The television only has one English channel, the CCTV News channel but that wasn't a problem for us. The view from the window of the suite was quite good. There was free wifi in the room, but this was sporadic and took a while to load things. When we went to see the other room it was down a dark and dingy corridor and the room was just as dark, but it had all the basic amenities so there was nothing to complain about. Plenty of places to eat nearby and a nice café in the hotel lobby too, again as we had booked with booking.com we received vouchers for a breakfast meal deal, a choice of bread, meat eggs and drink for 35RMB if I remember correctly, and the food was delicious! The only problem that we had with the hotel is on the last day, the receptionists refused to let us keep our cases in the luggage room whilst we went around Shanghai, because of the "police". This was resolved by the friendly concierges, who eventually sorted the problem out and let us leave our cases there. When we returned they helped us with the luggage and sorted out a taxi for us to Hongqiao train station. If I am in Shanghai again I would stay here as it is good value for what you get.

Room Tip: Suites are the best option.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Charms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I live and work in the city, and stay here long-term due to it's proximity to my office. There are scores of places to eat & shop all within walking distance, and a major metro hub is just a half block away from the rear exit of the hotel. It isn't super luxurious, the staff isn't super friendly, the amenities aren't opalescent, but you get exactly what you pay for. And this place is the right price for lodging in an extremely convenient place in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior of the 'Tube' get no outside light.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdwardVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Hotel is in a very good location , In the Heart of the City , Close to all shopping areas , Nanjing Road , Peoples square , Yuan Garden , Oriental pearl Tower , everyting thing is just 10 -15 minutes drive.

Metro line connectivity is good , the nearest Metro station is just 200 meters away .

But Hotel is not that great , Old Property , Not a good breakfast .

But for the price say $ 55 it was a deal for two people with Breakfast

Room Tip: Don`t take the rooms without window , you will feel suffocated , also pls ensure that the room is o...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past 3 years.The hotel location is excellent. Just a few blocks from People Square and one block from East Nanjing Road, the very popular shopping and walking street.Walking distance to the bund is less than 10 minutes. Rooms are comfortable and clean Most of the staff spoke at least some English. Breakfast was above average of similar Chinese Hotels, incl. some western dishes (eggs, sausages, toast, etc.). Overall fairly good value for money, especially considering the great location. I sure can recommend that hotel for any traveler looking for a 3 to 4 star hotel in the center of Shanghai!

Room Tip: If you want a cheap, but still comfortable room, use one without a window. More than half of the ro...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel had an excellent location, only a couple of blocks from peoples square, and right near east nanjing road. Walking distance to the bund. It had a nice firm bed, staff spoke English, breakfast was ok- pretty good Chinese breakfast with a couple of western dishes (eggs, sausages, cereal, toast). We thought it was good value for money considering the location. Room was clean and did not smell. Make sure you ask for a non smoking room. Only negatives- lifts were a bit slow, and you could hear people in the hallways, although we never heard anyone in the rooms next door to us. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking when you get there.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Never book through clear trip as they are not directly handling & will advise all the human beings to never go this un civilised hotel, except the location priority, very old hotel & ridiculous staff & maintenance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Srinivas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

hotel is good with small rooms but good & clean rooms. one of the best location in the shanghai. staff is friendly. but in breakfast there no big range of variety but good enough for Indians. it is located in the Bund Area which is most happening place of shanghai. very close to 'Nanjing Road' walking street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vishalchannawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#155 of 5,112 in Shanghai
352 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#191 of 5,112 in Shanghai
135 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#212 of 5,112 in Shanghai
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#153 of 5,112 in Shanghai
344 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,112 in Shanghai
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charms Hotel

Address: No.619 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 20001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,266 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £41 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charms Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing