We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Ranked #46 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel almost 10 times in last 7-8 years and in last 5-6 years the surrounding has got a huge face lift . All big retailers are around...Old Navy to Hugo Boss. Famous Golden Temple is just few minutes walk. For Indians , the additional benefit is Indian Restaurant next to that cross road.
Rooms are very clean and spacious but only struggle is managing seat during breakfast....better to reach before 6:30 as after that you may have wait with plates!! Banks and ATM in the same premises makes life comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbirChakrabarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    268
    92
    19
    5
See reviews for
33
50
47
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
270 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel is in a great location and has a bank conveniently located next door. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of both Western and Chinese options. However, the seating arrangement was limited and all 3 mornings we struggled to find a table. The rooms were adequate size, very clean, and had nice bathrooms and a shower with good water pressure. Unfortunately, the free Wi-Fi only applied to the lobby area. For in-room Wi-Fi, it was a 2RMB per minute charge with a max of 120RMB per day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Near to temple and old navy store, public park i forgot the name and shoping mall located at nanjing main road you only need 10 minutes walk from hotel. And also there's a local restaurant serve good lamb barbeque cross the hotel. Lawson at ground floor good for coffe and relax. Have a nice day!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagatimur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay. To provide the perfect and personalized services to every guest of ours and ensure their complete comfort and total enjoyment is always the aim that every staff of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai are trying to achieve. Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Staid at this hotel for 1 week last March on a business trip. The location is superb right next to Nanjing Road with all the shopping malls nearby. Plus just a few minutes walking or by cab you can move around the French Concession where hundreds of restaurants and small businesses emerge in every street or alley.
The room had a decent size and had been recently refurnished, (only for floors 17th and above) but unfortunately the breakfast was extremely local, lack of more quality international products.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

only stayed a couple of nights and in a group of eleven and to be fair the hotel is very good in all aspects, only one issue I had and it maybe down to the fact that UK/Europe hotels are non smoking rooms that I did not think to ask for a non smoking room!
but I was advised by our Chinese adviser that there is not many non smoking rooms in hotels in china, anyway apart from that very good.....

Room Tip: if a non smoker check your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank falkirkbairn1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have been coming to this hotel almost every year whenever I am in Shanghai. Everything is the same, except the rooms is a bit worn out and outdated. Breakfast is not as attractive in terms of variety and quality as before. In order to stay competitive, they seriously need to do something to the rooms and breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor facing the Bund, amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMartians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Nederland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We enjoyed a short stay for tourism in this hotel. The hotel is quite modern with wide open spaces and maintenance is done properly, so no comments on its facilities. Location is superb! In the French concession with all kinds of nice things te see and the metro stop is just a 10 minute walk away. The only drawback I found for this hotel was that staff was quite uninterested: I had to dine in the restaurant one night, but it took them quite long before they provided service. Maybe this is a cultural thing (I'm used to a little more assertiveness), but there is room for improvement for them in this area. All-in-all I was very happy staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartijnVrenssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#58 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#41 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#149 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#53 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Property: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Former French Concession
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is strategically located at Jing'An in the heart of downtown Shanghai. Known for our warm hospitality and excellent customer service, the imperial hotel offers extensive business, meeting and recreational facilities. Offering stunning city view, the total 506 guest rooms and suites feature just the right facilities and amenities to ensure our guests a relaxing stay. The provided 15 function rooms that can cater to meetings of up to 800 pax. The versatile function and meeting rooms offer a wide range of facilities, services and packages for every occasion. The well-recognized Shanghai International Club Fitness Centre is perched on the 4th floor. The centre offers a top line range of fitness facilities from Life Fitness, a tennis hard court, the Fei Spa and a pool area which boasts a breathtaking view of Jing'An. * As per Implementation Rules of Regulation on Public Places Sanitation Administration, smoking will be prohibited in all indoor areas of this hotel from 01 March 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing