We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #197 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Penang
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel fittings are very 'china palace' feel
Location is very good, about 10 minutes walk away to People's Square and maybe 20 minutes walk away from The Bund
Surrounded by shops selling local delicacies
and also very convenient as there were many mini mart around the hotel as well

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    433
    139
    45
    37
See reviews for
86
178
67
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The location of this hotel is its best attribute! A few minutes of walking and you are in the Bund or Nanjing Road. There are several nice restaurants around and the view in their restaurant which is located at the 31st floor is stunning- directly facing the new Pudong area. One can seen the Shanghai tower under construction which will be the second tallest tower in the world upon its completion next year. The rooms has the look and smell of antiquity are is quite big. I have only two problems with this hotel and these are 1. No wifi in room (although LAN is available for free) if you have a laptop and 2. the gym which is pathetic and too small, and their one and only treadmill doesnt seem to work. If these things are your main concerns avoid this hotel otherwise it is a good hotel.

Room Tip: choose a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooNanaGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having stayed in a few places, this hotel I will recommend as "value for money". I booked the hotel on the internet (through a reputable third party website) and therefore was sent to level 31 to check in. What a view you get through the large windows. At night, the view was better - you get to see the city lights.
We stayed on level 21. No smell of cigarette. Nice comfortable room. We got an excellent sleep. The shower water pressure was even better than our own at home!! Hot and cold water controls were working well.
For the price, the breakfast should be consider above average - very good.
Internet service is available through ASDL port in the rooms. However, we went to level 31 restaurant for complimentary wifi internet service. connection was good.
Distance to the metro exit was about 10 minutes. However, this was made up with the convenience to nanjinglu shopping malls and many convenience shops and eateries nearby.
Got a taxi to bring us to Longyang station very easily at 7 am in the morning. However I THINK, I would have preferred taking the tunnel route across Huangpo river and saved some money. Instead, the taxi cost the same price as the Maglev ticket by going over the expressway bridge.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis_61jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandhidham, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

very good Hotel to stay in. Walkable distance from BUND and near to TV Tower and other attractions of Shanghai. Nice restaurant for Breakfast and good rooms with quite a fine amenities. electronics market is nearby and also the shopping area. Can just walk around in night at the walkway near Bund along side river.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prithvi362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were pleased with our choice of hotel in Shangai - price very reasonable - good breakfasts, and had a suite with an amazing view over the Oriental Pearl Tower and surrounding area!

Very easily accessible from East Nanjig Road Subway, with not even a 10 minute walk to the hotel along an interesting side-street filled with stalls and shops and restaurants.

Strange bathroom set-up though - space certainly not well utilised with a sliding door between the bath / shower and rest of the bathroom! Also not possible for 2 people to be in the bathroom at the same time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Whenever I go on a trip abroad I usually look at the rating people give the hotels I have been booked! Luckily I said I got one that had a 4 Star Rating from reviewers which made me delighted to get to the hotel from the airport. As soon as I got out of the service van that was arranged for me and got in the hotel my 4 star expectation dimmed into a 2 star anxiety, I had been to some 3 star rated hotels but was very satisfied by what I saw, I requested for a non smoking room but instead got a room situated in a smoking floor. The moment I got in the room I started to sneeze incessantly, So much for my uber sensitive nose, am I having a cold or am I having allergies. Each day I had wondered about this sudden fit of sneezing spells from time to time not knowing if the pollen was all around me, until my mom stayed in her room one day and found out they don't vacuum the room at all and they don't even change the sheets, linen and pillow cases at all, unless you request for it. The breakfast was not spectacular and the dining area floor was slippery. I could only guess if it was floor wax or cooking oil from a open counter where eggs were fried. So much for bargains! I heard they don't cost a lot, but just wished I got booked to the next door hotel at Westin.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xar126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just to clarify this review, we stayed in a NON Smoking 'One bedroom Suite' on the 14th floor and so when we arrived to check in we were sent up to the top floor to an executive check in area, which had a fantastic view over to Pudong in the distance (where the building which looks like two pearls threaded on to a skewer is located on the other side of the river), the lights were fantastic at night.

Our room was large and had a separate bedroom with a floor to ceiling glass view over the city. The mattress was softer and better than expected as the Chinese like rock hard mattresses and we paid for an extra roll-a-way bed (i think about USD$20-$30 per night) for the lounge room area for our 7 year old while our 5 year old slept on the sofa.

The lounge room was curved with floor to ceiling windows with a great view over shanghai's 'Bund' area. It had a sofa, armchairs and a round dining table and chairs, TV, mini bar tea and coffee facilities and a fantastic view !
The bathroom was a two way bathroom (with a door directly into the bedroom and another into the lounge room area) with a corner spa bath and a separate shower* which could be closed off from the toilet and the sink area, with frosted glass sliding doors.
*Just something to watch out for, the shower falls onto the marble flooring next to the spa, which can become a bit slippery as there is no real shower base to contain the water, although they do have a mat to stand on while showering to counter the design.

Breakfast was again better than expected as there was a good mix of western breakfast dishes and not just the normal asian fare. There was cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries, toast, jam, honey etc, cheese platter, assorted salad items, and fruit juices, coffee, tea etc. along with the asian breakfast items like rice, soup, steamed buns there was also, bacon, ham, breakfast sausages, hard boiled eggs, baked tomatoes, baked beans, hash browns, pancakes, french toast although there was no maple syrup for the pancakes or french toast. But a good selection on offer regardless. There was also an 'egg station' which you could order eggs any way you liked, scrambled, fried or omelettes etc.
The breakfast restaurant itself was large and clean looking and had large round tables, which if travelling in groups, was good to meet up with friends for breakfast at the same table, as we were a party of 8 in total.

Location to The Bund was great only a five minute walk to the river front, for a view of the Pearl building over on the Pudong side. There is also lots of little streets and stalls to explore all within a short walking distance from the hotel.

On the day of check out we left our luggage at the bell desk for several hours while we made the most of our last day in Shanghai and we found the staff helpful, even if the language was a bit of a barrier at times.

The Wifi was very hard to log into and after a while we just gave up, lucky we had roaming smartphones with us, but if you really require a good internet connection maybe this is not the best hotel for that.

All in all we would stay here again as the room price was fairly reasonable compared to some of the well known brand hotels in the same vicinity.

It would be better to have a guide book with you or a good idea of where you want to go or what you want to see and have it printed out in english (and Chinese even better) so that you can show hotel staff or they can point you in the right direction or get a taxi for you. It's not the type of hotel where you could just front up at the concierge desk and get a full run down on all the sights of shanghai and have all your questions answered on where to go and what to do.

We stayed with our two children and were travelling with another family with children also and we found this suited our needs well.

Room Tip: A city view Suite has a great view, although I think the Executive Suite may be the same just on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZ_Family_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#755 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#115 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#160 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#215 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
People’s Square
Charms Hotel
Charms Hotel
#664 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Property: Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#194 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing