We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #434 of 5,205 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I only stayed at the hotel for one night as I was passing through Shanghai on route to the airport. The hotel was extremely busy on arrival but the staff attended to me very quickly and efficiently. The hotel is in a great location and only ten minutes walk from the Bund and rail connections. The hotel facilities are looking a little dated in places but my room was clean, functional and comfortable. The hotel has free WiFi in guest rooms, and the breakfast menu was generally very good. Without hesitatio I would stay at the Salvo again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is it location, not far from a metro station, near the Bund area, a short walk from the great Nanjing Road pedestrian shopping street and the People's Park with the Grand Theatre, etc. The service was excellent, the main public areas spacious and comfortable, but the room itself was small and rather dated. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was cramped, and standing in the bath for a shower your head (if you are six feet tall) goes up into the inspection hatch in the ceiling! We did not eat in the hotel, but there is a good selection of places to eat out in the streets nearby.

Room Tip: Our room on a higher floor was quiet, lower down may be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanctipetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were promised a room for 2 adults and 1 child. We got a room with a queen bed and an uncomfortable couch.

Upon check in they had us go to a top floor (the executive check-in or something of that nature) where they engaged in high pressure sales tactics and eventually laughed at me--seriously--when I insisted that we had reserved beds for 3 (this was on our reservation conformation and receipt)--they wanted us to pay much much more to get what we had reserved. We were tired and took what what they offered.

After we settled in we went down to ask for a recommendation for dinner. After someone arrived to talk to us they had only one option and were dismissive when we asked for more. We went there and no one spoke English. We pointed at things on the menu and got a best OK food (we DO eat what Chinese friends tell us is authentic Chinese food on a regular basis).

The next day I complained about our room because the couch was very uncomfortable for our child. They would not address the complaint and told us to contact the travel agent. We were only there for 1 more day so I did not want to take the time. At breakfast they insisted that our 10 year old was an adult and made us pay the full adult amount for him to eat. They have a height requirement not an age requirement for children.

For some reason we decided to take a tour of shanghai and used the desk to book another company to take us on a tour. They rushed us through the tour and when we asked questions they offered repetitive responses. The tour guide was unfriendly.

I really hope there is a better place than this. We had such a bad impression of Shanghai--one that we have not received in any other place. We travel quite a bit and this is honestly the worst experience I have had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked a family room which had 2 sections for the 3 of us. We got a high level floor - 30th with the reception done for our floor in 31st floor - which is the highest floor of this hotel. Our stay was pleasant and as expected - no surprises.

The room has free in-room wired internet but WI-FI costs. Thew free WI-FI in the lobby is also very slow so I had regrets not bringing a wi-fi router which could be useful across our trip in China using the wired internet spots in hotel rooms.

Room Tip: If you are 3 and beyond, book the family room. Also bring an internet router to use the free wired i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fun-trvl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good location, lovely room but a bit dark & gloomy in the sitting area but well equipped. Now problem with Wifi connection. Bathroom (wet room) with a corner bath was very good & well equipped but could have been better cleaned. Snacks in Bar area & Breakfast were very good but Chinese meal was not as good as others we had during the rest of our stay in China. The staff were very helpful, even though their English was sometimes poor, we always managed to get across what we needed. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel was in a good position, but the rooms are very dark and dated. Shower facility very cramped. WiFi abysmal.

Service/attitude was poor, with little English spoken.

Titan Group Chinese meal (floor 3) was very poor quality with bad service, but snack bar (floor 31) reasonable. Breakfast good. Room service very expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a high room to get a good view and avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machiavelli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good location , can walk most places - about 15-20 min walk to the subway tho, which is okay in May when the weather is cool but would be too hot in the summer. The wifi was supposed to be free but didn't work well at all - Way too many problems with connecting to it. Only in the lobby did it ever work out good. The breakfast in the morning was good.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltop8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#427 of 5,205 in Shanghai
63 reviews
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#122 of 5,205 in Shanghai
580 reviews
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#156 of 5,205 in Shanghai
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#51 of 5,205 in Shanghai
879 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#107 of 5,205 in Shanghai
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#284 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £45 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing