We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“escape from shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai
Ranked #122 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“escape from shanghai”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

stayed there with 2 kids..had good time in the indoor and outdoor pool...overall clean facilities..rooms are big but little tired.breakfast was ok and dinner buffet was good..with good choices of western food.next door is water park and subway station to hotel only 15 rmb.
Sculpture park next door is nice with lake

Room Tip: overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina O, Public Relations Manager at The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear goel1,

Greetings from Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai!

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments of your recent stay at Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai. We are pleased to know that our associates and service brought you a memorable experience here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to discover the Le Meridien journey soon.



Yours sincerely,



Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    218
    52
    26
    11
See reviews for
64
27
9
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel has some of the most extreme 'good' and 'bad' points I've seen in a property recently. I was a guest for two nights as part of a business meeting which used the conference services on the lobby level. My main likes: spacious and well-appointed room, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast buffet, good fitness centre/pool options. Main dislikes: airport-like design which means walking forever to your room, 'hit and miss' English fluency among staff, interminable wait for taxis/very remote location with nothing nearby within walking distance. Occasionally you hear a loud 'whooshing' sound as ventilation system kicks in. Some reviewers have welcomed the park-like setting - this is true if that's what you want. Getting anywhere else is a major effort and we waited on two occasions 15 min+ for taxis. Try and arrange them in advance. As others have said, a 'refresh' is now required with scratched floors and shifting carpets making their appearance. The bars have a 2 for 1 Happy Hour which was appreciated. Good exchange rate offered at front desk. Mosquitoes at night outdoors can be a nuisance (thought I had left these at home). Wonderful formal Chinese banquet was offset by a very mediocre steak lunch the next day.

Room Tip: Go for a room with high last two numbers (closest to lobby elevators/lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina O, Public Relations Manager at The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear lyon4uk,

Greetings from Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai!

Thank you for taking time to share with us your recent experienced stay at Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai. After investigation, we have since taken corrective measures and this will be addressed to individual concerned to avoid any recurrence and ensure matters of this nature will be handled appropriately in the future.

lyon4uk, we value your patronage of Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai very much and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Yours sincerely ,


Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Just arrived in the hotel after a long tough day at work. I checked in at SPG preferred lane hoping at least for a gentle treatment. I met the most arrogant and harsh recepionist ever. Despite of the excuses of the manager, which I indeed appreciated this is indeed a terrible experience nobody shall expect in such hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimiliano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina O, Public Relations Manager at The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Massimiliano T,

Greetings from Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai !

Thank you for taking time to share with us your recent experienced stay at Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai. After investigation, we have since taken corrective measures and this will be addressed to individual concerned to avoid any recurrence and ensure matters of this nature will be handled appropriately in the future.

Massimiliano T, we value your patronage of Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai very much and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Yours sincerely ,


Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Overall Le Meridien Sheshan is a great place to escape from Shanghai downtown living.

We requested early check in and for them to prepare the room with infant cot. This was handled excellently, including a pre-check-in phone call to us, confirming room ready. Nicely done.

The Sunday brunch is not comparable to some of the downtown extravaganzas but its good and the staff are nice.

The facilities for a family hanging out in nice weather are good, with fake beach, indoor/outdoor pool and lake to walk around.

Currently (May 2013) the room service needs to improve as the quality and delivery time is letting the overall experience down. We also needed to remind them, several times, to collect the spent room service.

The toy cars by the beach are also in need of repair and better upkeep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina O, Public Relations Manager at The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Ross G,

Greetings from Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai!

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments of your recent stay at Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai. We are pleased to know that our associates and service brought you a memorable experience here. Menawhile, after investigation, we have since taken corrective measures and this will be addressed to individual concerned to avoid any recurrence and ensure matters of this nature will be handled appropriately in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to discover the Le Meridien journey soon.


Yours sincerely,



Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Staid in the Meridien on the weekend. The location is still excellent, quiet, spacious, with a nice garden and free access to the sculpture park. The rooms are very large, though the decor is a little faded. What unfortunately lets down this hotel is the lack of service. I assume that it is not easy to get good staff so far on the outskirts of Shanghai.
Staff were friendly, but service tended to be slow and haphazard. An evening treat (small dessert) took very long to arrive, even though it was clearly not 'made to order'. Furthermore a 'raspberry crumble' is quite different from what I received. As the hotel is far away from any city or village, transportation is important. Yet there are no taxis waiting (even though the hotel was fully booked and constant demand could be expected, especially during checkout). Taxis were said to take 15-20 minutes to arrive. So I waited for the taxi and only quite late realized that a constant stream of taxis was dropping off guests and leaving empty.
Positive was that on check-out the bill gave to option to donate money by ticking a checkbox. This is different from some other hotels which automatically add a donation and where the guest has to insist on not paying in order to have this item removed from the bill.
So a nice weekend retreat, but with flaws.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina O, Public Relations Manager at The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear CKober,

Greetings from Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai !

Thank you for taking time to share with us your recent experienced stay at Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai. After investigation, we have since taken corrective measures and this will be addressed to individual concerned to avoid any recurrence and ensure matters of this nature will be handled appropriately in the future.

CKober, we value your patronage of Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai very much and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Yours sincerely ,


Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liaoning
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I only stay here on the weekend to get some fresh air. This resort is just exact what i expect for. The room is big enough, very quiet. The maids on the floor greet you with pretty smile which made you feel very good.

The breakfast here is quite busy, the staff is trying very hard to accomodate guests sometimes. I was very lucky to have the seat nearby window all the time, that's why i came here for, right? Actually, only once i couldn't get my favorate table at the first begining. So I talked with Julio the manager in charge to switch my table there if possible. He's fast and make a fresh orange juice for me as a gesture which really make my day.

General speaking the service here is getting better and better. The staff remember my name and i really enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: pick a room far from the wedding room. you need let front office know this upon your check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZX L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina O, Public Relations Manager at The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear ZX L,

Greetings from Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai!

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments of your recent stay at Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai. We are pleased to know that our associates and service brought you a memorable experience here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to discover the Le Meridien journey soon.



Yours sincerely,



Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangHai
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I should have a good holiday in the hotel, but it messed up because of the bad weather and the most terrible thing was that the road was fixed up, it made me a little uncomfortable to drive my car and I was puzzled that which road was correct toward the hotel, after I got to the hotel, I found that my car was so muddy and dirty, how awful it was, maybe, next time,Sofitel Sheshan will be my choice

Room Tip: Sofitel Sheshan will be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShunLi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina O, Public Relations Manager at The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear ShunLi W,

Greetings from Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai !

Thank you for taking time to share with us your recent experienced stay at Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai. After investigation, we have since taken corrective measures and this will be addressed to individual concerned to avoid any recurrence and ensure matters of this nature will be handled appropriately in the future.


ShunLi W, we value your patronage of Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai very much and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Yours sincerely ,


Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Homa Moon Lake Hotel
#422 of 5,105 in Shanghai
5 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Harbour City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,615 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
Le Meridien Shanghai, Minhang
#37 of 5,105 in Shanghai
93 reviews
Sun Island Resorts
#464 of 5,105 in Shanghai
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai

Property: The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai
Address: No.1288 Linyin Xin Road, Sheshan, Shanghai 201602, China (Formerly Le Meridien Sheshan Shanghai)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Shanghai
#62 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#114 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#161 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the shore of the Shanghai's largest lake, the stylish Le Meridien She Shan set amidst the natural beauty of the She Shan National Tourism Resort. The biggest amusement park in china (Happy Valley) and Chen Shan Botanical Park are only a walking distance away. Metro Line 9 can take you from urban district to hotel conveniently. It's an ideal place for conference and leisure!The 326-bedroom hotel is located within the National Tourist Resort District of She Shan in the northern part of Song Jiang Satellite City in Shanghai. Surrounded by 47 square kilometers of Shanghai's most natural and picturesque landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Yuluxe Sheshan, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien She Shan Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Le Meridien Shanghai
Meridien She Shan Shanghai
Shanghai Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing