We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this hotel. Stay far away.”
Review of The Bund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bund Hotel
Ranked #122 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel. Stay far away.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The name "The Bund Hotel" is a misnomer. I say this because this hotel is nowhere near the Bund. It is not within walking distance or anything, so it's only named this way to trap unsuspecting tourists who wish to have an authentic hotel experience staying on the beautiful bund, only to realize that the bund is a few kilometers down the road. The hotel's location is just awful. It is surrounded by dim sum shops that smell like feces. Across the road is a motorcycle repair shop that comes with multiple greasy Chinese men who ogle your sister and mother as you walk past. Leaving the hotel at night will prompt you to be approached by toothless prostitutes and their sketchy pimps. Be prepared to hear "Excuse me sir, you want lady massagey?!" The interior of the hotel isn't actually that bad... until you breathe in through your nose. The entire place is smokey and smells like toilets. The english spoken by the staff members can hardly be called english. They also don't care about you at all. The review before mine by Tanya M is very funny to me, because I too entered the restaurant and laughed away at the "Chinglish" on the menu. The beds were as hard as concrete slabs, so don't expect to get much sleep.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare z, Front Office Manager at The Bund Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Tanya and Kenneth :

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at The Bund Hotel Shanghai! We are deeply regetted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. We have taken note of your comments with regard to service and facility issues to revelent department. This is our responsibility and duty to make sure every guest stay in our hotel along with outstanding service and product. Besides, The Bund Hotel is conveniently located in the CBD area whereby is access to the main shopping malls and also other tourist destination. For most of the guests, go to the Bund is walking distance. But the actual situation is not the same as guests, depending on their own conditions or even other factors (e.g. Weather). We hope you and your family will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Clare Zhang
Front Office Manager
The Bund Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    250
    117
    30
    30
See reviews for
70
139
60
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel Location - Sleazy and Noisy

Across from a traditional greasy and grungy motorcycle repair shop. Less than a block from the most disgusting little street shops and restaurants. Come out of the front door after 9pm to be greeted by a barrage of pimps and prostitutes. They were very low dollar call girls, it seems the ones with teeth hang out on the actual bund. When booking this hotel we were told that it was a 4 star hotel located centrally near the river on the Bund. The street it is on looks dangerous to walk because it is very narrow, heavy traffic, uneven surface, slippery and smelly. My husband slipped and fell on the ground in front of the upcoming traffic.

Service including Checking in and Maintenance

Our experience was quite shocking. The hotel is very outdated and poorly maintained. The entire place smells like smoke and old toilet mops. The personnel is rude and speaks very poor English. When we complained about cold breakfast items to the manager she acted like we were making it up.

Dining
We tried to dine at one of their restaurants only to find out that the restaurant was completely empty save for 10 or 11 employees sitting around the tables and smoking. When we entered the chinese restaurant they acted like we were a nuisance and only one of them got up to hand us menus. We had fun though reading the menu which was a perfect example of chinglish, i.e. they serve "gold medal marijuana balls" and "bacteria mushroom pot old chicken." Also, don't forget delicacies, such as "salt crisp hand held devices" and "born ridiculous amount of characteristic bullfrog". So, if you want food - go elsewhere but if you want a good laugh - this is the right place for you. The Russian restaurant also appeared abandoned but had 3 or 4 people there. The menu is extremely lengthy and personnel was not able to explain what on the menu is cooked to order.

Buffet

They include hot breakfast in the price of stay but do not be lured by this! The breakfast is cold, everything: sausage, eggs, coffee cold because employees prepare it ahead of time and let it sit there for ever. So your eggs, waffles, potatoes are cold and soggy. They refuse to cook fresh waffles until the stack of stale ones is gone. The guy in charge of the omelet/egg station (very tall) hides under the cooking table. He actually crouches down to prevent the guests from bothering him while he is playing on his iphone.

Front desk and Concierge Service
They gave us a run around on many occasions, e.g. we asked to confirm flight reservations (which is included in their guest brochure as one of the services they provide) and the front desk sent us to "concierge" which in this 2 star hotel is assigned to a bell boy who does not speak any English. When we pointed out the fact that we could not communicate with the bell boy the front desk manager refused to provide assistance and I had to go back to the room to bring the guest book and point out that this was listed as service number 1 they offer.

When it was raining we asked the front desk to borrow their umbrellas and were told that only the guests staying in the executive rooms could get one. When my husband asked for help in calling a taxi cab they refused to do so telling him it was only a 15 minute walk to the Bund (my husband has moving disability). The bell boy told him that they already called too many taxis that night. Also, no one knows about this hotel and whenever you are trying to catch a ride to this hotel the taxi cab drivers can't find it.

Rooms

Very below average. They do not replace your sheets and towels unless you make a request in writing. The beds are harder than the floor. The showers are leaking into the bathroom and make the entire floor of the bathroom slippery and dangerous to walk on.

If after reading this you decide to stay or visit this "The Bund" hotel for fun, please share your experience with unsuspecting guests that could be lured in by fake reviews on this page.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. If you must, insist on executive rooms on the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare z, Front Office Manager at The Bund Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Tanya and Kenneth :

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at The Bund Hotel Shanghai! We are deeply regetted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. We have taken note of your comments with regard to service and facility issues to revelent department. This is our responsibility and duty to make sure every guest stay in our hotel along with outstanding service and product. Besides, The Bund Hotel is conveniently located in the CBD area whereby is access to the main shopping malls and also other tourist destination. For most of the guests, go to the Bund is walking distance. But the actual situation is not the same as guests, depending on their own conditions or even other factors (e.g. Weather). We hope you and your family will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Clare Zhang
Front Office Manager
The Bund Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room was very nice, clean and well appointed. Wi-fi is available in room and very fast. Hotel is near the riverside, great location,, can walk just about everywhere. Service is friendly and breakfast buffet offers many good options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing twards the rviver. You may be able to see the lights. Our room is at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colleens941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare z, Front Office Manager at The Bund Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Colleens:

Thank you very much for your positive comments about The Bund Hotel, Shanghai! We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our service and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.

Clare Zhang
Front Office Manager
The Bund Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed w/ my husband last June for 2 nights in an executive room. Large, well furnished, with dark wood finishing and floors, on high floor with an interesting view of the city. Nice tea making facilities, fridge, shoe shine, safe, robe and slippers, and ample closet space. Free bottled water and large, well-appointed bathroom. As in every place in China save one, the bed was too hard for us, but that is the custom and you get used to it. Given our executive room, we had access to the lounge for happy hour. This was interesting. There was no one but us in the large “restaurant” (which is what it resembled), and it was ghostly quiet, although staff was dutifully seated at the entrance awaiting guests and offered us a choice of 2 beverages and a small snack. Not even remotely like a happy hour in a N. American hotel. Breakfast was varied with lots of western and asian choices. Service is fast and efficient, but lacks warmth – again, this is cultural and consistent with our experience in all of China.

Unfortunately, due to the passage of time and the many hotels we stayed in while visiting China, I don’t remember all the usual details. But I did want to post the only two photos (regrettably) that I took.

It is easy walking distance to Nanjing pedestrian street where the people watching is great, in a safe area, and there are many small shops and restaurants nearby. I can recommend this hotel as a solid 4 star offering in an amazing city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare z, Front Office Manager at The Bund Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Ingle:

Thank you for your kind review of The Bund Hotel, Shanghai. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the loction and facilities. However, we are regretted to read that you are not fully satisfied with our service offerd by the team. We have shared your comments with our staff and they are very motivated by your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another perfect experience.

Clare Zhang
Front Office Manager
The Bund Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR,
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel has a terrific locatin, easy walk to the Bund, Nanjing shopping street,Shanghai Museum, and Yu Yuan gardens. We've stayed here the last couple times in Shanghai and had good experiences. The breakfast has a very good selection of western and Chinese items, and it's kept hot and fresh.
This time when we checked in our room was noisy because it was next to the mechanical room, and seemed to have been smoked in. The staff changed it with no further questions for a quiet, non-smoking room. When we returned a couple weeks later for another stay, they gave an executive suite. There wasn't much advantage, but it was a nice gesture.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare z, Front Office Manager at The Bund Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking time to review The Bund Hotel,Shanghai! This is our responsibility and duty to make sure every guest stay in our hotel along with outstanding service and product. Please feel free to contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more comfortable.

Clare Zhang
Front Office Manager
The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed 6 nights at the hotel. The hotel has perfect location within the walking distance to the major sites of the City - the Bund River Promenade, Nanjing shopping street, Yuyuan Bazzar and Garden. The room was clean, including the bathroom. The staff was friendly. I can not compare food. I have eaten outside this time. The only thing I did not understand why the lights above the bed has no switch. You must pull out the card from the main switch. With the price per night I can say it is a good choice.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the 5th and 6th floor where you have to change from lift to lift. No good. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miroslav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare z, Front Office Manager at The Bund Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Miroslav,

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at The Bund Hotel Shanghai! We are happy to know that you satisfied with our facilities and the service we offered. Regarding the lights above the bed, please press the BED R/L button of centralised control panel on the desk next to bed. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay in our hotel even more comfortable and enjoyable.

Clare Zhang
Front Office Manager
The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We statyed here for 3 nights on our tour. Firstly the hotel is an a great location, we were able to walk to the Bund and to the Nanjing road within 10 to 15 minutes.

We were upgraded on check-in to an executive suite onn the top floor, no idea why, perhaps we smiled nicely; fantastic room really enjoyed the seperate lounge etc.

Breakfast was, as we found with all the hotels we stayed in, very good. We did not try the restaurants as we were usually full from eating lunch; we found the little french bakery across the road from the hotel served delicous little sweet and savoury pastries and sandwiches at a very affordable price.

The room was very clean and kept that way by the cleaning staff and some laundry was done and is back the same day if you get it in early. We had ours collected at around 5pm and it was back next day by 5pm.

There is an automatic currency exchange machine in the lobby, takes a few minutes to get used to but works well.

There is a small supermarket adjacent to the hotel for getting things like milk, soft drinks etc.

There was a slight drain smell in the lobby when we arrived, but no sign of it in our room and the smell was not noticeable the following day.

I recommend this hotel and would be more than happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try getting on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjohn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare z, Front Office Manager at The Bund Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with The Bund Hotel, Shanghai! We are delighted to know that you appreciated the convenient location and efficient service. Moreover, It is our great honour to read your detailed review and for giving us a full score. Thank you as well for recommending us to other guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.


Clare Zhang
Front Office Manager
The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#142 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund Riverside Hotel
#164 of 5,035 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#210 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Peoples' Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Hotel

Property: The Bund Hotel
Address: No.525 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bund Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing