We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for long stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acme Sun Hall Serviced Apartment
Ranked #2,069 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 18 February 2008

I stayed at the Ascott on three separate occasions in the span of two years. I had a great stay each time. The one bedrooms are pretty roomy and the bathrooms are large.

There is a fitness center with an indoor pool and tennis/badminton court. We rented the courts a couple of times. They are fairly well kept.

There is a little minimart on the first floor in case need something quickly. Otherwise, it is pretty expensive.

The only thing that needed improvement was the menu in the restaurant. It was pretty tiring to eat the same thing all of the time. However, there is a free shuttle that will take you to a large mall a couple of minutes away. This mall also has a supermarket. The only thing is that it will not pick you up, so you'll have to get a taxi back.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank omahanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2007

My husband and I, as well as our 10 year old son and nanny, stayed at the Ascott for 18 nights, while we participated at a conference at the nearby convention center. I personally never left the Pudong side of the river, so can't speak to how convenient the Ascott would be for that purpose. For getting to the International new convention center (attached to the oriental riverside hotel), it was about a 20 minute walk, which was a couple of blocks from the SuperBrand mall. The Ascott has a shuttle which goes there several times a day (they even took us directly to the convention center when we asked). Taxis were always easy to come by from the hotel, though we were not usually leaving during rush hour. The taxi ride was fast and cheap.
We had both a one bedroom apartment and a two bedroom apartment. I had read in a couple of reviews that things were getting old in the apartments, but that was not the case at all for us. Everything was clean, and in new or nearly new condition. We were told when we arrived that we'd been upgraded to "executive" apartments, so perhaps that made the difference. The housekeeping service was excellent, and the staff always friendly and eager to please. At the front desk there was always someone who spoke English quite well, and they were able to make sure our taxi drivers knew where we were headed. As other reviewers have said, it is difficult to find the Ascott, but most drivers were able to at least come close with the directions we had written in Chinese, and we could usually get the rest of the way by pointing. Only once did I have to get out of a taxi and find a new one because the driver had no idea - didn't read any language I think.
I was not crazy about the breakfast, but there were a lot of choices if you don't mind eating things that westerners don't normally consider "breakfast food" I stuck mostly to the hard-boiled eggs and pastries. There was fresh fruit every day - usually watermelon and either cantelope or orange segments.
As far as the beds being hard, in our apartments they were firm but quite comfortable. The comforters were very nice. The water pressure was fine in the showers, though I did try to remember to turn the water on several minutes before hand as it took that long to warm up.
I used the combination washer/dryer frequently. It was very slow - took several hours to wash and dry a small load, but things did come out okay (somewhat more wrinkled than at home, but there was an iron and ironing board).
The internet service was great. We had a problem with our modem the first couple of days, but it was replaced and we had no problems after that. I had thought there would be some websites I couldn't get onto in China, but I was able to do everything I wanted, and quickly.
The food from room service was not fantastic, but was fast cheap, and adequate. The small market onsite was useful for getting a few items, but if you are going to actually be cooking you'll need to go to the SuperCenter at the mall. Limited dishes and cookware are provided, but a lot more is kept in a locked cabinet in the kitchen, which they opened for us on request in one of our apartments.
The fitness center was kept cool and comfortable and while there was only one elliptical, which is what I like to use, there was never anyone else there when I went. My son played tons of table tennis - the charge for using the table was low (less than $3 per hour), but we paid more than that to rent the paddles each time, so I suggest you bring your own if you'll be playing a lot. We'd planned to play tennis, but the indoor court was not air-conditioned and was just to hot for us. My son enjoyed kicking a ball around the soccer field (with goals),and the outdoor playground looked cute for younger kids.
Hope this helps. I highly recommend the Ascott for luxurious serviced apartment accomodations, especially if you have business in that area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I stayed at the Ascott Pudong Shanghai for 2 months from June to August 2007. Here are my thoughts.

I had a two-bedroom apartment on a high floor. I appreciated the balconies (3 of them), as I could let in fresh air and enjoy watching the rain. I wish the housekeeping personnel would clean the balconies, though, as they were quite dirty (from the dirt in the air) and I tracked a lot of it into the apartment (on the white carpeting) when I walked in and out.

It is true that the Ascott is not as new as it once was, but it is a very nice place. The apartment was spacious and there was substantial closet space. I wish I had so much in my house back in the states!

The master bath was wonderful. I appreciated the adjustable shower (as I am only 5 foot 3 inches), so that I could reach the shower head. The bathtub came in handy, as well.

The second bathroom was adequate (what I usually get in most hotels) and my son enjoyed having his own bathroom when he visited me.

The bedrooms are very nice. The blackout curtains don't quite black everything out, but they do an admirable job. The beds are a little hard (okay, pretty hard) and take some getting used to especially for us who are used to more cushioning.

The alarm clock never quite worked, so I used the wake up system on the phone. It never failed me!

I asked for a DVD player my 3rd week there and wish I had asked earlier (or that they had told me one was available). It made things a little easier when I couldn't sleep at night.

The kitchen was workable and I appreciated having all the utensils, pots and pans there for me. I could concentrate on cooking, not on buying cookware, so that was nice.

The common areas of the hotel are very nice--marble and such. An understated elegance that I do appreciate. The little store on site is a bit pricy, but nothing like the prices at other local hotels, and I did appreciate that (for instance, you can get a 12 oz can of soda on the street for 2 RMB, in the Ascott store it was 3 RMB, but in another hotel nearby (which shall remain nameless), my colleages were asked to pay 20 RMB).

The clubhouse is very nice and the workout room and pool (and jacuzzi) never appear too busy. I always found room when I showed up. I do wish the front desk clerk at the clubhouse didn't sneak off for a smoke in the office nearby--we can still smell it in the lobby!

The grounds are beautifully manicured. There are walking paths, a soccer field, a small playground, trees, tables and chairs, and a see-saw.

The Ascott also has a shuttle service that leaves at pre-designated times to local shopping malls and tourist locations. I only used it twice, but it was nice to know that I didn't always have to pay for a taxi to get where I wanted to go.

The breakfast is not on par with the buffet at the Intercontinental or even the breakfast offered at the Sofitel in town, but it is palatable. It has a variety of foods: eggs, congee, mashed potatoes, dumplings, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and hot chocolate, breads... and it can get a bit monotonous, but it fills me up.

The room service menu is a bit dicey, too. I ordered the jumbo burger and was served soemthing that looked nothing like jumbo (it was two small patties) and very little like a burger (I'm not sure it was meat--it may have been soy). But other items like the Spaghetti Bolognaise was wonderful. Besides, I tended to use Sherpa or other delivery services if I didn't feel like cooking.

I appreciated the staff most of all. They were very helpful. There was a little miscommunication at first regarding the inventory of items in my apartment, but we worked through that very quickly. The staff took pains to remember my name and which apartment I was in. They always worked hard to fulfill any request I made.

Jessica Fang is an outstanding front desk manager. She even took it upon herself to start up a class for guests to learn useful Mandarin and taught it herself. It was nice to learn some Mandarin and also meet fellow guests.

All in all, the Ascott was a good address to have for the two months I spent in Shanghai. I would recommend it for longer-term stays.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MilwaukeeCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

The room provides you every thing you need, but things are getting old here. The carpet is kind of stained and dusty that I can feel it on my feet. The living room are spacy...the kitchen is nice but I never use it. The walk-in closet "look" nice but "smell" terrible like a few pair of damp shoes were there before. The bath room is not as functional and is designed for 7-feet tall people.

In the morning 9 a.m. the maid got into my bedroom (well, she had to pass my living room, kitchen and there was another door to the bed room) and I was shocked. She saw me asleep and yet she asked (well...people here are loud by nature) if I want to have the room cleaned (!?)

The breakfast is terrible, I could only eat the soy milk. Coffee sucks, it was from dripping machine. Bread and pastries are limited. Street buns and dumplings taste better, I belive.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Nat1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We went there on oct 26 2006. It was a large apartment with two bedrooms. There are three televisions and a big kitchen. There even have a garden with a small children playground. Everything are nice and we enjoy our stay. This is a very good choice for family with kids.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HongKongMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2005

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights at The Ascott Pudong. We had an apartment with 2 bedrooms (1 king, 2 twins) and 2 bath (2 tubs, 1 shower). We were pleased with how well appointed the rooms were. From the living room, there was a view across the Huangpo river, although not exactly of the Bund. The kids were excited to find that not only was there cable TV, but also a DVD player and VCD player (with all those gadgets why go sightseeing?). The kitchen was small and sparsely equipped, but enough material was at hand to make simple meals. There was a clothes washer and the appliances were clean and looked quite new.

The hotel provides a shuttle service to a few of the more popular destinations, such as People's Square and that big shopping center in Pudong whose name I can't remember. The shuttle service is one way, however. No shuttle to the airport.

Breakfast was the usual mixed Chinese and Western fare, although, surprisingly, with less variety than we had seen in our 2 weeks of journeying through China. A small point - although our apartment was clearly set up for 4 people, they would only give us breakfast tickets for 2.

Finally, one of the drawbacks of the hotel is its location in the financial center of Pudong - somewhat removed from the cultural and historical center of Shanghai. In the 3 trips back to the hotel by taxi over 2 days, we could never get any of the 3 taxi drivers to figure out exactly where the hotel was. Although its address is Pudong Avenue, it is actually tucked behind a set of tall buildings so that its front entrance is not visible from the street. On the plus side, the taxi fare is low - about 17-22 RMB (US$2 to 3) from the city center - and it's about a 10 minute walk from the subway.

10  Thank BethesdaTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#31 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,437 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#6 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,789 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acme Sun Hall Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acme Sun Hall Serviced Apartment

Address: No.3 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#349 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £77 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Acme Sun Hall Serviced Apartment 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Acme Sun Hall Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Pudong Shanghai
Ascott Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing