We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Ranked #36 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Very comfortable stay.. rooms were well appointed, location was great, and the bar on the top floor with views over shanghai was a great way to unwind after a hard day at the office! The hotel is located right next to the subway, with easy access to the whole city. If you don't fancy the subway, concierge can hail you a cab from right outside - taxi fares are extremely cheap, but expect to arrive at your destination feeling a little stressed, standards of driving in Shanghai are pretty appalling!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear TheSherlock,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is the hottest rooms I have ever stayed in the room was 27C and the windows do not open. This hotel has a unique system where their is no A/C in the winter months. This was my first and last stay at the Radisson Blu.. I have always stayed at the JW Down the street with no issues. In the hotel defense on night #2 they upgraded my room and opened the windows so it was cold rather than hot. I travel 150 plus nights per year and was 100% dissatisfied with this location DO NOT STAY IN THE WINTER UNLESS YOU WANT TO SWEAT.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dynachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Dynachem,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I have noted your strong comment on the heating, this is a one person opinion, if it was the case as you state, we would be out of business. It is winter in Shanghai and the hotel runs the heating system centrally controlled and no rooms are showing 27 degrees C, it hovers around 22-23 C. If you wanted your room to be cooler, it unfortunately cannot be whilst running the heater unless you switch off the room heater controls or open your room window. Our records show that you were upgraded and the upgraded room was to your satisfaction. My apologies for any discomfort in your first room.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I've stayed here 5 years in a row for an October trip with MBA students. The views of People's Park and Nanjing Road East are appealing, and the quick trip to the traditional shops on Nanjing Road East are a plus for the location. The rooms are well-appointed, breakfast service is excellent, and the rooftop bar is a delight (view, band, and experience).

Looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Jon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you continue to enjoy your stays with us over the past 5 years. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It doesn't get any better than this. The hotel is centrally located directly opposite the Peoples Park. There is a subway station at the door, the hotel is physically connected to a shopping mall and everything is within an easy stroll.

The food is very good and promptly served. You must try the bar on the top floor. The view across the Shanghai skyline is amazing and the Filipino band that plays there is very entertaining.

There is not much to fault about this hotel, expect there are too many shops nearby to spend your money!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the business class rooms and you can enjoy the club lounge with an amazing vi...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear AussieGaijin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The more you pay for a hotel room the more your expectation rises.

I would say this hotel was fairly priced for the accommodation and for facilities available.

We got a deal of ¥1050 a night for a delux room as we walked in at 8pm looking for somewhere nicer than we had been staying until then.
Fair to say it was much nicer but we paid more than twice the price of our hostel.

You get what you pay for at the end of the day

No real personality to the big chain hotels but they are clean and have what you need

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Roamingjode,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

turned up at 9pm one night and bartered on the room price, finally got a suite for 1000 yuan

Lovely rooms, very quite and stunning views over the city.

eat on the 45 floor rotating resturant, nice meal and great place to see Shanghai from too

Room Tip: Just turn up and speak to the reception nicely, just wait until they give you a good price for the n...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan_Jody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Bryan_Jody,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand that you walked in without a reservation at 9 pm, yes at this time we are definite about a room going empty at overnight and hence you got a very good price. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel suffers quite similar fortunes of some other big name chains. The room was fine (upgraded on arrival without asking) and the location is excellent. My minor gripe comes down to the overpriced poor quality food on offer.

Arriving in the evening after a long day traveling we took the easy option of eating in the hotel (something we very rarely do) rather than venturing out in the dark in unfamiliar surroundings. Let me just say that unfortunately the menu description of the food far exceeded the actual dish that arrived. Not inedible but far from a good standard.

Apart from that everything else was fine. Our room had wonderful views, the hotel is situated in a very convenient location directly across the road from the metro station and Shanghai itself was a wonderful place! I wouldn't let my minor gripe stop me from giving a good review or from recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonelyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear LonelyBlade,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Apart from your mention about a food order, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Had you brought this issue up at the time, I am sure the staff and Chef would have been pleased to rectify and make you something to your entire satisfaction, my apologies. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,664 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#54 of 5,112 in Shanghai
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,298 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,112 in Shanghai
833 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £98 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing