We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Ranked #43 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The staff was able to communicate in English and the concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and taxis. The rooms were very clean, in good condition, and extra towels, tissue, and bath amenities were available. The heating was great and the room temperature was always comfortable. The cleaning staff did a good job except for one night when they were doing turndown service and I did not answer the door quick enough and they opened it with their key. I wish they would realize that if the key card for the power is still in the slot then they should not enter the premises. But other than that one minor thing the hotel is a very good value and an extremely convenient location to the connecting mall, metro station, and Nanjing Road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance8602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Lance,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment on the turndown service attendant entering your room after knocking, please use the "do not disturb" electronic sign if you don't want to be disturbed, keeping the key in the slot at the main entrance is only to keep the electricity power on whilst you are in the room. I apologize for any inconvenience. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Shanghai.
Staff very warm, nice rooms and bathroom.
Breakfast really remarkable.
If you are looking for a place every taxi driver knows without getting lost, this place is the solution as located in People's square.
Nanjing Road is at 50 m.
Metro is just downstairs (you do not even have to go out).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mascigab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear mascigab,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment on the bathroom amenities, coincidentally, we are in the process of changing the range by June this year. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great place to be definately. Location, access, neighbourhood all great. We had a suite room, well furnished could be a tad bit better but never the less would love to go back and stay here. Breakfast was good.
I have to mention the service- Its excellent. Helped us in every way possible.
Need to improve on their bath products, felt let down using their bath products. All in all would stay again and again...
I say job well done for the Hotel GM.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akavandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear akavandi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect. The pool is really good for swimming. Though when you get thirsty you have to buy water from the bar or minibar for 10$ pr liter. Normal price in shop is 0,5$ pr 1,5 liter. The rooms are great and feels classic even though it is modern and new. I cant complain on anything else by the way. Its a great place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Iniesta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Iniesta 10,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel and location. I have noted your comment on the price of a bottle of water from the mini bar, yes it is $ 10 for a one litre bottle of Evian water, that is good value. As you would be aware, we do provide 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water in the room that is replenished on demand, we cannot run a 5 star hotel at mineral water prices on free standing shops on the street. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel almost a week around Christmas. Was very good value for money as I booked through a booking website paying less than a 100 US $ for a room (breakfast not included). The room was big, nice bathroom and amazing view over the city. Location is very good as well. Reception, room service all very good. Do not expect a hip trendy décor or a state of the art design like the Park Hyatt of the Andaz in Xintiandi. It is a good chain hotel.
However this hotel has a serious problem with the heating and the room temperature as the other readers remarked. When I came to the room after a long day of sightseeing the room temperature was 27 degrees Celsius (80 Fahrenheit).I complained to the reception and apparently the manager visited my room and called later to explain what I should do in order to lower the temperature.
Indeed, it appears that when I was in the room the temperatures dropped gradually to 25. (still very warm) and at night it sometimes dropped to 24. Whatever I did (stopping the heater, alternating the heater settings, turning the ventilator option on, opening the window, and closing the window…) I could not lower the temperature further. As I come from a warm country, 24 degrees was not too uncomfortable for me. And again, the room was big and nice and I didn’t feel like moving so I remained there.
All in all a positive experience. Just know what to expect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fusion-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear FusionX,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am sorry to hear that you found the heating excessive and I am sure that the Duty Manager made amends to ensure your comfort, since we are in the middle of winter, we are only running the heating system. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The concierge was the best part of this hotel, very helpful with tracing my parcel and in terms of providing advises/ suggestion, although the business centre isn’t really that useful. The room (too dark), service and meal are average. The breakfast experience was quiet disappointing as the hotel is too big so always had to queue up for things such as omelet, soup…not really ideal when I had to run for meeting soon after breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirlzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear ShirlzH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Sorry to hear that the hotel is "not your type" for reasons at breakfast that are only normal in a busy hotel in a central location. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The location of the hotel is great. walking distance to the Bund and one of the main shopping streets.
The rooms are really nice and the breakfast is good. The bar in the top is ok, but not very stylish or popular.
All in all a perfect place to dive into the city life....

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Stephan_Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Stephen_Ger,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,852 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#68 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,222 in Shanghai
883 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#64 of 5,222 in Shanghai
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#110 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £87 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing