We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“goodness at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Ranked #38 of 5,138 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The very first impression of this hotel gives you a nice feeling.Very efficient check in,good smiling faces at check in desk,Well mannered staff adds to your joy when you find that you have stolen a very good bargain.
It is a difficult task to find flaws in this property,the only one is lack good English speaking staff but you can manage this.this hotel commands excellent location just opposite to people square metro station-exit 8 & just off the glittering east Nanjing road pedestrian street full of shopping & eating areas around.
Clean hotel with a revolving restaurant on 45th floor which is a multi cousine eating place adds to the goodness of this place.I assure you whether your are a westerner,,indian, ,Chinese,japanese, or from some other nationality. you would love to eat in epicure-45.
in short I enjoyed this property 4x to the amount I paid.
highly recommended to everyone

Room Tip: Stay at the highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bedianit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding our hotel, especially your key highlighted points about our location, dining experience and friendly staff. Our team is very focused on delivering our famous “Yes I Can” service philosophy and I thank you for your recommendation.

Again, thank you for your positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I have travelled to 14 countries now and this is the best hotel that I've ever stayed in :)
The best thing about this hotel was the Sky Bar. Awesome band from the Philippines and great drinks :)
The staff were all friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel if your in Shanghai :)

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank JackRoberts92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased to hear that out of your global travels you found Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World the best hotel you have ever stayed in. This is wonderful feedback and I will share this with my entire team. As you have highlighted, our Sky Dome Bar on the 47th floor sits well over 200 meters above the ground with live music 7 evenings per week. I am glad our staff delivered their famous “Yes I Can” service and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews, and our expectations were high.
To our great delight our expectations were not just me they were exceeded.

The hotel lovely, clean and tidy, with friendly staff genuinely keen to help. I had breakfast one morning and it was very well priced for a hotel of this standard.

The Skydome bar is nice but under used, with great views over Shanghai.

The hotel is perfectly sited for Nanjing Road, Metro (Peoples Square) station.

Would we stay again? Most certainly.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathekas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to have you to return to us. As you have highlighted in your review, we have an amazing location on the famous shopping street of Nanjing Road, directly opposite People’s Square and above 3 metro lines. I am glad that you experienced our Sky Dome Bar and I truly hope you could experience our Epicure on 45 revolving restaurant on your next trip.

Again, thank you for your positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

this hotel locates at a very good location, easily reach to subway line 1, 2, 8. just very close to the famouse walking street -Nanjing Road. There is a very good swimming pool with good size. The restaurants on 45 floor is amazing, you may enjoy your food of many choice while enjoy the night view of Shanghai. If you do not include the breakfast into your room rate, you can easily reach a Starback just 20 meters to the right of the hotel. So generally speaking, it is highly recommanded hotel. I think I will always stay here if I am in Shanghai.You wont be disappointed for your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Yu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and if visiting again you will be our valued return guest. As you have highlighted in your review, we have an amazing location on the famous shopping street of Nanjing Road, directly opposite People’s Square and above 3 metro lines. I am glad that you experienced our amazing revolving restaurant, Epicure on 45 with 360 degree panoramic views across Shanghai.

Again, thank you for your positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Overall service and value are good. I will choose this hotel and recommend to friends and colleagues & other people who ask my opinions. The 47 floor restaruant is highly recommended. The food and beverage are fatasitic and delicious. The view is money can not buy. Our family and friends had a wonder dinner and enjoy the 360 degress sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Ping Yi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding our hotel and I am very pleased you enjoyed our amazing Epicure on 45 revolving restaurant with 360 degree panoramic views of Shanghai. We also have an amazing bar two floors above called Sky Dome Bar that features live music 7 nights per week.

Again, thank you for your positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

On first impressions this hotel looks good but our experience was not a good one. We were allocated a room, despite having booked six months in advance and me being a gold card member for this brand of hotels that did not have any windows. It was effectively a cupboard. When we asked to move there were no other rooms available. The room was also next to some kind of electric generator so was incredibly noisy. Again we complained but nothing could be done.

Its signature rotating restaurant has a very dated feel to it and was incredibly overpriced. Four example they charged nearly $20 for a bottle of Evian mineral water.

Breakfast was also disappointing experience and a very poor selection of dried out pastries, meats etc.

The hotel's one redeeming feature is its location which is good for most sightseeing/shopping.

Shanghai is a city where you can get good service and good value-but not at this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank PKLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I was most concerned that you didn’t feel the stay met your expectation. Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World is consistently rated in the top 1% of all hotels in Shanghai thus your comments require further investigation. I sincerely request that you contact me directly at cmurray@radisson.com so I can further investigate your comments.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

the location is convenient and it took me a few minutes to travel to the Nanjin Road leisure path. Nice room and facilities with lovely city view facing a park, helpful staff, good swimming pool and gym. Fair internet connection at hotel room, though it's free. No chance to try the food yet. Recommend for couple and family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Oi Leng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

Thank you for your positive comments about the rooms, facilities and service from our helpful staff. There is no doubt that we are the best location in the heart of Shanghai, directly on the Nanjing Road, with shopping, dining and entertainment all within a short walk and we also have the convenience of being directly above 3 subway lines making accessibility very easy.

Again, thank you for your positive review and recommend. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,138 in Shanghai
2,697 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#52 of 5,138 in Shanghai
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,138 in Shanghai
1,325 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,138 in Shanghai
847 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#93 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £88 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing