We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Ranked #37 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location - great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

The title says it all. The hotel is steps away from the Nanjing Road pedestrian mall, across the street from People's Square park (and several museums), attached to the New World Emporium shopping mall, and a block away from the subway.

Service was great from the minute we walked in the door. We had booked our stay using Radisson reward points, but still got an upgrade to a very nice suite. Our room faced People's Square and the view from our room was gorgeous, especially at night.

We had a large sitting area with half bath, and very large bedroom, plus full bath with separate tub and shower. We also received welcome flowers and fruit. Everything was beyond our expectation.

Every employee we met bent over backward to respond to our needs, even the gift shop staff. ( FYI - their gift shop staff will barter - no need to pay what the price tag says!) We received the randomly generated Radisson survey when we got home and after returning it, received a thank-you email response from the hotel GM.

As with most hotels, the restaurants are expensive. We did spring for a western breakfast (one of the the things our son misses the most...) and it was okay but very pricey. Also, remember this is China, so don't expect a good cup of coffee. There is a Breadtalk (which is a bakery chain with stores located throughout Asia) just a block or 2 away on the pedestrian mall, so we recommend that for really good pastries and great coffee. Delicious! Breakfast for 2 at a Breadtalk cost less than a cup of coffee at Starbucks. The Skydome bar is rather dated in decor, but the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiftyplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    771
    175
    36
    29
See reviews for
267
423
146
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

This place has all I demmand to a Hotel: friendly staff, very clean and lominous rooms, and a modern forniture. Location is very good, right ahead the 'golden mile' Nanjing Road. This good location becomes a problem sometimes: some guys fill ioffer you 'lady massage'. everyitme you enteri or leave the lobby .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XXavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We had a MICE trip of 4 days & stayed at Radisson Hotel Shanghai New World from 4th to 8th April, 2009. We were a group of 11 persons. We were offered a non alcoholic welcome drink on arrival with hot & cold options. Checkin was quick. The best part was that 5 rooms were upgraded including mine. The rooms are spacious with a complete sete set of bathroom toiletaries. Nanjing street for shopping & the subway station, peoples square are a stones throw away. This saves you a lot of time & cost towards travel.
The staff was very helpful & fantastic housekeeping. The fresh milk in sufficient quantity was changed everyday. It was great watching HBO on the 32" plasma TV. The hot water jacuzzi is really worth a try. The view from my room no. 3608 on the 36th floor was impressive. Lastly the Filipino band playing right till midnight at the revolving pub on the 45th floor was impressive.
However this hotel is a bit expensive but worth the money.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishTela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Perfect location with excellent deluxe rooms and good services both for sports, relaxation and food.
during the last year breakfast has improved tremendously and the lunch and dinner buffes are excellent, the sea-food extravaganza is worth every penny and more.
Staff takes care, also in extraordinary situations like we encountered during our last stay
you will enjoy your stay at the Radisson New World!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jftraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

Loved the Hotel, staff and location.

A 4 day stay that was over far too soon.

I would not stay anywhere else in Shanghai now.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

This is a lovely hotel situated in the heart of shanghai at Nanging road. A shoppers paradise,
This hotel is comfortable and their service motto is 100 % satisfaction to all their guests.
Offers unlimited free internet.
Has a lovely breakfast spread.
And last but not the least is the Dome Bar where you can hava a city view, with live band and a relaxing evening.

  • Liked — 100 % satisfaction the motto of the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing specific
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShaneBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Great location -- opp Peoples park 2 mins to Nanjing Rd East ands Taobao city on 580 Nanjing Rd west -- duplicates market.
Great bargains -- you must discount the quoted price by 90%.

Clean rooms -- great buffet breakfast.
Kevin at the Bell desk very pleasant and helpful guy.
Young William gave us an extended check out time till 6 PM without charge.

  • Liked — Location and good clean hotel
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KapoorIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#33 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#46 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#89 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing