We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“close to Bund”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Ranked #634 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“close to Bund”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

It's close to the bund, less than 1 minutes walk. the room is normal, but they didn't clean it very well, I saw some trashes in the bathroom but weren't cleaned for two day. Poor sound proofing, the guests in the neighbor room was talking all night and very noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    127
    72
    15
    21
See reviews for
22
51
58
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
192 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

After going through the reviews at Trip Advisor, I decided to stay at this hotel. Due to delay in flight of Air India (by 7 hours) i reached 6 am in the morning. Check-in was not a problem as they had already allotted the room in my name. I booked a Executive Suit. The room size was very big with small kitchenette in middle and sitting area on one side. But I was surprised to see a very small toilet. Although toilet was fully equipped and clean but looking at the Executive Suit toilet was very very small. Even the picture at web shows much bigger toilets in executive suits. Also the furniture for sitting area looked aged and need to be replaced. But over all, I was satisfied with the cleanliness, comfort and above all location. Its very conveniently located near Bund, just walking distance and Nanjing East, the famous shopping area, is also very near just 10 mnts walking.
Looking at the rates of the hotel, I will say its perfect value for money and will definitely going to stay here during my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I thought I had found a low cost hotel in the heart of the Bund district in Shanghai for my recent trip there. On arrival, there was the usual swiping of credit cards and checking on the online booking. Fortunately I had a chinese speaking friend with me as no one behind the desk could speak a word of English. I was given my key and I then squelched, yes squelched my way to my unwindowed, ground floor room unaccompanied by any of the hotel staff. On arrival at my room there was an overpowering smell of wetness. When I entered my room, I was greeted with a round bed, with matching mirror above the bed! The smell of wetness was even worse inside the room than in the corridor. The bedspread had black marks all over it and the floor of fake boards were filthy and held together with transparent tape. The bathroom, which contained a large shower encased in clear glass, a toilet which had the paper dispenser so far behind that you needed to be a contortionist to reach it, and a sink. The entire bathroom was behind a clear glass screen with a transparent curtain. I had to let the water run for 15 minutes for it to reach tepid.There was no closet or wardrobe to hang clothes in but there was a two pronged hanger in the middle of one of the walls. When i enquired about this I was sent a half a dozen wire hangers.
On further inspection I found the source of the black marks that were on the bedspread and the wall. There was my very own bag of charcoal which was there to absorb the moisture.
The location of this hotel is very close to the Bund and is behind the famous Peace Hotel which appears very nice. If you have business in the Bund, the location is very good. However, if you wish to do anything else, like have fun, the location is pathetic. And don't bother asking the doorman to suggest some nightlife. All I got when asking about local entertainment spots was the willingness to drive to some dodgy oil massage parlour. Probably one of the scam jobs everyone is warned about, where you get taken for thousands for some beer. One of the younger attendants actually warned me about his fellow hotel worker. Surely as a tourist in a strange land, you should be able to rely on the hotel staff to look after its clientele. All in all, this hotel would have to be the worst possible choice of accomodation in Shanghai. I had booked for 6 nights and was gone by 10am the next day to a clean and even cheaper hotel in a much more convenient location. Don't get sucked in by the brochure or the website. It rates itself as 3 star, more like 0 stars. I am seriously considering seeking compensation for pain and suffering but it was just so bad, it makes for a good experience to tell people about.

Room Tip: Just don't waste your money on this dump. It should be condemned. Seriously, a tent in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grantie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

EAST LONDON SOUTH AFRICA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

we read all the reviews and we come to the same analysis - its just OK but because of the location on the Bund - this is why you stay here. The room/bathroom was clean enough and the bed and sheets quite ok so for the price and the LOCATION - yes you can do.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The room is just normal. kind of small and humid.. the lighting inside the room is very dim so you don't get to really see what is around. The bathroom is small as well.

The bed is quite big thought, round in shape and very comfortable.

But have to say, the location is sooooo good. You can go for a morning walk or evening stroll after dinner along the bund. It is very near. Very nice experience. you can also walk to nan jing road, it is nearby as well.

My parents were quite sad that there isn't any view of the bund from the room.. I told them, yah because we didn't pay the price for it, haha - the price is quite reasonable given such a location.

For those who was looking for breakfast place, i found one small shop which sells xiao long bao and noodles. when you come out from the hotel, turn left and walk straight. then turn right and walk along si chuan bei lu. after about 200m you will see many shops. there is one called nan xiang xiao long (it is not the original one but can satisfy your taste bud easily). Continuing on the road you will see another sheng jian shop. never get to try but it looks good!

Room Tip: you don't get to see anything views so it doesn't matter whethere there is a window or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach_lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Located within a minute of the Bund it is a great place to stay. 5 minutes to Metro station where you can get anywhere. Rooms were not large but well appointed and very clean. Some staff more helpful than others but generally good and could speak some english. Our room didn;t have a window that could open or for that matter look out of as it was opaque but at least it gave some natural light.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W-Lester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast City
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel, less that two minutes walk from the Bund, is decorated inside in the art deco style.

All the staff are off hand and rude in the all too prevalent Shanghai way, in particular the staff at the reception desk, which is decidely off putting when trying to check it..
That aside this hotel has a somewhat faded old world elegance as it is decorated in an over the top art deco style. The bedrooms, while adequate, give the impression of being somewhat small due to the over decoration. On each level there is a lovely oval shaped living/reception room with interesting pieces of art in the wall niches. Breakfast was good, with a reasonable selection. The dining room on level 8 has views over some of the surrounding buildings and a slither of a view of the Pearl Tower. Although the restaurant has a lunch and dinner menu, food service ceases at 6pm.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: While a guest at this hotel one feels as though the pulsing heart of world finance is only one step away. Out the front door, turn right and the Bund is immediately in view and under two minutes walk away. Heading left from the hotel Nanjing Road East Metro Station is a few minutes walk away.

Be careful when you are stopped by innocent-looking Chinese girls. They are trappers!

Room Tip: If you are travelling by metro to get to this hotel, take the Tianjin Road exit from the metro (Tian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,524 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#215 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#425 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
The Bund
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#755 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
The Bund
JinJiang Metropolo Classiq Hotel, Shanghai Bund Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Bund Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Bund Business Hotel

Property: Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Address: No.81-85 Dianchi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #634 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Bund Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manhattan Bund Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Business Shanghai
Hotel Manhattan Business

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing