We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Ranked #1,283 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights - we found the location to be perfect - a 1 minute stroll to the bund, street food close by, shopping and markets - and other amazing food within walking distance - or if you don't want to walk, the metro goes to all places - really cheap, accessible and only a short walk from the hotel.
Room and bathroom was a little small, but clean enough.
The grounds were lovely - always tidy, and a very quaint feel about the place.
Wifi - it states only in common areas, however we had access in our room as well.
Service - was very helpful and friendly.

Overal, would recommend staying here! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bclif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel is located approximately one block from the Bund.
It was built in the 1930's and really needs some updating and could use a facelift.
It is in the area by the Peace Hotel and the Peninsula Hotel.
There's a Starbucks and a Subway Sandwich place within
walking distance of the hotel. There are also other great restaurants
all around this area within walking distance and the location is safe.

The hotel is very average. Everyone is very helpful and the coffee bar has good cappucino's/latte's. The reception and check-in desk do speak somewhat good English.
The phone operator also speaks English. So you can get wake up calls
and housekeeping if you call the front desk, ext. 22.

There is no pool or fitness center in this hotel. The beds are not soft, but they are comfortable. The television has maybe one or two channels in English. All the other channels are Chinese. The bathroom is small, but my room had a bathroom with a tub and and a shower which was great.

So, if it's location you are looking for at a very reasonable price, then stay here.

Room Tip: I asked for the suite, which had lots of room but the bathroom was tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sightseer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stay 10 days the staff were incredibly nice , rooms clean and they help us on everything . Jacky the concierge is an angel he help , took care and make sure nothing wrong will happen to us . He introduces Linda a pretty , adorable tour Guide . If you come to Shanghai take that girl a perfect instrument on a city that doesn't speak any other that Chinese

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olgilta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

It's very handy to go to the Bund and Nan jing Rd and underground station. It is amazing that the street is quiet when the Bund is just out there. The hotel interior decoration is very classy. The room is not big, aircon is quite strong. The only thing I found inconvenient is there is no window in the room.

Room Tip: Ask the reception if they have a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

For 3 beds we paid $50 USD per night. Only a 1 minute walk to the Bund. Nanjing Rd. is only 5 minutes walk. Close to subways in case you want to visit Old Shanghai.

Room is immaculately clean and has a modern chic design. The lobby looks very ritzy and staff all speak great english. This hotel made Shanghai a perfect visit.

Room Tip: For tasty street food walk exit the hotel and walk left down the street towards Family Mart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

This hotel is my regular when I visit Shanghai. It has a good location - near to the bund, Nanjing road, near to subway station (Line 2), local eateries nearby.
Made two visits this year ...the first one was pretty bad. It was a first floor room. There was no shower curtain, shower cream was diluted, internet didn't work, no fridge, torn towel, stained bedsheets (wonder if the bedsheet was cleaned as it was creased up). I was about to give up on this hotel if my next visit saw similar standard.
The next visit was much better. Was in a 5th floor room. Everything worked (although internet was slow) and intact. So, I will continue to use this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assiniboine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in October and had a fantastic time...The hotel is quite old with a very nice art deco decor. My room was on the ground floor and did not have a window, but was huge clean and comfy. The beds are hard, but all beds are hard in China. You are literally a 2 minute walk to the Bund and a 5 minute walk to Nanjing road. The cafe in the lobby is great...Really good sandwiches, pizza and coffee. The girl that worked the cafe was a gem!! It was her Birthday one night and she was giving everyone cake. If you want a clean affordable place that is close to all that Shanghai has to offer this place is for you! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Qipu Road
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai,Rock Bund
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,023 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Bund Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Bund Business Hotel

Address: No.81-85 Dianchi Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,283 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Bund Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Bund Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Business Shanghai
Hotel Manhattan Business

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing