We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanghai Parkview Court Service Apartment
Ranked #1,906 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai, China
1 review
“terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

i stay here 3 months. the location is quite good near the shopping center, many restaurant and park nearly and convenience to transport.
the worth for me are awful breakfast, loud noise from upstairs and construction where near this please and i just lost 2 more toothbrushes from housekeeper throw. it's quite crazy.
my friend from korea must to leave here within 2 weeks and find for another places as well
as the website show fitness room, otherwise didn't have. have only internet cable, no wifi .
a bit bad, if i must to come here again i will find another place instead.

Room Tip: please read before you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praphat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel is located right in the middle of Xuhui District in Shanghai, and just off the very busy Zhaojia Bang Road. However, the hotel is tucked away a little bit so that it does not face the main road (which I think helps with the noise). Di Jing Yuan is more of a "serviced apartment" (a building of suites in which they rent out and provide housekeeping) rather than a hotel proper. I think most of the people who stayed here ventured out to the city as the hotel itself does not have any sort of appeal or amenities to attract guests.

What this place has going for it is its central location, spacious accommodations, and reasonable pricing. Ideal for budget travelers who are not looking for any fancy, but affordable and roomy accommodations in a central location. The room amenities were nothing special but adequate. Bathroom with shower, a kitchenette in a separate room, a dining space and queen-sized bedroom. They advertised internet in the rooms (for free), but it is through an ethernet cable but since my computer only uses wireless we couldn't get it to work. They also advertise room service (food and massage) but it seemed questionable and also, there are many options for food just outside the hotel. The building and rooms look old but everything looks fairly clean. Close to many shops, shopping malls, and restaurants, as well as subway and bus stations.

My stay here was decent and it was convenient since it was close to where I needed to work. However, I would probably explore other options next time, especially somewhere with wireless internet.

Pros:
Central Location
Large Suites (Bathroom, dining room, kitchen, bedroom)
Clean
Affordable

Cons:
Old and Ugly
No-frills (service was unremarkable, neither bad nor good)
No-views (if that's what you're looking for, look elsewhere)
Limited Amenities

Conclusion:
Mid-sized, middle of the road, but affordable and spacious accommodations in a central location. You could do better but you could also do a lot worse.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton, MA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

Check my more positive review of the Di Jing Yuan.
Something wrong with the pictures of the rooms on this site, because the Di Jing Yuan has more modern IKEA furniture.
We got kitchen utensils for the month of our stay, no
problem. We also weren't bothered by noisy neighbors,
(but perhaps we were the noisy ones). Outside traffic noise until
10 pm was very noticeable. Yes, the bed was hard and the kitchen small, but most Chinese serviced apartments are like that. Sleep on top of the duvet and ask for another blanket for the top. The cleaning staff respected our order and made the bed the way we wanted.

The location was terrific, not just for the upscale stores, but for the shows and entertainment on the street every day, plus it was not far from the subway.

This hotel does have a pool, but it is an outdoor pool and is
closed by November.

When we returned to visit the hotel staff in 2007 their English was
much much better. I think that must be true in all the big cities in China this year.

  • Liked — location, decor
  • Disliked — outside noise
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zjemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton, MA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

Friends in China found this serviced apartment. We paid about $2000 US for the month. It is in the center of Xujiahui, the IN place to live in Shanghai. Many PBS etc reports on modern China show a flash of this area in the beginning to illustrate the new economy. There is a park across the street with Sunday acapella groups that let you sing along, sculpture shows, Saturday concerts, and evening ballroom dancing. The rooms were spacious, very clean, modern, furnished in IKEA chic. The kitchen was modern, small by US standards, with microwave, fridge, stove, rice cooker, water dispenser. A washer/dryer was on the balcony. The bathroom was upscale, shower but no tub.

We loved the place, and the area. We stayed there in 2005 and 2006, and the only reason for not going back is so we can try someplace new. There were street shows, dancers, acrobats, singer, game contests, nearly every day, usually advertising some product. Food stores nearby, upscale shopping all around. The outdoor pool was closed in November but we joined the health club (Physical) in the Metrocity building with the big globe in front. Metrocity is where the subway is, a short walk from the hotel.

The area is less touristy than Nanjing Road, but we liked not being hassled as tourists. The English of the front desk is better each year. They let us try our Chinese, and helped us make theater reservations, etc. They didn't take credit cards, but let us stay the first night before we went to the Bank of China to change dollars to RMB. We didn't try the restaurant perhaps because there were so many good ones all around us, food courts, fancy tourist restaurants and dumpling hole-in-the-walls, all good.

Drawbacks: The streets are noisy and the windows are not soundproof enough. Still, the noise stops by 10 pm so it was amusing rather than annoying. Also they charge for internet use in the room, which is nickel and dimey to us, but it wasn't a lot of money.

  • Liked — The location and the spacious rooms
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zjemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

I stayed at the DiJingYuan apartments for two weeks in April. The room was a little cold (I couldn't figure out how to turn on the heaters, if there were any), but clean. The mattress was a lot harder than I'm used to, but I guess that's normal for China.

It was nice having a kitchen, and there is a washer/dryer combo thing out on the balcony for laundry. I found it a little weird that the kitchen doesn't have any dishware or utensils (not even chopsticks). You have to ask for everything at the front desk, and the cleaning staff kept taking it back the next day.

My room was pretty noisy - the walls are thin, and I could hear the people walking around upstairs all the time. There's also a lot of noise coming from the street (even on the 15th floor!)

One downside to the place was that the staff doesn't really speak English too well. Communicating was a bit hard at times (i.e. asking for dishware - I had to draw pictures :))

The best part of the hotel is its location. It's a couple of minutes from a large shopping area, including restaurants and a large food court. There's also a nice park across the street.

Avoid the restaurant on the 2nd floor -- the food was terrible! There are a lot of dining options in the area, and there's also a delivery service called Sherpa's that doesn't charge much. I used them a bunch of times when I didn't feel like going out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#50 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#176 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xujiahui
Home Inn (Shanghai Xujiahui Wanping South Road)
Home Inn (Shanghai Xujiahui Wanp...
#1,153 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#239 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
People’s Square
Tianci Service Apartment
Tianci Service Apartment
#2,026 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Parkview Court Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Parkview Court Service Apartment

Property: Shanghai Parkview Court Service Apartment
Address: No.88 Lane 999, Zhaojia Bang Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,906 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park View Court Service Apartment (Dijingyuan Jiudian Gongyu) is located in Shanghai's bustling Xujiahui commercial area, close to Xujiahui Park and Metro Lines 1 and 9. Guests at these Shanghai serviced apartments enjoy easy access to the bars and nightlife of Hengshan Road and the former French Concession as well as the international shops and boutiques of the city's celebrated Huaihai Road. Nearby Dapu Road also offer lots of local dining and shopping options. Shanghai Stadium is nearby as well.This 25-floor serviced apartment complex offers a range of room and suite options with one to three-bedroom plans all equipped with TVs, air conditioners, microwave ovens, washing machines, refrigerators and broadband Internet access.Dining options on-site include Chinese and Western restaurants as well as a café, and there are plentiful restaurants in the surrounding neighborhood. Recreational facilities include a bar, a gym and an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shanghai Parkview Court Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starway Parkview Court Service Apartment Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing