We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #40 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Great location, service wonderful. Rooms bright with great views of the city

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbs612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    864
    211
    65
    40
See reviews for
233
418
165
1,048
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

One of the best experiences I have had in a hotel.
This hotel is huge, with 760 rooms, except for the banks of lifts, it has the feel of a much smaller boutique hotel, where the staff are friendly, always have a smile on their faces and anticipation your needs.
As a Starwood platinum member, I was upgraded to the Le Royal Club. This has to be the best hotel Executive lounge in the World. The club floors are worth the little bit extra to get a lot.
Tina, Candy and the Manager Stefanie know every guest by name, know their likes and dislikes, and treat all the guests like family members.The food and beverage selection, is also the best I have encountered in all my travels.
Max the assistant concierge is a real character. When you ask Max for anything, it is like talking to an old friend.
I ate in all the restaurants during my 6 night stay, and Giuseppe the Italian chef, is happy to cook any dish that you want.
As a regular traveler for the past 40 years , very few hotels meet my expectations. Le Royal Meridien, Shanghai exceeded my expectations.
It was also great to see the General Manager of such a huge property in all areas of the Hotel, talking to guests.It is obvious that he Leeds this team of professionals from the front.
I am not a great fan of Shanghai, but I will return, just to stay in this hotel, and see the special people who work there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

The room, hotel and location is excellent. Can't ask for much more.

It is about a 15 minute walk to the Bund and a couple of minutes walk to the subway.

The only disappointing things
- when trying to claim starwood points to use for a buffet dinner, this took way too long organise
- at the buffet dinner, one whole section of food was not hot. We had to tell the chef that none of the hot plates were on. What was weird, was that he didn't seem concerned
- shower head didn't give out enough water pressure.

However, these things would not stop me from staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

I stayed in a Deluxe room, which was very spacious and well laid out. There was a nice sitting area and a business desk area, and the room had one of the largest closets I have seen in a regular hotel room, with ample space to house my open suitcase even.

The bathroom wasn't great however, as the shower area is quite small, almost an afterthought to the bathtub. Also, the marble flooring was slightly stained. While I do understand minerals in water can stain marble easily, this didn't make it any less unsightly. What did bother me were the strands of hair (clearly not mine) that I spotted on 2 occasions, the first being when I first checked in.

Service by the reception staff was good though, unlike what some of the other reviewers experienced. A lady who walked me to my room after I checked in even took the trouble to explain the interesting elevator music/ background sounds that is apparently a feature in some Le Meridien Hotels.

Service at the hotel dining room was not quite up to par though. At one breakfast tables remained uncleared while the staff stood around chatting. At one dinner the staff manning the buffet stations were absent a lot, eventhough the restaurant was quite full. They are also not proactive in replenishing the food stations, resulting in sometimes miserable portions of food on offer at the buffet stations. I decided the sushi would be too much of a risk. My main grouse was the food quality though. While there was a lot of variety and the average foreigner might well have been pleased with the spread, the quality of food was not good. Food clearly was left to sit under the warmers for long periods of time. I tried one of the highly touted "Signature Breakfast" dishes by "three-star Michelin chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten", a spinach dish, however it appeared to be seasoned in brine. Poor execution to blame probably.

My final grouse: I was not able to sleep well, as the air-conditioning/heater in the room is centrally controlled at night. Although it was almost zero degrees outside, it was too warm in bed as the comforter was very warm, and I was not able to adjust the heating in the room down. It was so warm I ended up kicking off the covers at night. Also, the heater was pretty noisy.

The best thing the hotel has going for it is its central and convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We just spent 6 days in Shanghai. Over the course of those 6 days, we stayed in 3 different hotels because we wanted to try out the different hotels Shanghai has to offer. Our first 2 days were spent at Les Suites Orient, followed by 2 days at the Fairmont Peace Hotel and 2 days at Le Royal Meridien. It turns out we were saving the worst for last. Here's what we thought about Le Royal Meridien:

CLEANLINESS: It's shocking that a hotel of this price (our 1734 yuan/USD 260 per night rate did not include breakfast) could be this filthy. In addition to the fungal growth that was slowly forming a ring around the bathtub (see accompanying photo), we found hair that wasnt ours within minutes of entering our room for the first time (we know it was not ours because we both have black hair and the hair we found was red/brown). Other unsavoury aspects of the room: a bathroom floor that was stained a yellowish-brown (see photo), a beat-up lacquer box for toiletries (see photo) and shabby towels and bathrobes. We dont think the housekeeping staff are to blame, however, because we often saw them hard at work cleaning one thing or another. What we think is the problem is that the hotel management has overstretched their housekeeping staff, with too few staff to adequately clean the 761 guestrooms in the hotel.

SERVICE: A lot has been said about the service--the last reviewer thought that the staff were helpful and polite, but most others have been less generous in their appraisal. We tend to agree with the latter. It's not that the staff were not able to help us sort things out, but it was more that they were too busy to bother with being courteous. The staff at the reception and concierge desk were particularly bad. The reception staff checked us in and out in such a hurried and brusque manner that it felt a bit like we were at a fast food joint. At the concierge desk too, the staff were knowledgeable but abrupt, answering questions while they were preoccupied with conducting other tasks. Other staff members just seemed like they lacked basic training. When we asked a waiter to clean our table at breakfast, he promptly swept the bits of food off the table onto the floor with his napkin. He then proceeded to grunt with frustration because he had to rearrange our table before he could set down our pot of coffee. We expect this sort of service at the Huanghe Food Street, not at Le Royal Meridien. In our minds, the poor service did not have anything to do with the level of English spoken by the staff or the fact that we were in China. The other two hotels we stayed at--Les Suites and Fairmont Peace--also had Chinese staff and they didnt seem to have any problems conducting themselves with professionalism and courtesy. Also, one of the staff whom we found rather curt was not even Chinese, but an expatriate who spoke English like it was his native language.

ROOM DESIGN: The interior decor of our deluxe room was downright naff (yellow wooden panels, Christmas lights surrounding a painting in the headboard of the bed), but we'd be willing to overlook this if the layout hadnt been so bad. The bathroom in particular seemed like an afterthought in the mind of the interior designer. In fact there was no bathroom per se, there was a sink that was open to the living and sleeping area and then a separate cubicle for the toilet and another compartment in which both the bathtub and the shower area were crammed in, without anything to separate the bathtub from the shower. What this means is that when you take a shower, you flood the entire floor around the bathtub so that it would then be impossible for you or someone else to take a bath without stepping into the dirty shower water.

There were a few things that we liked, however:

BREAKFAST: The quality and variety of the breakfast buffet (240 yuan/USD 36.50) was commendable.

SWIMMING POOL: The swimming pool was large, with excellent views of the surrounding buildings. There was also a jacuzzi next to the swimming pool (and two in the men's changing room, though none in the women's changing room). What was not so commendable was that the towels in the changing room were rather worn. One towel we used was completely frayed on one side.

PUBLIC AREAS OF THE HOTEL: Unlike the decor of our room, the decor of the public spaces was tasteful. The signature scent used in the public areas was also very pleasant.

LOCATION: Although the hotel is not on the Bund, it is right next to People's Square and East Nanjing Road. A major metro stop is about 5 minutes walk away, which makes the rest of the city very accessible.

OVERALL VERDICT: With 761 rooms, the staff are overstretched and the overall quality of the hotel is heavily compromised. Although there were positive aspects to the hotel, we would probably not stay here again. The other 2 hotels we stayed at (Les Suites and Fairmont Peace) offered far better value for similar rates.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adriangabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location is superb, the rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable. The breakfast is quite outstanding if a bit expensive. Unlike many other reviewers we generally found the staff helpful and polite: a bit reserved but my feeling was that this might be due to a problem with spoken English. Other travellers might feel done down by this but, hey, you're in China pal, and we always managed to sort things out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

The hotel is beautiful, and my spacious room had an amazing view overlooking Shanghai. Unfortunately, the staff wasn't that helpful. The concierge's desk failed to answer most of my questions (e.g., "How far away is this spa?", "Where can I buy a stamp?"), and they were not very friendly. If you are looking for a hotel that is centrally located, then you may like Le Meridien. However, given the amount they charge, the hotel staff could have been more helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#35 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing