We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic Club!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,140 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I spend many days of the year in China and when in Shanghai I like to stay around Nanjing Road as its an interesting and busy bustling area.
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is on Nanjing Road adjacent to Peoples Square and is ideally placed.
I highly recommend you pay the extra to stay in one of the Royal Club rooms. They are spacious, very well equipped and with comfortable beds and the Bund views in the evening from these upper floors is also amazing.
But the best reason for choosing a Royal Club level is the Lounge on Floor 44. The staff are extremely professional & welcoming and even though I arrive from London before midday I am always able to check-in. The breakfast in the morning through to the dinner tasters in the evening are very welcome when your body is still trying to adjust to the time difference.

I've stayed at many hotels around the world and can honestly say that the Club Lounge at Le Royal Meridien is probably the best of all of them!

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose either the King room or Junior Suite on the Club level with a Bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon-S--UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Reviewer - WOW! thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in our hotel and we are delighted to receive a full score. The team and I look forward in being of service should your travels bring you back through our exciting city of Shanghai.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shangha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

The best for me was the location. Easy access to metro and right in the center near the Bund.

Rooms are big, standard business hotel.

The breakfast was too expensive

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above ventilation. Noise begin at 6 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csousa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Shanghai and for sharing your feedback with our partners at Tripadvisor.com. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope to be of service again in the future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our stay here was a very pleasant one and I would be happy to stay again. The location is excellent and the rates seem reasonable. The Bund view room we chose did indeed have a spectacular view. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is varied and good.
A few small pieces of (hopefully) constructive criticism:
The room wasn't quite set up for the two occupants it was booked for, only one set of slippers was in the room. It's only a small point, but in a five star hotel it is attention to detail (or lack of it) that makes one stand out from the next.
At the egg station for breakfast, the server asked how the eggs should be cooked and then ignored the request and ignored attempts to stop.
The baby high chair we were kindly provided with at breakfast on the first morning was quite dirty, with the appearance of more than one morning's grime.
The following morning at breakfast a staff member took the high chair from our table, even though I was sitting with the baby on my knee and asked him to leave it (in Chinese & English) he was just distracted, but the lack of attention is frustrating.
So overall a good experience in a busy hotel and with these small points taken on-board it would be truly five star.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank AlwaysNearWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for your honest feedback and suggestions for the hotel and I will be sharing with the team today. I could not agree with you more that it is the details that make a hotel great, to which we strive for here at Le Royal Meridien in Shanghai.

The team and I do look forward in being of service again in the future.

Keep Discovering!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Voila!! Le royal Meridien Shanghai is located at the heart of Shanghai's most famous and crowded pedestrian street!! Very professional and helpful staff for allowing me to check in early at 10 am despite the hotel being full. Room is very spacious for a downtown location and modern. I would recommend it to my friends and families on any days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackyYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for sharing your Le Meridien Stay feedback with our friends at Tripadvisor.com and the team and I are humbled to receive such a positive review and a full score.

We look forward in being of service when your travels bring you back through Shanghai.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

You get what you pay for! Located in the heart of the city, a 2" walk to the Pedestrian Street, seconds from three coffee shops, donut shops, and Cold Stone Creamery, close to dozens of restaurants and groceries, and a 5 minute walk to a very nice Metro, well signed in English and easy to navigate. One could even walk to the Bund, though it is maybe a 20" walk. The hotel lobby starts on the 31st floor and goes up from there. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom modern, though we were a little surprised that the shower is in the tub room...separate from the tub, but not a separate room. Amenities like coffee, tea, and iron in the room. Free wi-fi in the lobby. The breakfast/brunch is like all hotels in China of this caliber...sumptuous and many somethings for every nationality! Really excellent choices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for such a positive review on Tripadvisor and we are pleased to read that your stay was a memorable one. We do hope to be of service during your future visits to the exciting city of Shanghai.

Keep Discovering!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Overall very nice experience during my 3 night stay at le Meridien. Location is clearly one of the most positive element as the hotel is basically on People Square, at the very beginning of Nanjing Road - so clearly at the heart of the City! This said, for an hotel of this standard I found my room quite small and weirdly built...also, the hotel was quite noisy at night...
Three elements undermine the overall feeling of comfort you may have when in this hotel
1 - the elevators - a nightmare, with specific elevators for specific floors but not all located at the same place...well you keep looking for the right elevator all the time!
2 - Breakfast area is very noisy and outside terrace is open only when the staff is hot enough!
3 - I was offered to pay my bill in Euros or RMB, paid in Euros and realise just on time that the price is Euros was basically 150 euros more expensive than the one in RMB..."exchange rate is not as good as in a bank" was the only explanation I got for this!

Special good mention for 'Color Zone' the hairdresser / nail salon where I got a really nice cut + manucure for 50 euros!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends and partners at Tripadvisor.com. Whilst we appreciate your positive review, we do apologise for not having fully exceeded your expectations. I will share your feedback with the team today.

thank you again!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We checked into this hotel because it is located in the heart of Nanjing Road, and at night the pedestrian walk way really comes alive! Because we were there during the Easter weekend, the hotel was very crowded, and so check-in was quite slow. We were given a standard room which might while small is quite efficient. We were given access to the club room, and so we went there for breakfast it was a zoo, virtually no place to sit, and the attendants tried to accommodate everyone. They ran out of most food, juices, and even glasses. . . and I think the attendants were too tired to keep it filled. Despite the slow and less than attentive service, we still enjoyed our stay here, partly because we saw how swamped the staff was, but I think management could have done a better job to deal with the crowd.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank hkfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Reviewer - thank you for you for sharing your recent experience at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai with our friends at Tripadvisor and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies for the hiccups you incurred during your Easter weekend and I will be sharing with the team later today.

Keep Discovering!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#55 of 5,140 in Shanghai
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#57 of 5,140 in Shanghai
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#124 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £112 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing