We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, fresh, small corner rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 2 separate nights (checked out, then came back a few days later) at this hotel during a 12 day tour of China and 4 cities. We were on a family trip and I had my 2 boys in my room. For 1 or 2 people, these rooms in a city hotel would be a fine size, but for 3 of us, it was tight. ** the corner rooms are very small, we could barely fit a rollaway, it was probably not to code to have it in there. The 2nd time we checked in and had a regular room, it was more spacious, with a couch and room for the rollaway. Also, rooms with 2 beds are not twin or full size, kind of something in between. So 2 children could not share these beds, just fyi. It worked fine for us with a rollaway, but my brother's family of 4 had to make up some creative sleeping arrangements to fit. This definitely seemed like a business hotel, lots of American guests, not many families there. Which is fine! It was a beautiful hotel, and the breakfast buffet is TO DIE FOR. Amazing food, and a juice bar and fresh yogurts. Really delicious.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank ABP805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our friends on Tripadvisor.com.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, and we hope it has offered you energetic and fresh mornings in our hotel. Our room size varies with the structure of the building, so we are very sorry for what have bothered you during your stay. You can choose to upgrade your room for a more spacious one next time, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Royal Meridien for two nights at an end of a business trip in China. I was upgraded to a Superior Room with a great view of the city. The hotel is centrally located along Nanjing Road. Service was very good. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The spa was nice but nothing special. They did have a nice pool inside but the logistics of getting there from the changing rooms was a little awkward.

Overall a great stay and would reccomend for anyone traveling to or through Shanghai.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

It is such a great pleasure for us to receive your positive review on Tripadvisor.com. We are honored that you are satisfied with almost all the aspects of our hotel. Thank you for your recommendation and suggestions. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. The staff are courteous and helpful. Some fantastic views of the city from the room. We were on on the 37th floor and the city looks stunning especially by night.

The elevators take some getting used to - a different elevator from ground to lobby and another elevator to the floor. However that's not a drawback, just an observation:)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MeenuManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us such a high rating regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed the superb view of the city from our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon and continue your discovery journey in Shanghai.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for three nights in a Club Royal Deluxe Room in October 2013. Highly recommend the Club level rooms as they are on the higher floors, and include access to the Club Lounge. City views are as good as the view of the Bund.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your positive review with our friends on Tripadvisor.com. We are so delighted to know that you had a memorable experience at our Royal Club and that you enjoyed the beautiful view. We look forward to being of service again when the next trip brings you back to Shanghai in the future!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I spent a few days at the Royal Meridien Shanghai to celebrate 2013 New Year. The rooms were nice and modern - not luxurious, but comfortable enough. The Royal Meridien Shanghai enjoys a fantastic location, bang on in the middle of Nanjing Road.

The highlight of our stay was the Club Lounge - great selection of canapes in the afternoon and drinks in the evening.

The spa was also very good, although the therapists speak limited English

Probably the only downside to our stay was the aggressive selling of room upgrades by the reception staff upon check-in

Overall, good value for money and a memorable stay

Room Tip: Club rooms are definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginsengwu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with us during such a special holiday.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time at our Club Lounge and Spa and our overall service was up to your expectation.
I appreciate the comments that you have shared on our brand website. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location right on Nanjing Road (although taxis seem to know it by saying Shimao, and not Le Meridien). The checkin was very friendly and quick and while the elevators were complicated there was enough people to show which way to go to the right ones. The room is very modern and amazing views over Shanghai with the giant windows. The breakfast spread was superb and I spent a lot longer there and ate a lot more than usual! They have a brunch on Sundays which looked really good and busy but I already had plans to go outside so I didn't sample it. the bed was very comfortable and the room nice and light. The bathroom is a bit open plan and quite trendy I suppose.

Room Tip: Great views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteketes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are so honored to read such a positive review from our guest. Thank you for sharing your feedback with our friends at Tripadvisor.com. The team and I are looking forward to being of service again in the near future.

Best regards,

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a beautiful high rise hotel with great service. The lobby is on something like the 15th floor which is not common in American hotels but maybe more common over here. That said it takes a little while to get from the ground floor to the lobby. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The allowed me to convert some money to Chinese yuan or remimbi (same thing). The hotel itself is in a very big building that was easily identifiable when looking at the skyline. I liked it architecturally and the public places were very modern with lots of marble and clean lines. While Le Meridien does not have as many locations in the US they are part of the Starwood chain along with Westin and Sheraton and I found it be similar to a Westin which is one of my favorite chains.

I ate at the restaurant buffet one night and it was good although I dont think I would have raw octopus again, I did enjoy the other offerings. The hotel was close to our company's offices overlooking Peoples Square and the Shanghai museum and other public buildings which is a great space in a city that seemed to have limited green space. I did enjoy the dramatic views from the hotel bar at the top of the hotel. You have great views of the surrounding buildings and the high rises in the Pudong area. I will say meals at the hotel were generally far more expensive than eating out at other restaurants I went to by and large part. This was also true of their breakfast buffet. There is a nice mall a couple blocks away towards Peoples Square and it is also close to a number of high end shops on Nanjing Rd. as well and a short walk to the Bund.

I will say that one thing I really did not care for the open view of the bathroom area into the living room area of the room through the clear glass window. Being the only one in the room it was not a problem but if I were sharing the room I would have found that uncomfortable. Also regarding the bathrooms, they had a nice tub as well as a rain shower. You definitely should try the rain shower it was very nice. They also had some great terry cloth robes that were nice after a relaxing shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_wildcat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Wow, thank you so much for such a great review regarding your recent stay.

We are glad that you had a great stay at the hotel, especially enjoyed the convenient location, stunning views and attentive service. Meanwhile we appreciate your suggestions and comments in the areas that we still have space to improve.

Thank you very much and we hope to be of service again in the near future!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#50 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,150 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#148 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £105 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing