We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

You can't beat the location and the rooms are large with both a bath and shower albeit a bit dated.

Unfortunately I stayed at the start of December when there were big smog issues in Shanghai (flights cancelled) so there was no view, and like a previous reviewer has said the smog was actually inside the hotel. I don't think you can blame the hotel for this though - I don't think any air filtration system could cope with pollution that was 25 times greater than WHO limits!

The breakfast selection was excellent, and the mini bar reasonably priced.

Two negatives though:

1/ The staff do not respect the 'do not disturb sign'. When I am jet lagged I do not appreciate being woken up by a call to ask me when I can be disturbed!

2/ There is no cheap option for lunch in the restaurant. You have to pay £30 for the buffet lunch. superb buffet - good value if it was a dinner buffet, but too much for lunch. I guess the alternative would have been room service.

Anyway - above two niggles aside I would stay there again - just hope the pollution is not as bad the next time I travel to Shanghai!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Patrick O O,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments regarding your recent stay with us at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! Our location and our view are two things of which we are most proud! It is unfortunate that your dates coincided with the heavy smog, but we hope this will motivate you to return quickly to enjoy the beautiful views that our hotel does truly offer! We will discuss with our associates the importance of respecting this do not disturb request as we understand that many of our guests are flying internationally on a regular basis. Regarding our lunch options, we do have an a la carte menu in Le Bistrot as well as business lunch set menus in both Favola and Allure, our Italian and French restaurants. We hope that you have the time during your next visit to discover these options!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    911
    223
    67
    42
See reviews for
261
441
174
1,172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As SPG gold member, we expect much better service though we stayed during the holiday. We got king bed Bund view room though I expect I received much greater upgrade. The room itself is quite strange especially the bathroom. The design is strange and the size is so small, and also the toilet. The room is quite nice with the view. Now the bad thing is, often we smell smoke especially inside the bathroom and the toilet. Please check your exhaust or maybe the air conditioning. Or maybe during our stay, there was someone smoked from above. I was really disappointed to get this room. The housekeeping tried to refresh the room but it did not solve the problem. Or maybe it is the heater's smell which I do not think so. The breakfast selection is quite huge and the tastes are OK. They also offer two complimentary cappuccino or espresso. The recognition as Gold member is hardly to be seen. In another SPG hotel in Shanghai, I always receive either fruit,cookies, snack in the evening but not in this hotel.
Only location and the view from the room save our bad mood. Service should be upgraded to higher class compared to another hotel. I hope I can see improvements the next time I stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vip282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear vip282,
We greatly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share with us your concerns. For our loyal SPG members, we always strive to go above and beyond, therefore it is unfortunate to learn that your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai did not meet your expectations. It is of utmost importance to provide for our guests a comfortable atmosphere in which you can relax and enjoy your stay. We will do our best to rectify the situation regarding the smoke odor. On a positive note, we are very happy to know that our location was convenient for you during your stay and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful views from the comfort of your room! We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at which point we can show our appreciation for the loyalty that you show us!

Until next time,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Le Royal Meridien in December for two nights. I was really pleased with how big the room was. The shower and bath tub were very large and comfortable but there was a lot of dust hidden away towards the celling. The bed area had a couch as well as a large desk overlooking People's Square from our 32nd floor.

The breakfast buffet was included in our rate and was impressive. There was a very large selection of food from around Asia and from the west and it was all very good.

Location wise, the hotel is perfect. It is right on Nanjing Road across from People's Square and near the metro lines. It was very easy to walk to all of the tourist areas in the city.

Our flight back to the states wasn't until 5pm so we'd asked to extend our check out. It was available and we had no problems checking out at 2pm.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay again if I find myself in Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGal418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear TravelGal418,
It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback following your recent stay with us at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! We will pass on your comments to our culinary team regarding the breakfast buffet as they are always striving to insure a wide selection is offered for our diversity of guests. We are very proud of our convenient location in the center of Shanghai and are always happy to hear that this made it easy for you to find your way around! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Arrived on a rainy day and drove right under the overhang. My wife and I were driven there, I would not want to drive there myself. We were met immediately by hotel staff and directed to the elevators to take us to check in. There are two banks, one for lower floors and one for upper floors, fortunately there was someone at the banks to direct us, even pressed the buttons. Room was great. Saw a previous post, it must have been awhile ago, as our room was in great shape. We went out for a walk and found the hotel to be very well located. Room service was quick and complete.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBrannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear JoeBrannin,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments for us at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! As a team, we work very hard to provide for each of our guests a memorable experience, and it’s always wonderful to hear such positive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the very near future!

Safe travels,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I frequently stay at this establishment - its a grand old dame these days obliterated by many newer hotels in town - so treat it as 4-star. The rooms are seriously tired and often musty / moldy ... the carpets in serious need of a good wash (replace them !!!). However, having said that - it is conveniently located right on Peoples' Square and Nanjing Road East pedestrian area and the breakfast and dinner buffet is pretty good with a wide selection. The 789 Bar has phenomenal views but also in serious need of a refurb/revamp !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.com and for sharing your experience with our friends.
It is disappointing to know that our facilities were not able to meet your expectation during your stay. Your feedback is very important for us to make further improvements. I have already shared your feedback with the entire engineering team to make sure that we are working on it.
We hope this will not discourage you to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back and to providing you with a memorable stay.

Sincerely,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is one of the best and sophisticated hotel i have ever stayed in China. First time visitors would be a bit confused to locate the hotel to start off. It is located in a complex were the lobby is located in 22nd floor. Rooms are spacious, with a work area, sofa bath tub etc in offering. The wardrobe is the most sophisticated one!!! See it to feel it. The rooms have a very good view of Nanjing road. As you come out of the back door( Adjacent to the lift lobby) you enter Nanjing road. Adjacent tot he exit door, you have a bakery where you can get freshly baked bread/other drinks ets, which i should say was one of the best!!!.

Nanjing road is a ocean of shops with huge crownd thronging onto streets during weekends.

You can see senior citizens enjoying their day out on weekends as they perform group dance etc!!!!

Overall, the hotel is centrally located, good service, good view, good and clean room( Though the second i visited in 2013, i had issues with cleanliness) rest everything was very good. Highly recommended when in Shanghai!!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Nanjing road, and on higher floors, you would enjoy the view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for sharing such a detailed review about your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that our hotel’s central location has provided convenience and wonderful experience to your travel. Our guests’ satisfaction is our highest pursuit. We truly look forward to welcoming you or any of your friends back to our hotel in the future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Got in late and we just decided to eat at the lobby restaurant, my wife was so hungry so she just "jumped" into the buffet, I first took a look at the buffet and it looked quite "Chinese" but have some western food, I asked the price for the buffet, 368 RMB + 15% ! So I decided to get a beef burger, price was 178 RMB + 15% so I expected a quite big and juicy burger, what I got was a small, tiny, dry, completely "dead" burger without any taste, a cheese burger from Mac D will beat this burger at any time. So disappointed that a hotel with so high standard serve food with so low standard. Hotel is good and breakfast is great, so next time I will just go to Mac D....

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matize81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Matize81,
We thank you first and foremost for your constructive comments that will help us continue to drive our efforts to improve our guest experience. In our signature restaurant, Le Bistrot, our chefs work diligently to ensure that a wide array of options are available to match the diversity of our guests. We currently offer Chinese, Western, and Indian cuisine while always having an a la carte menu available as well. We are dissatisfied with your experience in our signature restaurant. We will pass on these comments to our culinary team to ensure that both the buffet and the a la carte menu consistently include a variety of options that are always served to the highest quality.

Enjoy your day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#47 of 5,105 in Shanghai
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#143 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing