We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean room but unfriendly ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I appreciate my stay in Le grand royal meridien but when i check in the front desk manager Mr. Vaness Liu was really unfriendly and didn't not smile at all, when my wife ask him a question, he told her in a arrogant way, "as i all ready told you ". When i ask him about if i get a breakfirst, he answer no breakfirst and no internet, when i walk to the lift i see the add about if you reserve your room on spg.com (i did reserve on spg) you get free internet, i turn back and ask him ? He answer do you reserve on spg and i say yes than he answer let me check in the system, and give me the password for internet. Why could he not inform me before when i check in !!!! Other than Mr Liu, hotel staff are extremely friendly and competente.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Johannoberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Johannoberson,
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us regarding your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai. SPG recognition is of utmost importance to us and even more of a priority is for everyone on our team to always be friendly and as helpful as possible! We are very happy to hear that aside from the setback during your check-in that you had an otherwise positive experience with us! Please come see us again soon!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have now stayed at this hotel about 5 times over a few years and it is always good. The staff are helpful, the buffet breakfast is extensive and the rooms are pleasant. We also used the a la carte restaurant on the same floor on the last visit and that is good as well. Really centrally located for the shops too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear CNettie1,
It is such a pleasure to learn that you’ve had the opportunity to stay with us at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai quite a few times and that your experience has been consistently positive. This is an accomplishment that I look forward to sharing with our team! We do hope to see you again soon!

Until next time,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel would be one of the best in Shanghai. This was a business trip that I had organised for approx 30 clients - The Hotel was in a great location, rooms were amazing, fantastic view of the City and surrounds. The staff were attentative, friendly and so helpful. Thank you to Eric in Concierge - he couldnt do enough for us he certainly went above and beyond any concierge I have ever dealt with in Australia or overseas. The GM and his direct reports were outstanding - they made a special effort to greet our guests and say good bye on the last day. I highly recommend their Club Lounge, its quite and you can enjoy breakfast or a drink later in the day. The bar is amazing the best views in Shanghai. If you are organising a conference or on holiday I highly recommend this hotel. I enjoyed a massage in their Spa Complex and went back again and again... very relaxing....

Room Tip: Club Access is definately worth it. Their bar has the best view in Shanghai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijou_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Bijou_8,
When organizing a business trip for so many people, we know all too well all the small details you must attend to, therefore we are very happy to hear that our team was successfully able to take care of you upon arrival so that you could relax and enjoy your experience at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! We are thrilled to share with our team all your positive comments! We do hope to see you again the next time business brings you to Shanghai!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I obsessed over where to stay in Shanghai on business since it's such a large city with so many hotels. I wanted a central location to get to the office, be in an active area in walking distance to shopping and food, have a good room and gym, and be in the price range that the company would pay for. This turned out to be a great place for me in all regards. After I arrived, I checked out all of the other chain and boutique places I thought about staying, and again, this was the right place. I could nitpick on a few items if this was a 5 star resort, but its not. It's just a very good, large business hotel with all of the amenities. It has spacious, clean, well-designed rooms with comfortable beds, big gym with pool and hot tub, steps from the subway, 10min walk to the Bund, shopping and food everywhere, abundant breakfast buffet, and attentive concierge service. I'll return on my next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAK1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear PAK1820,
We are more than delighted to hear that Le Royal Méridien Shanghai was able to fulfill most everything you were looking for on your recent trip! On your return to Shanghai, we do hope you’ll have time to enjoy Le Spa and our array of bar and restaurant options throughout the hotel to further your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed there with my husband and it was nice! Located in the heart of Shanghai very convenient to reach whenever you want to go any club or restaurant, local market. Shower and butch tub was very nice to use. Rooms has stunning view of people's square at night!!! We really enjoyed it. Ideal place for staying a week in shanghai.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alexandra300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Alexandra300,
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed some of the best aspects of Le Royal Méridien Shanghai while you were here, most importantly our convenient location! We do hope you’ll be able to visit us again very soon!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Has great views of the city skyline and conveniently located between Peoples Park, Nanjing Pedestrian Shopping street and the Bund. The room provided ample space for two. The arrangement of the bathroom was slightly odd as the interior managed to fit a shower, toilet and bath tub in one cubicle. But overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GoingBananas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Stephanie D,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your stay at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! Our convenient location in the center of Shanghai is an aspect of our hotel that we are proud to offer to all our guests, business and leisure alike! It is always a pleasure to be of service!

See you again soon,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were impressed once we're arrived at the hotel, the atmosphere was very friendly and comfort. The room and the bed was big and warm. The gym very complete. The buffet breakfast was excellent, complete choice of food from all around the world. The location was great too, just few step walk from Nan Jing Pedistrian street, just walk along the street and you will arrive to the famous Shanghai Bund.

Room Tip: We stayed in superior room only but it was so satisfying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Lili S,
It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback from your recent stay at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! We work very hard with all our associates to ensure that we are there to welcome you from the moment you arrive at our property. Our chefs will be very happy to learn that our breakfast buffet at Le Bistrot exceeded your expectations with the variety of offerings. We hope to welcome you again to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a nice day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#50 of 5,146 in Shanghai
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#58 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#128 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £114 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing