We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location and high quality of service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good location and high quality of service”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location is very good: you are close to the center and from the underground.
Thank you all the people for their kind assistance, either to find the room and how to use the lifts, to know where to go to enjoy the town etc...
The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The cleaning team has properly done its work, it is always pleasant to come back and to see that your room has been respectfully cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inconnu2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Inconnu2430,
We are so happy to learn that your recent experience with us at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai has been so positive! Our team around the hotel are always there to assist you in finding anything you need, and we will pass on your praises to them as they will be delighted to hear from you! We hope to welcome you back to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    889
    216
    66
    41
See reviews for
247
421
172
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Allure Restaurent has the most succulent degustation menu the manager Katerina is professional and friendly. The decor is stunning and the view is amazing. The rooms are clean and the front desk clerk really helped me find what I was looking for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Mashazzz,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback following your recent experience at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! We will most definitely pass on your praises to Katerina and her team in Allure, they will be happy to hear from you! We hope to welcome you back to Shanghai very soon!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I living in this luxury hotel more and les 2 week for month, service, bed room, shower, breakfast is excellent. Bar on 62 floor is one dream..Window in breakfast room is wounderful.. best feeling best shanghai hotel ..wow

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanoPolastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear StefanoPolastri,
We are extremely grateful for the positive feedback you have left with us! The 360º view offered by 789 Nanjing Lu Bar + Lounge is one of our favorite spots in the hotel, we are happy that you’ve had the time to enjoy this as well! We look forward to your quick return! Travel safe!

Until next time,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

the shape of the building looks very interesting in the night, the guest room facing to the bund is really nice, chinese restaurant on the 8th floor is good and food taste perfect. the service there is nice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear jessicatm,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai. We also very much enjoy the view of our building from afar at night with all the lights of Shanghai! It is great that you had the chance to experience Ai Mei, our Chinese restaurant. We will pass on your praises to our team! We hope to see you again very soon in Shanghai!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is very well positioned for seeing the sights of shanghai.
The breakfasts were ok but not a huge choice of European fare .
The staff were very helpful especially Nicolas whom I found to be caring and empathetic to the needs of the guests.
Wish I could say the same about the head of security Kevin but alas I cannot. He did not want to get involved with the problems of the guests which makes me wonder why he was doing the job.

Room Tip: Higher the better as the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anj777_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.com and for sharing your experience with our friends.
It is disappointing to know that our service was not able to meet your expectation during your stay. Your feedback is very important for us to make further improvements. I have already shared your feedback with the entire security team to make sure that we are working on it.
We hope this will not discourage you to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back and to providing you with a memorable stay.

Sincerely,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The breakfast on the lobby level is a great start to the day and perfectly suitable for business breakfasts. Loved the bar at the top of the hotel as well. For me the bed was just perfect - very good sleep - and while the layout of the shower was a little unconventional I loved the big wide rainwater showerhead. My room was perfectly fine, nothing outstanding, but I just had a normal room on a reasonably low level. I would probably book a club room if I was going back. Service was OK, but more functional than outstanding. I felt a little more focus was placed on efficiency than on providing great service. Location is great - easy walk down the pedestrian mall to the Bund. Just be careful and watch out for all sorts of people approaching you with all sorts of propositions if you do it late in the evening, especially if you are on your own. I never felt threatened, more yearning to be inconspicuous!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Richard L,
We are so pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! Although every room we have provides an outstanding view of our beautiful city and everything you need to stay comfortably, our Royal Club upgrade offer rooms on higher levels to further improve your view of the city and of course access to our Royal Club lounge. This is an experience to not be missed! Our central location is something of which we are very proud and we are always happy to learn when our guests have enough leisure time to explore the famous landmarks surrounding us! We hope to see you back in Shanghai in the very near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Starting on positives, the location of the hotel is brilliant - close to People Square and the fake market.

However, the service provided by the staff is a shambles. In such a well known hotel chain, you would expect the staff to be highly trained and speak a basic level of English.

However, the staff were clueless. Prior to checking in we specifically requested a non-smoking room. We were given a smoking room and when complaining at the front desk I was met with a woman who kept repeating to me 'you smoke'. No, I don't. On another occasion, I asked for a menu in the hotel restaurant. The waiter then proceeded to give me the bill. Frustratingly, I also asked in the business centre for a telephone, the lady thought I asked for a 'friend'.

The front desk staff were rude, didn't care to help and made it seem as if our presence was a nuisance to them. They couldn't even give basic left/right directions.

All in all I found the hotel staff to put a serious dampener on my stay in Shanghai. The only helpful staff were those by the taxi rank, and once I had worked this out I stopped 'bothering' the front desk staff.

Would I stay in Le Royal Meridian Shanghai again? Not in a million years.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tigor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We greatly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share with us the specifics of your experience at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai. As friendly and helpful service is our top priority, this enables us to take immediate action to ensure that our associates are attending to the needs of each of our guests. As for your most recent experience, we do apologize for the lack of assistance that you received at times. We do hope to see you again soon and will do everything we can to ensure that you have a more positive experience!

Have a nice day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#36 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#116 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing