We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, good facilities, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,147 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a week with my family and found that in general that the hotel provided good service, nice lounge and good facilities but there are a few areas for improvement.

1) The Men's Spa facilities were not fully operational for more than half of my staff - the whirlpool jets didn't work and the dry sauna was out a few days

2) The staff didn't always make the extra effort when it would have been nice

3) The food in the Club Lounge was almost the same every day. A bit more variety on the chef station would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

“Good location, good facilities, nice staff”

Dear SS_Reviews,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your family’s visit to Shanghai! Your feedback is well received. We would like to let you know that the Men’s spa has been repaired and we have discussed the food offerings in the Royal Club with our culinary team. Your feedback allows us to continue to strive for the best and to do everything we can to exceed your expectations during each of your stays. We do hope to welcome you back to Shanghai very soon!

Thanks again and have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 2,702 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Beautiful sanctuary in downtown Shanghai. Not far from the premium shopping district.
Breakfast is varied and extensive.
Rooms are quality.
The gym is great.
The swimming pool is amazing-great view overlooking rooftops!
Walking distance to Pudong Distruct.
A lot of go beggars around the hotel entrance offering girls to men, and handbags to women if you wish to walk.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Greg S,
It is great to hear from you following your recent stay in Shanghai! Our central location is an aspect of which we are extremely proud and it is always good to know that this is also advantageous for our guests! Our fitness center has recently been renovated so we are excited that you had the opportunity to enjoy both the gym and the pool! We hope to see you again soo!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My stay at Le Meridien Hotel in Shanghai was disappointing, to say the least. At some point this hotel may have been a 5-star but a poor deferred maintenance plan has reduced the hotel to a weak 4 at best. The room I stayed in had a bathroom with a mirror that had chipped away, a shower with a curtain - yes, a curtain - grouting that was mouldy, and brown stained marble around the tub facets. The shower never drained completely and the hand-held shower unit would shoot out water from its pipe unless you continuously pressing the release. While the rest of the room was okay, I noticed that the carpet by the door was very badly stained, black, possibly even burned. As well, the wardrobe was flimsy with little more than four coat hangers. On the Club Lounge Floor, the staff seemed preoccupied with anything but serving clients. Their focus was on asking our room number every time we arrived, despite having seen us multiple times that day. During Happy Hour, there was no offer to pour wine or serve coffee, a lack of attention to replenishing food, and an overall disinterest in their job. Likewise, when we dealt with the Concierge on the main floor, he was abrupt, impatient, and lacking in social skills. Then there were the elevators. To get to the Club Floor, you had to take the elevator down, switch elevators, and then take a different elevator up. Everything is so fraught with confusion that full-time attendants are needed to direct elevator traffic. Was there anything good about the hotel? Yes, Sunday brunch was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldlyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear WorldlyCanada,

All comments and feedback, positive and negative, are very important to us at Le Méridien Shanghai, so thank you for the time you have taken to assist us in continuing to improve the experience we offer to our guests! Having looked at the room assigned during your visit, it was one of our larger rooms, with an open door shower that is convenient for both abled and disabled guests. The majority of our guest rooms have glass doors but due to high occupancy during your visit you had been assigned one of our larger rooms. Regarding the other feedback made in reference to the shower, we have discussed this with our Engineering team who will look to repair these challenges immediately! We have also shared your feedback with our teams in the Royal Club and at the Concierge. We strive to work with all our associates on an ongoing basis to ensure that we are not only offering what guests expect during their time with us, but that we also strive to exceed their expectations. Your comments are important as they highlight areas that we can continue to improve. We are of course happy to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy our award-winning la Vie en Rose Sunday Brunch as it is a highlight for many locals in Shanghai! We do apologize for the aspects of your stay that were not up to your expectations. We would also like to invite you back during your future travels to show you that we do take your feedback seriously and to show you how 5-star service should always be with us in Shanghai!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It is really great to finally find a hotel with great restaurants. Apart from the fact that the hotel itself offers great service, the rooms are well furnishes and clean and the bed comfortable. What I liked most about the hotel are the restaurants. Food at the buffet restaurant, Le Bistrot, the French restaurant, Allure, the Italian Restaurant, Favola and the Chinese restaurant, Aimei are all excellent. Having to spend 1/4 of my days in hotels for the past 12 months, It is really great not to have to go out to find a place after a long flight. The only thing is that the elevators are a little confusing, you have to change elevators to go to different floors.

Room Tip: The view on the higher floors is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smile888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Smile888,

Thank you for the time you’ve taken to write to us following your recent travels to Shanghai! It is our priority to offer you a comfortable experience during your stay with us. We have many associates working throughout the restaurants in the hotel and they all work very hard to provide for you the best service possible. We will most certainly share your praises with them! We know that our elevators can be confusing to first time guests so we have asked one associate to be near this area at all times to assist in any way needed! We hope that this alleviated a bit of the confusion for you! We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Royal Méridien Shanghai in the future!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights. Loved the location. But the staff need to be taught hospitality. We had to take care of our luggage on check in (nobody bothered), rude staff at the check in counter including the manager, no free wifi in the room (unless you're a Starwood member - first for us amongst all the 5 star hotels we stayed at during our 17 day China trip). All in all I would not recommend it unless you can't find a better deal in that location. Rooms are decent, but not brilliant. It has a very good location but that is all!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSShah_214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear MSShah_214,

We greatly appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide for us your feedback following your recent stay with us at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai. We are always working with all of our associates to find ways in which we can continue to exceed the expectations of our guests, therefore, it is disappointing to know that these points were missed during the check-in process. We will take this as a learning opportunity, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future in order to show you the service that we strive for each day for each guest!

Travel safe,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed 2x nights at the Royal Meridien in May 2014, while the hotel location is just perfect ( next to Nanjing Rd, People's square & not far from the Bund) I got particularly disappointed with my room.

I got surprised when told that the rooms had been renovated 5-6 years ago (2008 - 2009), which is not that old, and yet I was under the impression that they were much older than that, out-fashioned carpet and wood color of the furniture (light brown, Ikea type looking), old looking shower .... in fact I had the feeling I was in a Novotel room.

However the staff were friendly and helpful and the lobby / bar area were totally trendy looking.

The overall experience was good but the room was certainly not the best you can get for this price in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoClaire1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear NicoClaire1180,

We are grateful to learn that you chose to stay with us during your recent travels to Shanghai. At Le Royal Méridien Shanghai, we are extremely proud of our central location and the convenience that this offers our guests! Our hotel was in fact built about 7 years ago and has since not yet been under a full renovation. This is a project we will undertake in the near future! Our associates do work extremely diligently to provide for our guests in any way imaginable at all times, so we look forward to share your content with everyone! We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful city of Shanghai very soon!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly located just steps away from Nanjing Road and across from the metro. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable bed and pillows, just perfect. The staff were also super efficient and very helpful, especially the guys organising your taxis!

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on that front.

Would definitely come back and stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Kimbo08,

We are so thrilled to receive such positive feedback following your stay at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai! Your comfort during your time here is a top priority for us. Our concierge team works diligently to provide for guests everything they need at a moments notice, including taxis which can be hectic at times in Shanghai! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Travel safe,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Méridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#51 of 5,147 in Shanghai
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,147 in Shanghai
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#129 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £114 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing