We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good views and no real regrets.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #37 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I've stayed several times on business. The hotel has a good location within an easy walk tof the Bund, Nanajing road, right by a key metro station and also very easy to access by foot. The views from the lounge (if you are a Platinum SPG member) and from the bar are great and the rest of the hotel is of a pretty good standard.

The check-in desk can get pretty busy and (too) often has queues but the staff are helpful. I've only eaten in the (Italian) restaurant once where the food was OK (nothing better) but the staff great at not hassling us despite us being the last out of there.

All in all, a solid package with no big downside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chris_butler_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear chris_butler_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. We do have a very centralized location and it is always good to know that this is convenient for our guests. We are extremely proud of the views we offer from all points of the hotel, Shanghai is such a beautiful city! We hope to welcome you again to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Fantastic rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, great views, great service. Bar is overpriced but on top of the building, has spectacular views, and live music with no cover. The location is great, right on the pedestrian mall, a quick walk to the river, and right by a subway station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a eastern view to see the best skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear jag343,

We are so happy to hear from you and most importantly, to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! We are extremely proud that all of our rooms offer such great views of the Bund, Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street, or People’s Park! It is great to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful Shanghai skyline from 789 Nanjing Lu Bar + Lounge, our top floor bar! We do hope to welcome you back to Shanghai very soon!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very good buffet in the morning. Location is very good, and just a block away you can grab the "BIG BUS" a touristic bus that's takes you around shanghai! The bar view it's impressive, and concierge service excellent!
The single double room space for the room it's fine. However the size of the bed is a little bit small.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sergio M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. The tourist bus available just across the street is extremely convenient if it’s your first time in the city, we’re happy to know that you enjoyed this experience! We will pass on your comments to our culinary team as they will be happy to hear from you! We hope to welcome you back to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I was supposing to stay in one of the best hotel in sh but finally I was really disappointed!
The room was smelly and dirty, I've found the cleaner dirty sponge on the table.
The receptionist was not so nice and her English was terrible.
The restaurants inside the building... no comment! Expensive and really bad!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank battle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear battle04,

We do appreciate the time you’ve taken to provide for us your feedback following your stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. All constructive feedback, positive and negative, is extremely beneficial for our team as it allows us to improve on a continual basis. Our team works diligently to improve their level and knowledge of the English language so that we can better communicate with all our guests. Of course, this is a skill that can and always will be improved with time. We do apologize for any part of your experience with us that may not have exceeded your expectations and we encourage you to reach out to us should there be anything else you’d like to discuss. Please feel free to email me at Daniel.aylmer@lemeridien.com .

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location, great hotel. We had a nice room overlooking the People's Square. Very modern rooms, I liked the plugin in the safe for charging my laptop.
The dinner buffet was fine but a bit pricey for what it is (desserts were the best in terms of quality and variety), but then again, I am not a fan of buffets...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear v p,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! Our view of People’s Square, People’s Park, and the Bund are all elements of which we are extremely proud! We will share your feedback with our culinary team, our pastry chefs would love to hear from you! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here on business and paid extra for Bund area View. Turned out to be a complete waste as it was so fogy, hazy or polluted that there was practicaly no view from my 42nd floor window.
The hotel is very nice, good rooms and attentive staff. Very central for walking or driving anywhere around center Shanghai. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: A bit confusing as real lobby is on 9th floor. Do not waste money on View rooms. Better walk over to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rbaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear rbaeri,

We are extremely appreciative of the time you’ve taken to let us know about your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! Our team will be delighted to hear your positive feedback, most especially our culinary team in Le Bistrot! Our locations is extremely central and we are very proud of this aspect! We do hope that the view will be most clear for you upon your return to the city!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Outstanding service! Rooms are well appointed. The entire facility is beautiful. I have stayed in other, more expensive hotels in Shanghai, and LRM is nicer than all. If you like feeling like royalty on a working man's budget, you will love LRM. This is my new home away from home, in Shanghai.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rkellychengdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Rkellychengdu,

We are so proud to receive such a wonderful review from your following your recent stay with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! We do work very hard with our team to ensure that we can exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity during your time with us. We look forward to your quick return to Shanghai!

Travel safe,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#50 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,150 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#148 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £105 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing