We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #36 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A 5 star hotel, well worthy of it's rating, in the centre of Shanghai. Suberb room, and breakfast.
Within easy walking distance of the Peoples' Park -fantastic -and the local shops and cafes. In-house shop, and other facilities.

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful views and above traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bazchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Bazchic,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the very near future!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 2,832 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great rooms, great food. Perfect location - right on the main pedestrian shopping road in downtown Shanghai.
The feel was of a very modern and estangred hotel - lacked the personal touch that makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room viewing the TV tower, and hope for a clear day :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nokipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Nokipa,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. Feedback from our guests is what enables us to continue to improve the experience we offer our guests. We are of course happy to know that our city-centre location was of utmost convenience for you and that you enjoyed the modern design of our property. On the other hand, we are disappointed to know that you didn’t feel a personal touch from our team as we realize this importance of this and we work diligently on this aspect. We will continue to stress the importance of personalizing the experience for each of our guests because we do realize how much of a difference this makes for you and all our guests. We do hope to see you again soon in Shanghai!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Le Royal Meridien is at a good location close to Nanjing Road, the Bund, and other attractions. The rooms are small and a little dated, but perfectly clean with great views. We had a room with two twin beds, which were surprisingly small beds! The elevators up to the rooms can be confusing. There are two sets of elevators from the street level lobby, and another set on the lobby level. Depending on your room floor, you can take the street level lobby all the way up to your room. On higher floors though, you'll have to switch at the lobby or another floor. It's a bit of a hassle.

The staff was attentive enough, especially the door staff who were helpful with directions and translations. Taxis are difficult to come by at peak hours though, so expect to wait or take the metro. The only little issue we had was with one rude front desk staffer, who seemed bored and uninterested in helping us with a couple questions. Nonetheless, our overall stay was pleasant enough. The hotel doesn't feel very personal, but all the standards of a 4/5 star are there. I would stay here again, but I would also probably check out other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear chris_butler_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. We do have a very centralized location and it is always good to know that this is convenient for our guests. We are extremely proud of the views we offer from all points of the hotel, Shanghai is such a beautiful city! We hope to welcome you again to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very good hotel, that I would easily recommend to anybody.
Location is second to none, short walk to transport, shopping, attractions etc...
All staff attentive, welcoming & smiling.
Room & views are stunning, despite Shanghai pollution.
Splash out & stay, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I've stayed several times on business. The hotel has a good location within an easy walk tof the Bund, Nanajing road, right by a key metro station and also very easy to access by foot. The views from the lounge (if you are a Platinum SPG member) and from the bar are great and the rest of the hotel is of a pretty good standard.

The check-in desk can get pretty busy and (too) often has queues but the staff are helpful. I've only eaten in the (Italian) restaurant once where the food was OK (nothing better) but the staff great at not hassling us despite us being the last out of there.

All in all, a solid package with no big downside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chris_butler_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear chris_butler_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. We do have a very centralized location and it is always good to know that this is convenient for our guests. We are extremely proud of the views we offer from all points of the hotel, Shanghai is such a beautiful city! We hope to welcome you again to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Fantastic rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, great views, great service. Bar is overpriced but on top of the building, has spectacular views, and live music with no cover. The location is great, right on the pedestrian mall, a quick walk to the river, and right by a subway station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a eastern view to see the best skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear jag343,

We are so happy to hear from you and most importantly, to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! We are extremely proud that all of our rooms offer such great views of the Bund, Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street, or People’s Park! It is great to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful Shanghai skyline from 789 Nanjing Lu Bar + Lounge, our top floor bar! We do hope to welcome you back to Shanghai very soon!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very good buffet in the morning. Location is very good, and just a block away you can grab the "BIG BUS" a touristic bus that's takes you around shanghai! The bar view it's impressive, and concierge service excellent!
The single double room space for the room it's fine. However the size of the bed is a little bit small.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Sergio M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. The tourist bus available just across the street is extremely convenient if it’s your first time in the city, we’re happy to know that you enjoyed this experience! We will pass on your comments to our culinary team as they will be happy to hear from you! We hope to welcome you back to Shanghai in the near future!

Have a great day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £98 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing